We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Only Place You Need to Go in the Yorkshire Dales” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Board Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Board Inn
Ranked #12 of 23 Hawes B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Only Place You Need to Go in the Yorkshire Dales”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

The Old Board Inn is an absolutely fabulous place to stay in the Yorkshire Dales. It is in Hawes, and for a location to see all the Dales, and maybe even the Lake District on a day trip, you can't beat The Old Board Inn. The rooms are spotlessly clean with a comfortable decor, and set up with anything a guest could want. In addition, the Pub downstairs serves wonderful food, and it is dog friendly. As a guest at The Old Board Inn, you get to sample the Chef's delicious food each morning at breakfast, whatever you want at whatever time you want........so convenient for those of us who don't want to get up at the crack of dawn on vacation. The staff is so friendly and helpful you won't want to leave. I was there for 10 days, and I know that's how I felt. You will too. E. Dixey

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elle216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    54
    20
    6
    4
See reviews for
23
93
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

What a great place to stay! Lovely warm welcome from our hosts, who accommodated us at short notice and were very flexible with our rooms. The rooms themselves were perfect and we wanted for nothing. Our evening meal was legendary! The homemade Beef & Tanglefoot Pie should be given an award. The chef also delighted us with a smashing full English and insisted we take away some of his muffins for our journey home. We'll be back for all of this again, for sure. And a couple more of those delicious White Russians please, just as a nightcap, for medicinal purposes...

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MidgeMeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

We stayed in room 5 when we opened the door I thought wow for the money we paid this is spot on , we have paid more cash and spent the night in less comfortable surroundings , Helen who we must say is great told us they were doing the place up starting at the top and working there way down to the bar area which is a friendly and local bar , the breakfast is exellent also all in all marks out of 10 we would give 10 wen fully refurbished I think we might stuggle to get in , thanks for a great stay chris and Alison miller

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moyler1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

Six of us were up in Hawes for a weekend in October and popped into this pub after our meal on Friday night. We liked the beer and the atmosphere so much we went back on Saturday and Sunday. Helen the manager and her partner Di are lovely genuine people who really make you feel welcome. They attract a fun and friendly crowd. They've only been there since May 2011, so ignore reviews of the pub before then. They've already refurbished the upstairs bedrooms (with en suite facilities) and have plans for the bar area. If you are thinking of exploring the Dales, Hawes is a great base and the Old Board Inn would be a great place to stay...

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michaeledward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keighley
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

Having stayed at the Old Board let me say that Helen and her team go flat out to ensure that all guests enjoy a fab atmosphere, great hospitality, top ales, real steaks, and accommodation that will have you sleeping sound as a pound. The next mornings breakfast will set you up for the day!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kabul, Afghanistan
Level Contributor
179 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

We really liked this: a personal, personable pub with nice rooms, a friendly bar and a bustling genuine market town,. What fun.

The landlady (who was getting married the next weekend) was very friendly and chatty when we checked in. The place was full as it was market day the next day. (Hawes really is a working market town.) There were lots of farmer folks in the bar and a good mixture of chatty and locally locals.

Having arrived part-way along the Pennine Way, we appreciated a hot heater on which to dry our boots and a decent shower. We got changed had a drink and went out to eat. We also stocked up on new walking gear at a couple of the shops in the town. Cash machines and places to eat galore. We sat (probably) too long in the bar sampling local ales.

Breakfast was good and busy. We set off feeling happy and reassured to see a town like Hawes so alive and well.

Stock up on the next day's lunch at the big village shop which makes great sandwiches.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A_Flying_Scotsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

Had struggled to find a place around Hawes that would take a small dog and the welcome here was wonderful, the room comfortable and nicely furnished and the delicious breakfast and service lovely to get up for...not to mention the fun and good company we found in the pub on a Saturday night! Me and the dog had wished we could have stayed longer and will certainly hope to be back in future! Thank you to Helen and all the staff.

Room Tip: We had the room at the back which was snug and quiet as promised.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beethedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawes
0.9 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
1.0 mi away
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
3.9 mi away
The Rose & Crown Hotel
The Rose & Crown Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bainbridge
3.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#6 of 23 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Fountain Hotel
The Fountain Hotel
#14 of 23 in Hawes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.2 mi away
Southview Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Board Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Board Inn

Property: The Board Inn
Address: Market Place, Hawes, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3RD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Hawes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Hawes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Board Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a traditional, family run pub located in Hawes in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales. We offer a relaxed service that will make you feel like part of the family while you unwind and explore the local area. Don't worry, we understand that dogs are part of many families too. Our comfortable accommodation is designed to suit everyone's needs. You don't need to take our word for it; there are pictures of all rooms on this site. While you're with us it's worth taking the time to enjoy one of our Cask Marque ales or a meal, freshly prepared from the best ingredients Wensleydale has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, HotelsClick, Hotel.de and Hotels.com so you can book your The Board Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Board Inn Hawes, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing