We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty food!”
Review of The Board Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Board Inn
Ranked #12 of 23 Hawes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We popped in for some lunch just after we first arrived in Hawes, it was Gala day so the town was packed, especially the pubs as the weather was pants!
Upon seeing the tasty Wensleydale and chutney sandwich on the menu we were persuaded to stop here. My partner had the pie, and we both really enjoyed the food! Even though the pub was really busy, the food was of high quality, and the service was quick and friendly! Great!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank rainbowbirko87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
There are newer reviews for The Board Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2012

Great location in the centre of Hawes. We stayed 4 nights in room 2 at the front of pub above the bar. This didn't cause any problems as we were generally last to go up anyway, after drinking and chatting with the very friendly staff and locals. The room was clean and large enough to spread all our stuff out after a day out. We were asked daily if we would like our room making up and it was our choice to decline. The food in the bar was very nice and breakfast was spot on, a good choice of food, plenty of it and cooked at our convenience. We felt like locals rather than visitors and agree that it will be somewhere we will return to. We left feeling as if we'd made new friends. Special mentions must go to Helen who looked after us and took time to chat no matter how busy she seemed and Matt behind the bar, genuinely friendly and brilliant company says it all.

Room Tip: Rooms at back may be quieter
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulandMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Stayed three nights in room 1. Basic pub accommodation with sufficient room. Comfortable bed. The only problem was that we couldn't lock our room as the last person who stayed there didn't hand the key back in when leaving, which was a bit worrying but turned out ok. Breakfast was excellent and extremely filling! Staff were very friendly and helpful. However room was not made up each day and if we wanted anything, such as fresh towels or more loo rolls we had to ask. But would probably go back, if only for the breakfast!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wynn07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Me and my wife stayed one Night in room 2 at the front of the pub, the room was very clean and decorated very nice indeed. We had breakfast the next day and my mum and dad that were stopping in there motor home locally joined us which was no issue to the owners. Breakfast was really nice and set you up for the day. Thank to all the staff for such a nice experience.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gary r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Great home cooked food hubby had chicken with mushroom and pesto sauce which was on the chef special hot and tasty had to have a coffee with my meal but bar looked well stocked and the lady behind bar was very pleasant which made our visit that more enjoyable thanks people of the dales we will have another visit soon

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Had an excellent weekend here . After a lovely welcome from helen who showed me to my room and opened the back gate so i could park my motorbike in a secure area overnight. Room was beautiful, comfortable , clean and spacious too. The bar was excellent with a fine selection of drinks and friendly staff and locals. The food was fantastic offering good value for money and quality too, had steak on the first night which was cooked to perfection and it was a huge plate too. Then breakfast in the morning was cooked to order at whatever time you wanted. Chef was very friendly too and always came out to make sure everything was ok with the food.

I would definatly return here in the future . Only thing i would change is staying longer than the two nights!

Thanks again for a great weekend.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndyBaxter88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Stayed here for the weekend of 20th and 21st April
Helen made us so welcome on arrival, enjoying a pint of real ale / normal pint as we arrived.
While waiting for room 5 to be ready we had a really good chat about walking in the area.
Helping us decide what to do for the weekend.
The staff are all friendly and cannot do enough to help you.
With the well stocked bar, and a few of the shots that are available Friday night was a really good night.
Breakfast, all local food, and really sets you up for the day.
The food is excellent, and the chef knows exactly what is good food, always served up pipping hot!
And yes it is very hot! (All cooked to order) With a great selection of home made soups.
After our long walk over the Pennines on Saturday, it was a very quite evening.

Looking forward to returning at some point for another relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawes
0.9 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
415 reviews
1.0 mi away
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
3.9 mi away
The Rose & Crown Hotel
The Rose & Crown Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bainbridge
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Fountain Hotel
The Fountain Hotel
#15 of 23 in Hawes
102 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ebor House
Ebor House
#4 of 23 in Hawes
326 reviews
0.2 mi away
Southview Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Board Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Board Inn

Address: Market Place, Hawes, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3RD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Hawes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Hawes
Price Range: £78 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Board Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a traditional, family run pub located in Hawes in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales. We offer a relaxed service that will make you feel like part of the family while you unwind and explore the local area. Don't worry, we understand that dogs are part of many families too. Our comfortable accommodation is designed to suit everyone's needs. You don't need to take our word for it; there are pictures of all rooms on this site. While you're with us it's worth taking the time to enjoy one of our Cask Marque ales or a meal, freshly prepared from the best ingredients Wensleydale has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and LateRooms so you can book your The Board Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Board Inn Hawes, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing