We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable”
Review of The Board Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Board Inn
Ranked #12 of 23 Hawes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 September 2013

The B&B is local, in fact right in the centre. It is a little run down, but i think this is more because it caters for walkers. However saying that the staff were very helpful and worked extremely hard, it is a very busy pub and serve a good pint if you are into your real ale beer which we are. Dinner was very nice and quite romantic as they serve food in the snug with candle light. Breakfast was also very nice. The people in the pub are also friendly. The room we stayed in was basic, but the bed was comfortable (two twins pushed together) so lots of space. Tea and coffee making facitilies and plenty of tea and coffee etc available. The question is would we stay again?? yes i beleive we would.

Room Tip: all the rooms looked ok,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SharronHibbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013

Stayed here for the night en route to Scotland. Room was lovely - nice and large with it's own old fireplace and sofa. Bed was very comfortable and the shower room was very clean and newly decorated. The whole room looked like it had recently undergone a bit of refurbishment which was great but it just needed a few touches finishing off to make it excellent - i.e. skirting board not finished. Tried to have a meal in the bar in the evening but was told the kitchen was closed which was a bit unfortunate. Can't tell you what the bar was like as we did not spend the evening there due to there not being any food available. People were very noisy returning to their rooms in the evening but hardly the pub's fault. Breakfast was OK. Not a bad stay overall but not exceptional. The landlord was a little brusk but polite enough.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LickyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

called in at the old board inn for a quick lunch on the way to Thirsk. Staff were friendly enough, menu was quite restricted but had a few things on we liked. Ordered the mushroom pate as I am a pate lover. This meal was not liked anything I have ever tasted before, in fact it had no taste whatever. My husband had fish and chips, which he said were good, but then there is an excellent chip shop just up the road. Will not be going back to the old board inn.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Having read all the reviews on Trip Advisor and getting a recommendation from our hosts in Hawes, we decided to give The Old Board Inn a try for food. We pre booked a table and arrived 10 minutes early. We ordered food and drinks and waited, and waited, and waited. After 50 minutes of waiting we asked where our food was.
The lady who had taken our original order came to our table with the explanation that "there has been a mix up in the kitchen", and asked if she could take the order again, at which point we walked out.
If the pub had been busy on the food side I could have understood but it wasn't. There were a lot of drinkers and I suspect our order never made it to the kitchen.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PAB59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Nice rooms, comfy bed. Shower room a bit cramped. Good food - evening meal and breakfast. Room was right above bar and noisy music started at about 10:45 - volume was reduced when requested, but quite a lot of noise from bar in the bedroom. Wifi very poor - even early in the morning when unlikely that others were using it there was intermittent availability and very slow.

Room Tip: Ask for room not above bar unless you're up late too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank timsmithmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We booked our stay last minute and got a half price deal on food and drink during our stay,that aside we were looked after by the owners stand in managers Andrew and Christine and they were fantastic hosts and made you feel welcome above and beyond anything we have ever experienced in a hotel/b&b and to top it all the food was awesome .

Paul,Jules and of course Darcy

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maverick19633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We stayed here for two nights. The room was okay, bed not very comfortable. Breakfast was too well done apart from scrambled eggs they were delicious. Would have been really nice breakfast had it not been overdone. We did eat there the first night and the food was excellent especially the steak it was cooked to perfection, would not stay there again but would eat another steak there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susieSouthElmsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawes
0.9 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
429 reviews
1 mi away
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
0 mi away
The Fountain Hotel
The Fountain Hotel
#15 of 23 in Hawes
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Southview Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Laburnum House
Laburnum House
#16 of 23 in Hawes
29 reviews
8.3 mi away
The George and Dragon Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Board Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Board Inn

Address: Market Place, Hawes, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3RD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Hawes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Hawes
Price Range: £80 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Board Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a traditional, family run pub located in Hawes in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales. We offer a relaxed service that will make you feel like part of the family while you unwind and explore the local area. Don't worry, we understand that dogs are part of many families too. Our comfortable accommodation is designed to suit everyone's needs. You don't need to take our word for it; there are pictures of all rooms on this site. While you're with us it's worth taking the time to enjoy one of our Cask Marque ales or a meal, freshly prepared from the best ingredients Wensleydale has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Board Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Board Inn Hawes, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing