We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of The Fountain Hotel

The Fountain Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Fountain Hotel
Ranked #14 of 23 Hawes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
york
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights for a mini-break. Perfect base for walking. Room was clean with very comfortable bed. Bathroom a bit on the small side, but perfectly adequate with plenty of hot water. Fridge with bottled water for residents was a really nice touch. All the staff were very friendly, with particular mention for the charming gentleman serving breakfast. Food tasty and plentiful. The kitchen was very accommodating for any special requests. If you want lots of frills and fancies then The Fountain might not be for you, but if you want a friendly, efficient, down-to-earth establishment, then look no further.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkLara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    44
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
13
44
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wantage, UK
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Nice little B&B, clean and comfy rooms. Haven't slept in a single bed for years, but this was one of the comfiest I can remember. Wonderful view from the Car Park, but if you own a large car or a wide car then be prepared to hold your breath as it was tight in my Mini !
Friendly bunch of locals in the pub which was wonderfully boisterous on a Friday night, accompanied two of the best real ales I've ever had the pleasure of tasting (I think there were five in total on hand pumps available).
Cracking breakfast, nice quality bacon & sausages.
Overall, you get what you pay for, for the price I certainly wouldn't hesitate staying again, or recommending The Fountain to friends and family.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brownz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Wanting to stay in Hawes for 1 night over Easter, the Fountain Hotel was the only place that accommodated this request (all other hotels had a 2 night minimum stay). The price was reasonable, staff were helpful and friendly and the cooked to order breakfast delicious. The room was ok, very small window so was naturally dark, and you could feel the springs in the bed. Rooms were dated, but seeing as we just needed a place to stay while we explored the local area it served it's purpose well and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hodgsojv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCOTLAND
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

6 engineers on a weeks training course at nearby training facility. Friendly staff , clean rooms good breakfast lots of choice and staff made it early to fit around course .We had dinner at night big portions even for working men. Good value for money and will be using it again when on next training course .

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SCOTTYBHOYScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed there for a weekend, because we love Hawes, and the hotel welcomes dogs. We were shown to our room, by a lovely friendly lady. In the room was a welcome pack for our dog ( chews, poo bags etc), and a basket in the corner.
We had dinner in the hotel....the bar was full, so we ate in the function room adjoining the bar area. I had a delicious home made steak pie,and chips. My wife had scampi and salad. My wife said it was the best salad she had eaten! The chips we had , were out of this world. In fact I asked the chef how he cooked them. He didn't give his secret away!
The atmosphere in the bar was lively, and the staff went the extra mile for us.
Ok, the rooms might be a little dated, but they are clean and comfortable, with tea and coffee making facilities, and a TV , and en suite.
I can recommend this hotel, and will definitely be returning.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Loiner3570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed as a family group, excellent location, in the heart of the town and great views from the car park. The room was very dated with ancient furniture, dirty carpet and cobwebs on most cellings, the bedding smelled stale, the bathroom was also dated with a mixer tap for the shower. The bed was bought second hand from a Russian gulag I think, it was terrible, I eventually slept in the floor which was dirty. Then there was the breakfast, big appetites need not apply, very small either over cooked or under, no beans, mushrooms, hash browns or black pudding, eggs-go for scramble it's hard to get it wrong, and they looked nice.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

stayed here a few times and will go again,the breakfast is so good,downstairs is a proper pub with a open fire.the view from the bedrom overlooking the hills was lovely.he only minus point is that the bedrooms could do with a update

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David_Maher_3010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawes
0.9 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
406 reviews
1.0 mi away
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
8.5 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Rose & Crown Hotel
The Rose & Crown Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bainbridge
219 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Board Inn
The Board Inn
#12 of 23 in Hawes
184 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ebor House
Ebor House
#3 of 23 in Hawes
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fountain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fountain Hotel

Property: The Fountain Hotel
Address: Market Place, Hawes, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3RD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Hawes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Hawes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Fountain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fountain Hotel Hawes, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing