We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"The Crown Hotel"”
Review of The Crown Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hawes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Crown Hotel
Ranked #7 of 23 Hawes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“"The Crown Hotel"”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Huge thanks to Adam and Lindsay!! We had a 2 night stay in May whilst walking the length of the Pennine Way. The most relaxed dog friendly place we have ever stayed in. Nothing was too much trouble and Lindsay even did our laundry! No matter how busy it was (and it really was!) the friendly staff never failed to pay attention to detail and make you feel extremely welcome. We will certainly stay again.
Karen Nicole Ray & Bertie the dog

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamKW, Owner at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Hello Karen Nicole Ray & Bertie the dog. Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of your stay at the Crown Hotel; it was a pleasure having you as our guests. Please come back and see us again very soon. Thank you again and Best Wishes, Adam & Lindsay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    48
    11
    0
    2
See reviews for
35
114
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shepperton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We had a three night stay at the Crown Hotel and found it clean,tidy staff very friendly and helpfull and great food.We would definetly go back.nothing was too much trouble and there is lots to do and see in the area

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank adam s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamKW, Owner at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Hello Adam. Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of your stay at the Crown Hotel; it was a pleasure having you as our guests. Please come back and see us again very soon. Thank you again and Best Wishes, Adam & Lindsay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

You will not be disappointed with your stay at the Crown Hotel, very friendly staff and owners a credit to their profession. The most dog sympathetic hotel I have ever stayed we at , nothing is too much trouble and most of the owners are totally responsible for their pets.
The rooms although quite small are very clean and fully stocked, beds are luxurious and guarantee a good nights sleep.Excellent shower in our room.
Food is available and the pub itself is ultra busy most times of the day, a good sign of a successful business.
Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamKW, Owner at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Hello Ian. Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of your stay at the Crown Hotel; it was a pleasure having you as our guests. Please come back and see us again very soon. Thank you again and Best Wishes, Adam & Lindsay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Bosworth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 May 2014

A four day break.We booked use' info off the web, and we were not disappointed. Met at the door with a smile, Lulu loved all the fuss.
Room clean and air'
Breakfast set us up for the day (Lulu.had sausage in a dish)
Had evening meal, good menu.
Every one made us feel quite special.A very good break (Lulu loved it) Lulu is an American cocker
even she was impressed, We'll be returning.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Glyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamKW, Owner at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Hello Glyn. Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of your stay at the Crown Hotel; it was a pleasure having you and Lulu as our guests. Please come back and see us again very soon. Thank you again and Best Wishes, Adam & Lindsay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ledgewood, NJ
Level Contributor
233 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I recently spent 5 nights at the Crown Hotel in the charming town of Hawes. Adam, Lindsay, and the entire staff made me feel most welcome during my entire stay. My room (#1) was very comfortable and well-equipped. The breakfasts were extremely tasty, generous and well-presented. I'd certainly recommend the Crown Hotel to others and definitely hope that I'll be able to return someday.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripmomLedgewood_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamKW, Owner at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Hello there. Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of your stay at the Crown Hotel; it was a pleasure having you as our guest. Please come back and see us again very soon. Thank you again and Best Wishes, Adam & Lindsay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Having stayed near Hawes 30+ years ago and driven through it several times since, we were looking forward to staying again. We were not disappointed.
The welcome from Lindsay was as if we were old friends, and by the time we left we felt that we were! All the staff were incredibly friendly, not just to us but our two labs as well.
The food was of a high standard, the beer was excellent, in particular the Theakston's Old Peculiar was some of the best I've ever had.
The dogs loved their sausages each morning for they're breakfast and ours was hearty enough to last us all day, a feat never attained from any hotel I've visited.
We were blessed with stunning weather which really made for a fantastic break. The only fly in the ointment was that because it was so warm we left our window open which meant we heard the market traders setting up on the Tuesday morning. A small price to pay for a wonderful experience. Oh, and the stiles were so narrow I had to lift my old lab over most of them. He's now on a diet!
We recommend the lazy walk to Hardraw and the beer at The Green Dragon Inn.
Phil & Anne, Jack & Dylan.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Phil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamKW, Owner at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Hello Phil. Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of your stay at the Crown Hotel; it was a pleasure having you as our guests. Please come back and see us again very soon. Thank you again and Best Wishes, Adam & Lindsay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

What can I say the crown is in a superb location. Food is fantastic the rooms are clean and adequate the owners and staff very helpful . They are totally dog friendly..
Finally the Beer is great and the choice is good. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J1275g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamKW, Owner at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Hello there. Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of your stay at the Crown Hotel; it was a pleasure having you as our guests. Please come back and see us again very soon. Thank you again and Best Wishes, Adam & Lindsay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hawes hotels
0.8 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
393 reviews
1.1 mi away
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Board Inn
The Board Inn
#13 of 23 in Hawes
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Fountain Hotel
The Fountain Hotel
#14 of 23 in Hawes
99 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ebor House
Ebor House
#3 of 23 in Hawes
320 reviews
0.2 mi away
YHA Hawes
YHA Hawes
#3 of 4 in Hawes
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel

Property: The Crown Hotel
Address: Market Place, Hawes, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3RD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Hawes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Hawes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crown Hotel in Hawes, a traditional Yorkshire Dales country pub and restaurant. ***Please note the only way to book a room with us is direct via email or telephone.*** I took over The Crown in December 2012 to provide a warm and welcoming atmosphere with honest, delicious food, great beer and attentive, friendly service. There are three completely redecorated and refitted guest rooms available. One is an en-suite double room (one double bed), one an en-suite family room (one double and one single bed) and one is a twin room (two single beds) with a large private bathroom. The tariff includes full English breakfast. All rooms include TV, clock-radio-alarm, hair dryer, tea/coffee making facilities, complementary snacks, supplementary plug-in radiator and free broadband WiFi throughout. Dogs are accepted in all rooms free of charge and will be offered a sausage for breakfast! Be our guest - we won't be comfortable until you are! ***Please note the only way to book a room with us is direct via email or telephone.*** ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Hawes, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing