We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Wensleydale House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hawes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wensleydale House
Ranked #13 of 23 Hawes B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Stayed here with friends while doing the Herriot Way. Wayne was very welcoming and chatty. We had tea, coffee and cakes in the lounge before being shown to our rooms which were spotlessly clean, good comfy beds, nice big shower with plenty of hot water. The fantastic view was just the icing on the cake. Absolutely delicious breakfast, enough choice to please the pickiest of people (of which I am not one). Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely be going back when I do the coast to coast next year.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne W, Owner at Wensleydale House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

Thank you for posting such a glowing review following your recent stay. We thoroughly enjoyed having you all stay and filling our home with life & laughter and very much look forward to welcoming you back when you walk the Coast to Coast next year. kind regards, Wayne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2013

We enjoyed 2 nights at Wensleydale House. Wayne is a great host and really looks after you. We had 2 fabulous breakfasts with more choice than you could ever ask for. We stayed in the Hardraw room which has a lovely comfortable bed and an ensuite with a corner bath. This was very welcoming after climbing Pen-Y-Ghent. The atmosphere is very relaxed and if you're wanting to chat, Wayne's a willing participant. Especially if you talk about cricket.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with IKnowUK
Thank karen791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne W, Owner at Wensleydale House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

Thank you for writing us such a warm review. We really enjoyed your stay and the 'odd' chat about the cricket. Hope your local team continue on their winning streak. Look forward to an getting an update next time you are this way. kind regards, Wayne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Perfect B&B stay in Hawes. Had a large front room with bath. Very nicely decorated and very comfortable. Wayne is a great host. He provided service above and beyond the call. I plan to start at Hawes when I return to do the northern half of the Pennine Way, and I definitely hope I can stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elmcityjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne W, Manager at Wensleydale House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write us such a lovely review. We are pleased you enjoyed the room with the bath - it is just the tonic to rejuvenate tired limbs. We would love to have you stay for the next leg of your Pennine Way adventure and ask if you can please bring the beautiful summer weather with you when you come ? kind regards, Wayne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

My boyfriend and I wanted to combine a nice walk with a nice stay in a B&B. We chose Hawes as it is situated in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales, a pleasant little town and perfect for hikes. We chose the Wensleydale House cause of the good rewies and welcoming description on their homepage. It was even better than our high expectations. Wayne, the host, welcomed us in such a nice way..He showed us the room and made us a big pot of tea and gave us cake. The room was just perfect. A huge comfy bed, a stunning view across the Yorkshire Dales, a lovely clean room...everything you need. In the morning he made us a great tasting breakfast with fresh fruit and local produce.
Unfortunately we just stayed for one night and had to rush to the airport. One thing is certain: We will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BlueSun188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne W, Manager at Wensleydale House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2013

Thank you for writing us such a glowing review. We were so happy to be able to provide you a nice relaxing respite in the midst of your hectic schedules. We trust you made it in time for the flight from Manchester with a clean run down from here. Please do think of us next time you need a break or escape as we would love to welcome you back for as long as you would like to enjoy all WDH and the local area have to offer. kind regards, Wayne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We were on a walking tour of Lady Anne's Way. We were given a choice of two rooms...one with a bath...and I was so glad of that! Wayne brought up tea and cakes soon after...we didn't ask for it...but boy was it needed. We wanted to meet his better half...Jan...but she was working. We plan to come again to enjoy their home and the great town of Hawes. Wayne was so helpful in letting us wash some clothes. He and Jim solved a few of the world's problems while doing the laundry. The breakfast was excellent. Another great win for us was that Wayne was knowledgeable about the walking tours and knew that their was a new version of the walking book for Lady Anne Way. He sent us to the shop in town which sells it...made the rest of our trip a great deal easier. Thanks for Outstanding Customer service.

Room Tip: I say always get the room with the bathtub. Although the other room was just as great...Being able...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vanessa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne W, Owner at Wensleydale House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Thank you very much for writing us such a warm & wonderful review. We really enjoyed having you stay and happy that the ensuite with the bath was just the tonic after your walk. Hope the rest of your UK trip went without a hitch. Please let us know when you are coming back this way as we would love to see you again, maybe fix a few of those world problems we didn't quite get to :-). kind regards, Wayne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

This place is great. It's right in hawes, is spotless, beautifully decorated, spacious rooms, comfortable beds, amazing breakfast and over and above standard for hospitality. I will definitely be going back and highly recommend it.

Also is bike friendly and you can store your bikes in the cellar safely.

Wayne really looked after us from tea and cake on arrival to freezing our water bottles for the bike so they stayed cool! You couldn't have asked for anything else. Oh apart from the package we asked him to post for us as post office was shut, we had sent some clothes ahead as we biked there!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne W, Owner at Wensleydale House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2013

Thank you for taking time out after your hectic ride to write us a wonderful review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope the rest of your ride went as planned.
Happy to accept and sent parcels anytime you want to stay. It was an absolute pleasure having you all stay - we thoroughly enjoyed having our home full the life and laughter you brought with you, and will not forget the impressive transformation from road weary cyclists to the well dressed ladies going out to dine. kind regards, Wayne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Enjoyed my stay here. After cycling up from Accrington over Ribblehead on the hottest day of the year , received a wonderful welcome from Wayne. Welcoming but very relaxed just like Hawes itself. The room was good . The beds were comfy (I have a disc problem and this is important to me). Clean well appointed room , excellent breakfast . Friendly and helpful owners.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ianrammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne W, Owner at Wensleydale House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2013

Thank you for writing us a review. We feel especially honoured as this is your first review on Trip Advisor - thank you. We are really pleased the bed was good for your back and as you boys did a fair amount of cycling, so a good night's sleep was a must !
Hope to see you both back here again, maybe on the TdF route :-) kind regards, Wayne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hawes hotels
0.3 mi away
The Board Inn
The Board Inn
#12 of 23 in Hawes
205 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ebor House
Ebor House
#4 of 23 in Hawes
329 reviews
0.7 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Southview Bed & Breakfast
0.3 mi away
The Fountain Hotel
The Fountain Hotel
#15 of 23 in Hawes
109 reviews
1.5 mi away
Thorney Mire Barn
Thorney Mire Barn
#3 of 23 in Hawes
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wensleydale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wensleydale House

Address: Wensleydale House Burtersett Road, Hawes, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3NT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Hawes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Hawes
Price Range: £65 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wensleydale House is a delightful Victorian house situated in the market town of Hawes, in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales with far reaching views of the Wensleydale valley. Our home is the perfect place to unwind after exploring the market town of Hawes. All our bedrooms are ensuite with spacious with either twin, king or super king beds. Breakfast room overlooks field and beck (small stream), and guests can relax in our guest lounge. The house is centrally heated and on cooler nights an open fire can be enjoyed in the lounge room. For the comfort of all guests, current and future, Wensleydale House is a smoke free home and unfortunately pets are not accepted. Our scrummy breakfasts are cooked to order and range from bacon butties through to the full English breakfast and vegetarian options. All our ingredients are sourced from local suppliers featuring local produce wherever possible. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wensleydale House Hawes, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing