We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great friendly place ”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cockett's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cockett's Hotel
Ranked #7 of 23 Hawes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great friendly place ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here to watch the tour de France. What a wonderful location in the centre of Hawes. Amazing service from the owners and staff, it was like staying with friends. Lovely well appointed bedrooms and superb food, will definitely be back, thank you for a fantastic weekend!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lynsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    34
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
12
102
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed at this b & b last weekend, we have been here before so we was pleased to find they still had one room left. It is a lovely place to stay, room was spotless bed comfortable, and the hosts are very friendly, the breakfast was delicious beautifully cooked and presented. We will definitely be going back x

Room Tip: We have only stayed in two rooms, both at the front of the hotel, it is set back from the road so it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOrdan1234778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Stayed here one night with husband and sister on the Herriot Way. Clean comfortable rooms, lovely breakfast, very pleasant staff, and Bob couldn't do enough to help us when my husband needed to get back from Keld to Hawes to collect his car. He went out of his way and it was most appreciated, we will return.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank salandmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

We were so pleased with this hotel. It was immaculately clean and the bed was so comfy. Ideally located in the centre of Hawes but nice and quiet. Breakfast was delicious and the staff were very attentive. I loved the attention to detail such as a sewing kit in a pin cushion and plenty of good quality toiletries. I would recommend and if we stop in Hawes again this is where we will be!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Shoeipops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

A group of us recently stayed at Cockett's as a base for a walking trip to the Yorkshire Dales. We kept changing our reservations but Bob and Lesley had accommodated all of our changes whilst also giving advice for our trip.

I stayed in the Superior Room which was incredibly comfortable, very well decorated and with a lovely sized bathroom with a large step-in shower. It's towards the rear so very quiet.

We had both breakfast and dinner each day and couldn't fault anything. Breakfast was cooked to order and we had been surprised by the dinner which was also good value.

Next time we are in the area we will clearly stay here.

Room Tip: The rooms all vary greatly in size and location - the Superior Room was worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Fussy_One
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

This is a very lovely little hotel situated on the main street of Hawes. We stayed in a lovely double room with en suite. From the minute we walked in it was clear that the owners were very proud of their establishment. The bed was comfy and the bathroom was clean as a whistle, well stocked with fluffy towels and toiletries. The breakfast was beautiful. The full English was well cooked and wasn't over the top and it complimented the wide range of cereal yoghurts and fruit available. The owners were great and very amenable. In summary we had a very pleasant stay

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, CT
Level Contributor
55 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Stayed here while walking the Pennine Way. It is right in the center of Hawes, which is convenient. It's an old hotel so it has the odd layout and quirks of an old building. But it is very comfortable and a nice place to stay.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank elmcityjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawes
0.9 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
1.0 mi away
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
3.9 mi away
The Rose & Crown Hotel
The Rose & Crown Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bainbridge
3.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#6 of 23 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ebor House
Ebor House
#3 of 23 in Hawes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Board Inn
The Board Inn
#12 of 23 in Hawes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cockett's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cockett's Hotel

Property: Cockett's Hotel
Address: Market Place, Hawes, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3RD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Hawes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Hawes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Cockett's Hotel Hawes, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing