We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointing and dated but clean.”
Review of Cockett's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cockett's Hotel
Ranked #11 of 23 Hawes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2014

To be honest we only booked to stay here because it was last minute and there was nowhere else left. We paid over £80 for a superior room and notified them on the booking form that my partner was coeliac and therefore requested a gluten free breakfast (the menu for the restaurant states they do gluten free sausage).
The room was clean, had a good view over the dales and that's about all the good things. Make no mistake, my partner and I have stayed in many hotels and this was one of the more expensively priced we have stayed in so we were a little disappointed that everything was so dated. We like antique furniture but not a rickety bed with 1980s kettle, cups, bedside radio and trouser press! It gave the ambience of a stereotype old people's home.
We could probably have forgiven this right up until breakfast.... As I stated earlier my partner is Coeliac, however they clearly had not read our booking notes and told us quite dismissively there was nothing gluten free but there might be some GF bread in the freezer. This was quite annoying but this was compounded by them being presented with the most disappointingly bland cooked breakfast. No local ingredients, cheap 'bread' sausage and generic toast. The scrambled egg clearly microwaved and the jam thin on the ground. I would have expected that being in a lovely village in the dales with many local farms and butchers that at least some of the element of the breakfast was locally sourced.
Quite what our 80-odd quid paid for left us wondering.... We checked out never to return.

Room Tip: Don't bother paying for superior.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ecomentalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed here on a group walking weekend.
The place is lovely very warm and welcoming, our room was very lovely and big, comfy beds and great shower, very very clean.
The food was amazing, brilliant choice and very different veg which made a nice change.
The owners and staff are lovely could not do enough for you and nothing was too much trouble.
Great price and can not wait to stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eliz a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

My husband Steve and I have just returned from a wonderful 3 night stay at Cocketts Hotel having booked one of the Superior rooms " Wensleydale" which overlooked Stagfell.

The ensuite bathroom was gorgeous and had lovely deep bath, a lovely range of toiletries and huge fluffy white bathrobes.
Bob and Lesley were very friendly hosts who made us feel most welcome and the breakfasts served were piping hot and delicious.
In fact we had such a lovely stay that we are already booking to go back later in the year.

Room Tip: The superior rooms are worth the little extra and provide magnificent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank melody t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Lovely clean rooms. Room 1 with four poster bed has fantastic views. Food to die for with super fast service. Nice friendly staff and a great chef. Will definitely recommend and return.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank river f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This is a must stay place if you are visiting the area and want a friendly and comfortable place to stay. The icing on the cake is the food. We had breakfast and dinner twice and were really impressed with the quality and choice.

Our room was clean, had a large comfortable bed, state of the art bathroom, plus tv and tea/coffee making facilities.

The hotel offers plenty of magazines and books to browse and a couple of public room with comfortable seats. The reception doubles up as a bar offering reasonably priced drinks.

It is perfectly located at the edge of the main shopping street, only a 5 minute walk from the Wensleydale Creamery. If you didn't want to eat at the hotel, there are plenty of options nearby. The pub next door serves cask ales so we didn't have to go too far. Further up the road from the creamery is Gayle Mill of Restoration Home fame,

We walked the nearby moors on both days - access for walking and exploring is good.

I highly recomment the hotel if you are looking for a Special Weekend. It's not the cheapest in the area but you will have a stay to remember.

Room Tip: The hotel is set back from the main road so I don't think there would be too much noise in the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mixreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We booked a superior room and were delighted with the Wensleydale Room. The bed was very comfortable and there is a gorgeous view of the Dales. The bath was perfect after the walks and you just couldn't fault the breakfast, it was delicious.

Room Tip: ask for wensleydale room. v quiet, dark and comfy. good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ben d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Quite pricey at nearly £100 a night for a "superior" room that was a little too average in my opinion. WiFi wasn't working. Breakfast was ace, though. Nice friendly staff & well stocked bar but no hand pumps.

1  Thank MartinDower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hawes hotels
0.8 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
434 reviews
1 mi away
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
0 mi away
The Board Inn
The Board Inn
#12 of 23 in Hawes
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Southview Bed & Breakfast
0 mi away
The Fountain Hotel
The Fountain Hotel
#15 of 23 in Hawes
110 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ebor House
Ebor House
#4 of 23 in Hawes
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cockett's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cockett's Hotel

Address: Market Place, Hawes, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3RD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Hawes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Hawes
Price Range: £79 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Cockett's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cockett's Hotel Hawes, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing