We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a shame..”
Review of The Board Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Board Inn
Ranked #12 of 23 Hawes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“What a shame..”
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Have stopped often for a drink at this hotel and always wanted to stay there, what a shame - nice people, nice food, lovely room BUT when we arrived waste bins in room and bathroom hadn't been emptied from last occupant, no tea or milk in the drinks basket had go down and ask and had to ask again on the second morning for replacements! And for £80 a night b&b not a single toiletry in the bath not even a bar of soap and for that price I would have expected full range of toiletries as you do in all b&bs these days. Breakfast was ok but giant jug of milk on communal table for everyone so each coffee/tea you poured you had to get up for the milk, think they should have individual milk jugs on each table for your drinks.

Room Tip: Room 2 very spacious but over top of bar, rooms at back of hotel would be more suitable
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wilkiebob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    60
    21
    6
    4
See reviews for
25
103
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We only stayed for the night but I wish we'd had time to stay longer as the staff are very friendly and helpful and our room was so clean and cosy. It's really well located just by the bus stop we were dropped off at and is a great starting point for lots of lovely walks. The food was good and we felt very well looked after. Twinkle the cat is also a lovely host!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northumberland
1 review
Reviewed 8 November 2012

My partner and i booked for a 2 night stay to do some sight seeing and walking with our dog roona, arrived on a cold afternoon but got a very warm welcome off the landlady Helen. the room was very comfortable and the breakfast was excellent. We would recommend this B&B to friends and family.

Room Tip: All rooms were of similar size
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lexyNorthumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

Decided to have a short walking holiday in Hawes with three other friends. Very friendly and helpful over the phone when I booked the hotel well in advance.
Arrived lunchtime and had a drink in the bar. Beer OK but have had better.
Returned to the pub later that day after an afternoon out walking. Shown to our rooms which were comfortable and clean, although the twin room two of us were sharing was slightly on the small size. Our other friends had much larger rooms and they looked more modern in style.
We ate in the hotel bar that night and the food was good. We also had to order our breakfast that night for the next day.
At breakfast the girl serving seemed totally disorganised and the breakfast when it arrived was only partial correct to the one we ordered the night before. The sausages were badly burnt at each end although the middle part was OK. Tea, coffee and toast did not arrive until we had nearly finished our meal !
We then went out for the day and when we returned later that afternoon none of our rooms at been cleaned or the bathrooms. No explanation was given for this.
The following day the breakfast was slightly better but the sausages were still burnt at each end !
So all in all not a bad hotel and very resonable at £30 per person per night B & B, but could be improved on with a little effort.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PETER L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keighley
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

My wife and I returned to Hawes for a short break in this wonderful part of North Yorkshire and chose to stay at the Old Board Inn. We arrived to find Helen, the Landlady, waiting to greet us and show us our accommodation. Her greeting was as warm as the the open fire burning invitingly in the bar area.
After a quick change of clothing and a refreshing cup of tea in our well appointed room we were in fine fettle for a walk around the town! Plenty to see and do and lots of smiles from the local people who have time for a chat rather than being in a rush.
Apart from the .diverse shopping opportunities a visit to the Museum, rope making factory or the cheese factory are all worthwhile. We returned to the Old Board and made use of the fine selection of draught beers on offer whilst waiting for our dinners. Both dinner and ales were very much to our satisfaction and we spent a very convivial evening before retiring to sleep like logs!
Breakfast was a masterpiece with "full english" and I mean full, being the order of the day. Nothing was too much bother and we were asked if we would like more tea or toast, sadly we couldn't eat another morsel!
A big thank you to Helen and her team for another special occasion.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perthshire
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

We loved this quaint little inn, no disappointments and a good base for our walking break. On arrival we were welcomed by Helen, who was the perfect landlady, always interested in what we were doing, as were all the staff. Accommodation is ideal at a good price, cosy with comfy beds and one of the best showers we have come across on our travels. Used the bar and one of the friendliest we have found, locals always included us in their chats, most hilarious. We ate here too and it was all good, breakfasts too. We highly recommend this Innn and have every plan to return, especially as we need to do Great Shunner and the Roman Road again minus the fog. Thank you Helen and all of your staff.

Room Tip: We had a room with side view over the street, interesting to watch over this pretty town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMFPerthshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Lovely cosy pub. Fab service. However food a little disappointing. Venison lovely and tender but sauce and red cabbage absolutely tasteless. My hubby's steak very tender but peppercorn sauce left alot to be desired! Completely watery and tasteless. Shame! Very pricey considering it wasn't a good standard. Would go back for a drink only. Shame!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Cabailey13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawes
0.9 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
397 reviews
1.0 mi away
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
3.9 mi away
The Rose & Crown Hotel
The Rose & Crown Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bainbridge
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
The Fountain Hotel
#14 of 23 in Hawes
99 reviews
0.5 mi away
No photo provided
Ebor House
#4 of 23 in Hawes
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Board Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Board Inn

Property: The Board Inn
Address: Market Place, Hawes, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3RD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Hawes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Hawes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Board Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a traditional, family run pub located in Hawes in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales. We offer a relaxed service that will make you feel like part of the family while you unwind and explore the local area. Don't worry, we understand that dogs are part of many families too. Our comfortable accommodation is designed to suit everyone's needs. You don't need to take our word for it; there are pictures of all rooms on this site. While you're with us it's worth taking the time to enjoy one of our Cask Marque ales or a meal, freshly prepared from the best ingredients Wensleydale has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Hotels.com so you can book your The Board Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Board Inn Hawes, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing