We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Charming Place in a Charming Town” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Crown Hotel
Ranked #6 of 23 Hawes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ledgewood, NJ
Level Contributor
227 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Charming Place in a Charming Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

I recently spent 5 nights at the Crown Hotel in the charming town of Hawes. Adam, Lindsay, and the entire staff made me feel most welcome during my entire stay. My room (#1) was very comfortable and well-equipped. The breakfasts were extremely tasty, generous and well-presented. I'd certainly recommend the Crown Hotel to others and definitely hope that I'll be able to return someday.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TripmomLedgewood_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamKW, Owner at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Hello there. Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of your stay at the Crown Hotel; it was a pleasure having you as our guest. Please come back and see us again very soon. Thank you again and Best Wishes, Adam & Lindsay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    46
    11
    0
    1
See reviews for
35
109
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Having stayed near Hawes 30+ years ago and driven through it several times since, we were looking forward to staying again. We were not disappointed.
The welcome from Lindsay was as if we were old friends, and by the time we left we felt that we were! All the staff were incredibly friendly, not just to us but our two labs as well.
The food was of a high standard, the beer was excellent, in particular the Theakston's Old Peculiar was some of the best I've ever had.
The dogs loved their sausages each morning for they're breakfast and ours was hearty enough to last us all day, a feat never attained from any hotel I've visited.
We were blessed with stunning weather which really made for a fantastic break. The only fly in the ointment was that because it was so warm we left our window open which meant we heard the market traders setting up on the Tuesday morning. A small price to pay for a wonderful experience. Oh, and the stiles were so narrow I had to lift my old lab over most of them. He's now on a diet!
We recommend the lazy walk to Hardraw and the beer at The Green Dragon Inn.
Phil & Anne, Jack & Dylan.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Phil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamKW, Owner at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Hello Phil. Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of your stay at the Crown Hotel; it was a pleasure having you as our guests. Please come back and see us again very soon. Thank you again and Best Wishes, Adam & Lindsay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

What can I say the crown is in a superb location. Food is fantastic the rooms are clean and adequate the owners and staff very helpful . They are totally dog friendly..
Finally the Beer is great and the choice is good. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J1275g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamKW, Owner at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Hello there. Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of your stay at the Crown Hotel; it was a pleasure having you as our guests. Please come back and see us again very soon. Thank you again and Best Wishes, Adam & Lindsay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Couldn't have wished for a more welcoming, friendly and comfortable place to stay. Evening meal and breakfast excellent, using quality local produce. We wanted a cosy, warm, country pub with good food and relaxed atmosphere and we weren't disappointed.

Room Tip: Don't be put off by the one non en suite room, its exclusive to the room just next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralfie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamKW, Owner at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Hello Ralfie. Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of your stay at the Crown Hotel; it was a pleasure having you as our guests. Please come back and see us again very soon. Thank you again and Best Wishes, Adam & Lindsay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wem, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed one night,. We had a lovely welcome and the room was very comfortable. It was also lovely that as much attention was paid to our dog as us. It made a refreshing change. The food was very good as was borne out by the pub being so popular for meals. We enjoyed our stay so much we've booked another stay for later in the year.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamKW, Owner at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Hello again Sue. Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of your stay at the Crown Hotel; it was a pleasure having you as our guests. Please come back and see us again very soon. Thank you again and Best Wishes, Adam & Lindsay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liversedge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

When we booked in at the Crown in Hawes , what we were hoping for was a cosy pub with a real dales feel about it which was as likely to have locals drinking there as tourists. All we wanted from the accommodation was a clean room with confy bed and a shower so we could change after a long walk in the hills. Man did we get more than we hoped for !! We were made to feel really welcome as soon as we walked through the door of this beautifully presented pub in the centre of the village. There are roaring fires in each bar and the bear is high quality and well kept, the wine list was as good as we commoners needed too (the wife was very happy with the Pino Noir)

The room was well presented with ample storage and a comfy bed. All of the freebies one associates with a stay in a hotel were there along with a few nice touches you wouldn't. The shower was not the 'bells and whistles' you might find elswhere, however it felt great in the evening after our walk, and did the job.

We had travelled up as a birthday treat for me and thought that we would eat in the Crown the first night and find somewhere 'Special' for the second night.......well it turns out the somewhere special was the Crown ...the food on both night was superb. We had a super stay and will be back. Oh and thanks to the locals in the back room who made us feel really welcome...seeeya soon.

Room Tip: If you are likely to be bothered by normal pub noise.....think twice about staying in a pub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 44Incchest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamKW, Owner at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Hello there. Thank you very much for taking the time to leave this lovely review of your stay at the Crown Hotel; it was a pleasure having you as our guests. Please come back and see us again very soon. Thank you again and Best Wishes, Adam & Lindsay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

We had a very nice stay last Friday with our two dogs Molly and Bella. We were made very welcome by everyone. The food was excellent and generous portions, as well as the drinks. The room was very clean and comfortable, and we all had a good nights sleep. The Crown is very welcoming and cosy and we will definitely be paying another visit in the near future. Many thanks for a most pleasurable stay, June and Frank, Molly and Bella.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamKW, Owner at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Hello there June and Frank, Molly and Bella. Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of your stay at the Crown Hotel; it was a pleasure having you as our guests. Please come back and see us again very soon. Thank you again and Best Wishes, Adam & Lindsay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawes
0.9 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
1.0 mi away
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
3.9 mi away
The Rose & Crown Hotel
The Rose & Crown Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bainbridge
3.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
0.0 mi away
The Board Inn
The Board Inn
#13 of 23 in Hawes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Fountain Hotel
The Fountain Hotel
#14 of 23 in Hawes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel

Property: The Crown Hotel
Address: Market Place, Hawes, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3RD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Hawes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Hawes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crown Hotel in Hawes, a traditional Yorkshire Dales country pub and restaurant. I took over The Crown in December 2012 to provide a warm and welcoming atmosphere with honest, delicious food, great beer and attentive, friendly service. There are three completely redecorated and refitted guest rooms available. One is an en-suite double room (one double bed), one an en-suite family room (one double and one single bed) and one is a twin room (two single beds) with a large private bathroom. The tariff includes full English breakfast. All rooms include TV, clock-radio-alarm, hair dryer, tea/coffee making facilities, complementary snacks, supplementary plug-in radiator and free broadband WiFi throughout. Dogs are accepted in all rooms free of charge and will be offered a sausage for breakfast! Be our guest - we won't be comfortable until you are! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Hawes, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing