We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warmest welcome”
Review of Wensleydale House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hawes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wensleydale House
Ranked #13 of 23 Hawes B&B and Inns
Redlands, California
Level 6 Contributor
50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Warmest welcome”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

I know that's a boring title and I really have little to add but every 5 star review helps and it is thoroughly deserved. Very nice room, excellent breakfast and outstanding hospitality--you can tell when people love their work rather than just seeing it as "let's rent out a room and make a little cash." Nothing was too much trouble for Wayne, from bringing up a clean wine glass (!) to a station transfer--if his wife (Jan?) isn't mentioned as often, its because she's away during the week but she was also very welcoming, bringing out the tea and goodies when I trudged in for my return visit. Hawes is a pleasant town with shops and pubs and wonderful nearby walking. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vnrose52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne W, Manager at Wensleydale House, responded to this review, 23 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. You are right Jan doesn't get seen as often as me but is the right hand of WDH, so thank you so much for including us both in your review. We trust you made it home safely and are enjoying driving about in the sunshine. Please give us some notice if you are coming back this way so we can try and align some good weather with your arrival date so we can pick you up in the roadster :-) kind regards, Wayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
33
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Earby
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2013

It was a real pleasure to stay at Wensleydale House. Clean and comfortable room, genuine hospitality, excellent fare, local knowledge and friendly good humour. Hawes, a picturesque market town, is now a favourite place. What more can I say? Just great, many thanks.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne W, Manager at Wensleydale House, responded to this review, 15 June 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely review. It was a pleasure having you stay and am pleased we were able to rejuvenate your good selves after your long days of hill walking. Hope the rest of your walks went well for you both. Look forward to seeing you back in Hawes again. kind regards, Wayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtleford
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Don't hesitate if you want a wonderful stay in Hawes, this our 3rd visit. This Aussie couple who just happen to be our friends are just the most warm and welcoming people who provide the most lovely home hospitality to anyone who steps through the door. The rooms are delightful with views and breaky is fabulous. A must for anyone travelling that way.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Belinda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne W, Manager at Wensleydale House, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Thank you for writing us a review. We hope this was the 3rd of many visits to WDH - in fact you left some chardonnay here so that's at least one more visit we can look forward to. :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Wayne was a star, even greeted us coming in late at night after a few glasses of Merlot. Felt like a teenager again sneeking in. Room was fabulous and soooo clean. Breakfast was fit for a king/queen, amazing. And, he did it all himself!! Oh did I mention the sense of humour, made our weekend a fun one.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wright1s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne W, Owner at Wensleydale House, responded to this review, 26 May 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. Happy to have made you feel 15 years younger :-) All just part of the service at WDH ! Really enjoyed the life you and laughter you bought into our home. Hope we get to welcome you here again. kind regards, Wayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Our stay was perfect... Wayne was a most welcoming host with tea and cakes on arrival (great touch) and full of information regarding the local area. Spacious room with lovely decor and modern ensuite. The breakfast was fantastic particuarly having the choice of fresh fruit and local produce. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 1981SteveP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PONTEFRACT
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We stayed for two nights and it was perfect. Warm welcome by lovely hosts. The room at the back overlooking the fields was beautiful and the bed was so cosy (gorgeous bedding) and the room was spotless. Nothing was too much trouble and we had the best breakfast I have had for a long time (I dont normally 'do' breakfast, but could not resist). Will definately stay again!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LYNSPontefract
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

We stayed here overnight whilst walking the Herriot Way long distance footpath. Wayne welcomed us with tea/coffee and cake in the lounge. The bedroom was large, immaculate, beautifully furnished with a huge comfortable bed and a lovely en-suite. Breakfast was good especially the fresh fruit. The house is conveniently situated and very good value for money. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The double room at the back has lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tonyball100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hawes hotels
0.7 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
397 reviews
1.1 mi away
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Ebor House
Ebor House
#4 of 23 in Hawes
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Board Inn
The Board Inn
#12 of 23 in Hawes
181 reviews
0.4 mi away
Southview Bed & Breakfast
1.5 mi away
Thorney Mire Barn
Thorney Mire Barn
#3 of 23 in Hawes
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wensleydale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wensleydale House

Property: Wensleydale House
Address: Wensleydale House Burtersett Road, Hawes, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3NT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Hawes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Hawes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wensleydale House is a delightful Victorian house situated in the market town of Hawes, in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales with far reaching views of the Wensleydale valley. Our home is the perfect place to unwind after exploring the market town of Hawes. All our bedrooms are ensuite with spacious with either twin, king or super king beds. Breakfast room overlooks field and beck (small stream), and guests can relax in our guest lounge. The house is centrally heated and on cooler nights an open fire can be enjoyed in the lounge room. For the comfort of all guests, current and future, Wensleydale House is a smoke free home and unfortunately pets are not accepted. Our scrummy breakfasts are cooked to order and range from bacon butties through to the full English breakfast and vegetarian options. All our ingredients are sourced from local suppliers featuring local produce wherever possible. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wensleydale House Hawes, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing