We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent weekend”
Review of Cockett's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cockett's Hotel
Ranked #10 of 23 Hawes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent weekend”
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Just come back after 2 night stay with 10 friends in Hawes. We stayed at Cocketts hotel which is right in the centre of Hawes and is lovely, clean and comfortable. The breakfast was excellent and set us up for the day. Lesley greeted us all and was very friendly and helpful. The whole atmosphere was very laid back but rooms were lovely and clean with a bath and a shower with clean towels both days, the beds were lovely and comfortable, rooms seemed quite small but we were not in them much. There was a drying room for the muddy walking boots. Plenty of information leaflets about of places of interest. Hawes is a gorgeous little village with great pubs and restaurants, especially the White Hart which is absolutely fabulous(Wensleydale Beef in Red wine is out of this world) and the Fountain that does great a 'bit better than pub grub' where the landlady sat us all at a table in the function room and was a fabulous host. Would definetly go back to Cocketts, dine at the White Hart and the Fountain and dink at the pubs where the locals are lovely and friendly. Thanks Hawes for a great weekend.

Room Tip: The four poster room has shower only, some rooms at the front have bath and shower, bliss after a da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyCamperLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    34
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
12
104
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
reading, berks
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Stayed here with elderly parents for 2 nights. The hotel is very centrally located with easy access to shops, bars and restaurants. There is no parking outside the hotel on Monday nights as the market is there on Tuesday morning. The reception/bar area is a little jaded but the rest of the hotel, including the residents lounge seems to have been refurbished. Everywhere was spotlessly clean.

Parents were in a downstairs room which was a little cold even when the heating had been adjsuted. This room was huge and will eventually be a triple room (£76 per night). We stayed in one of the superior rooms with a bath and other extras such as bathrobes. This room was smaller than the downstairs room but was big enough and has obvioulsy beed refurbished. The water pressure was terrible, even in the washbasin taps, so we didn't bother trying to fill the bath. The room was sold as having great views over the fells, which it does apart from the building site that currently spoils the view. At £96 per night this room was, in our opinion over priced and certainly not worth the additional £20 per night more than the other room. Beds in both rooms were comfortable and the towels, bed linen etc of good quality.

We ate in the restaurant one night and the food was OK. There was plenty of it but it came very quickly and was not very warm at all. It certainly didn't give the impression of being 'freshly cooked'. We were the only 4 in the restaurant and the service was cursory - not much of the Dales welcome apparent. Breakfast was OK with a choice of cereals and the option of a full cooked breakfast.

If we stayed here again we would opt for a standard room but think that there are other places at the same rates with more appeal.

Room Tip: I would choose a standard room - the superior rooms are not worth the additional cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annensteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Stayed for two nights, May bank holiday, booked this last minute as rang others and all were full. Paid 76 per night which is above what others were charging, but couldn't fault Cocketts. Owners were friendly and helpful, room was small with 'dated' furniture but it was spotlessly clean and was very welcoming overall and nice sized bathroom.
Lovely guest lounge and bar area with lots of books, magazines and info leaflets.
Also, is right in the center so ideal for the shops etc, ect. Parking is free out front but not always places so there is a small free car park right across the road.
Room was at front so there was a bit of noise and of course no getting away from motorbikes which seemed to start arriving early in the morning. (Why do they all congregate in Hawes??)

Breakfast served in restaurant part and was good quality without being amazing.
prompt and friendly staff and owners were on hand for chat and overseeing breakfast generally. Good selection of cereals and fruit, juice and cooked options,

Would recommend Cocketts as there were very few niggles and As I said earlier the place is very clean which for me is very important. Bed was was comfortable and nice hospitality tray included. Also for paying the extra you are getting a hotel as opposed to a bed and breakfast.

We will return!!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have nice views and are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire, UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The hotel is set back from the road, and located in the middle of the village. The village gets busy on summer weekends, but at other times you get the best of both worlds, lots of shops, pubs, places to eat and attractions and no crowds.

The hotel is very clean and comfortable, and breakfast is excellent

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eagle0wl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
byram
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Stayed two nights over Easter, room was spot on and the breakfast was EXCELLENT.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liebherr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnard Castle, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 March 2012

What a lovely place! Just spent one night here, but WILL be going back. Very friendly hosts, beautiful rooms, lovely food! Can't fault it at all and can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: We upgraded to a superior for the view, but I'm sure all of the other room will be to an excelle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

Hawes is lovely bustling village well worth a visit and so your stay is immediately going to be through rose-tinted glasses because of the location.
Cockett's hotel is a nice little place. However, the some of rooms were a bit over priced, considering we paid a bit extra for comfy room with a bath (as we had a long journey to get there), only to find the water pressure absolutely terrible and if I were to wait to fill the bath I would be waiting (no exaggeration) about an hour and a half, by which time it would be cold, and I asleep. Disappointing. Even having a shower in the morning was tricky if other guests were using their shower at the same time. A dribble.
The owners were very pleasant when we arrived and helped with parking for the motorbike and made us feel very welcome. A bit of a contrast to leaving at the end of the stay which left us with a bit of a sour taste in the mouth with no thanks for staying, and did we have a good time, and hope to see you again kind of ending. Kind of took the money and left it at that with not much chat. Overall though, the room was comfy, the food pretty good and no huge complaints.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Salpops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawes
0.9 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
397 reviews
1.0 mi away
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
8.5 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ebor House
Ebor House
#4 of 23 in Hawes
320 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Board Inn
The Board Inn
#12 of 23 in Hawes
181 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Fountain Hotel
The Fountain Hotel
#14 of 23 in Hawes
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cockett's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cockett's Hotel

Property: Cockett's Hotel
Address: Market Place, Hawes, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3RD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Hawes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Hawes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Cockett's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cockett's Hotel Hawes, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing