We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very hospitable place to stay”
Review of Cockett's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cockett's Hotel
Ranked #9 of 23 Hawes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Thurles, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A very hospitable place to stay”
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

My daughter's booked this hotel on the Internet so we had little knowledge of it or the town.We arrived Sat afternoon and checked in. The owner asked us if we would like to reserve a table for 4 for dinner and we agreed. We're we surprised the food was excellent and the service the same and so friendly. Having visited some of the great sights in the area on Sun we rang and reserved a table again. The food and service again was excellent. Breakfast in the mornings was also excellent. Would recommend it if you like great food and a place to stay and relax.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Formula1R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    34
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
12
103
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
carnforth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

The hotel is situated in the in the middle of Hawes and so is ideally placed for all amenites and exploring the surrounding area.
The staff at the hotel were were very helpful and friendly. The room was scrupulously clean and had tea and coffee and the offer of fresh milk if needed. We ate in the restaurant and the only thing that let it down was the splicey mango sauce with the fish. The heat of the sauce killed the tasted of the fish. Having said that the service was very good and all other parts our meal were enjoyable. Overall we thought it was very good value and would definatley stop there again.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the street but suprisingly there was very little noise, don't let the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slinger3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleethorpes, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2013

My husband & I stayed at Cockett's Hotel after a mix up with another B & B in Hawes left us with nowhere to stay. I asked for a standard double room for one night. We were offered a super Kingsize bed on the ground floor. The room was lovely, very spacious, & also contained a single bed. It was nicely decorated, modern, but still retaining some of the character of the original building with wooden beamed ceiling. The bathroom had a walk in shower & was very clean & pristine. The bed was the most comfortable hotel bed we have ever slept in, & we reluctantly got out of it the following morning. However, the cooked breakfast we were served more than made up for it. We realised after we'd checked out, that the room was actually a superior room, & we'd been given it for the price of the standard double. We shall certainly be staying at Cockett's Hotel if we ever visit Hawes again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
burnley
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

On a whim we decided to have a one night honeymoon the day after our wedding, (the full monty is in Malta in September) and were lucky enough to bag Room 11 at this most charming establishment. From our first encounter with mine host (Bob) to our departure the following morning we had a memorable visit. Marks out of 10 at least 12. The room was superb, dinner was 5 star and breakfast likewise. We will return. Michael and Barbara le Chevalier.

Room Tip: room 11 is at the rear of the hotel and very quiet and well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmacavity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed at Cockett's on a previous visit and it was lovely. However, this time my wife and I were joining in-laws for a Friday night dinner.

I arrived stressed having suffered a puncture on the A1M and finished the journey travelling at reduced speeds on one of those silly space saving tyres. The welcome couldn't have been nicer. Take a look at the menu while I get you a cold beer and your wife a Gin & Tonic. That set the mood for the evening.

Good selection of dishes all beautifully cooked and well presented. My starter was goat's cheese melted over black pudding. I didn't get to see the wine list (brother-in-law beat me to it). The claret he selected was an excellent choice and went well with the strips of steak in a lovely sauce. Special mention for the obviously, deliciously, home-made bread.

The restaurant was bright and welcoming and the evening was a real pleasure not least of all because of the unobtrusive service of the proprietor and his wife.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nyamaropa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stayed three nights in a superior room (room 10) at the rear of the hotel ,which overlooked the rear yard and countryside beyond.

Located centrally in Hawes the hotel is full of charm and character, from the outside it looks fairly compact but once inside you quickly realise how big the building is with a large guest lounge, dining area and snug residents’ bar.

The owners Bob and Lesley are extremely friendly and welcoming, although Bob has a dry sense of humour, which you quickly get used to.

The room itself was very quiet, spotlessly clean and a good size, the bathroom was modern and airy and the towels new and fresh; bar for a wardrobe door that we couldn’t get to stay shut we thought the room was excellent. Breakfast was very good being well presented and cooked to a high standard, we can’t comment on the standard of dinner as we opted to eat out instead.

As we were both celebrating our birthdays during our stay it was a pleasant surprise to find a bottle of wine and a card waiting for us on our return from a day out, a nice touch and greatly appreciated.

Parking can be a bit of a faff outside the hotel particularly on market day (Tuesday) when there is no parking to allow stalls to be set up early in the morning. We used the free car park over the road, which wasn’t a problem but it can get quite busy during the day.

In summary a great hotel, nice people and a relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Air-Defender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Booked into the Cockett's standard room last minute on Saturday afternoon.
It's right in the middle of Hawes very handy for all the attractions and restaurants.
Excellent room very big, well decorated and clean.
Lovely couple run the hotel, very welcoming and friendly.
Wonderful breakfast,You won't be dissapointed with this hotel

Room Tip: Try the rump steak in the restaurant, top quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheOwls93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawes
0.9 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
1.0 mi away
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
3.9 mi away
The Rose & Crown Hotel
The Rose & Crown Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bainbridge
3.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#7 of 23 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ebor House
Ebor House
#3 of 23 in Hawes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Board Inn
The Board Inn
#12 of 23 in Hawes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cockett's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cockett's Hotel

Property: Cockett's Hotel
Address: Market Place, Hawes, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3RD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Hawes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Hawes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Cockett's Hotel Hawes, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing