We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous room, wonderful views, excellent food!”
Review of Cockett's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cockett's Hotel
Ranked #11 of 23 Hawes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2009

Having read the previous 2 reviews I'm amazed we are talking about the same place. We stayed in one of the superior rooms, which I would rate as excellent. The king size beds are very comfortable, and the bathrooms lovely. The decor is very neutral (ie not 'twee' as some small hotels can be) so would appeal to both older and younger couples. We dined there on both nights and the food was amazing - really delicious and huge portions! We did look at the Chaste for the second night but that was a similar price to Cocketts, and as we'd had such a delicious meal the night before, we decided to eat there again. There is some building work going on as the owners are upgrading the hotel, but it doesn't impact you at all when you are staying there. whilst we didn't see any slug trails, it is a very old building and slugs do have a habit of getting in to old buildings, but I certainly wouldn't let that put me off! Lesley and Bob are incredibly accomodating and make you feel really at home.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nic21021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lesley52, Owner at Cockett's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2009

Thank you for your positive comment, it is always a delight to receive such praise and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2009

We have visited Cocketts off and on for over 20 years and seen 3 or 4 different owners. It used to be a terriffic place and now it's terrible. Apart from the unfinised building work, the paint was peeling off woodwork in our bathroom, the spare pillows were screwed up in a pastic bag in the wardrobe and the front sign was broken and just laying on the ground. In addition, the breakfast was less than average and seemingly cooked or assisted by the filthiest person ever to emerge from a hotel kitchen (dirty tee shirt and ripped dirty jeans). He felt it ok to clear the table next to us in this appearance, whilst we were still eating. The crowning glory however was discovering snail / slug trails on the dining room carpet (table furthest from door). We will never be returning.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dalesmanEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lesley52, Owner at Cockett's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2009

We are delighted with the high level of repeat business we receive and I’m sorry on this occasion we did not live up to your expectations. As you mentioned we are indeed in the process of upgrading the property with new customer facilities being developed, however this area is isolated to the rear of the property and customer feedback on our enhancements has been very positive.
Thank you for bringing to our attention the small area of paintwork that needed remedial action, which has now taken place.
For the comfort of our guests we provide additional pillows which are placed in protective sealed bags to ensure they are fresh when required.
Your disappointing and rather personal attack on a member of our staff, we feel is totally unwarranted.
Unfortunately due to the age and construction of the building and inclement weather we do occasionally see the odd ‘snail trail’, rest assured we do all we can to mitigate this.
We are disappointed that you in particular have not seen the benefits of the high level of investment in our hotel. However we are generally delighted by positive customer feedback, which is also supported by our four-star grading from the English Tourist Board.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2009

At £92 for the superior room I expected more. Room small bed too soft. The sauteed chicken liver starter was more like a casserole and the game pie main meal was smothered in Bisto with a pastry lid added as an afterthought. Not really a pie. Breakfast was mediocre with packet sausages. Worth about £50 a night tops. Try the White Swan at Askrigg. Far superior with a standard room at £70.

Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank S_B999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lesley52, Owner at Cockett's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2009

Thank you for your feedback. The room you stayed in measures 180 sq ft, the king size bed, which is a feature of all of our superior rooms, may have created the impression the room is smaller than is actually is.
As you will appreciate, the firmness of a bed, is a very subjective matter and in general our brand new beds have been well received.
We’re sorry to hear about your disappointing meal, in general our food receive great praise and is one the elements our customers return for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2009

A little disappointed after reading reviews already posted. We stayed in one of the superior rooms which was nicely decorated, apart from the plywood wardrobe doors and cracked sink. The view over the back yard was pleasant but you had to look past the broken flower pots,rusty bench,general tatt and dog poo.
The hotel looks tired on the outside and equally as tired on the inside with dead house plants and dusty surfaces. Some may call it homely but it wasnt to me.
Breakfast was well cooked and the bacon was lovely. We did not eat at the hotel as it was a bit expensive. We can however recommend Chaste bistro and also The Crown, AVOID The Board Inn next door its a dump!
To be fair this hotel is probably on a par with most in Hawes and with a little sprucing up could be one of the best in Hawes

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCH124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lesley52, Owner at Cockett's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2009

We were vey happy to read that you felt our newly created superior rooms are well decorated and accept there were a couple of elements within the room that needed attention, which have now been addressed.
The views from our superior rooms are very pleasant looking directly onto the Yorkshire Dales. Unfortunately during your stay we were in the final stages of upgrading the rear of the property which has now been complete ensuring an un-cluttered back yard and more importantly a refreshed interior.
I’m sorry we didn’t get the opportunity to serve you dinner, at £16.95 for a two course evening meal, we believe our pricing to be competitive.
Thank you for your kind, final, comment. We are investing heavily in our hotel and welcome constructive comments which we can act upon to ensure Cocketts is the best hotel in Hawes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2009

We stayed at the this hotel for one night and really enjoyed our stay. We had never been to Hawes but it is a really vibrant place, with beautiful hills above the town. This hotel had a lot of character and Bob and Lesley made us feel very welcome. It was very clean and our bathroom was a lovely size. The only negative we have is the decor could be refreshed a bit and they could do with some new tables and chairs outside for you to relax in when the weather is nice as the present ones are not very comfortable and a bit old. Also we were very disappointed that there were no parking facilities and we did struggle to find parking.

We only found one restaurant in Hawes that did evening meals which was called Chaste and we would highly recommend it but we we would have liked more choice of restaurants as we didn't seem to be able to find anymore in the evening. So if anyone can recommend any other restuarants in Hawes please let us know.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HollyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2009

This is a fantastic little hotel in the most perfect of locations. We enjoyed a break this easter and thouroughly enjoyed our time there. The hotel is full of old-world charm, the service is exceptional and the rooms are very comfortable with a great range of amenities. As for the food...outstanding!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank padd1ngton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2009

This is the second time we have stayed at this lovely bed and breakfast. The first stay was around three to fours years ago and I'm pleased to stay the quality of the hotel and restaurant was still present. The village itself is lovely, parking can be limited but street parking and the free car park across the road is usually avilable once the day visitors have left. There are also plenty of cafes, restaurants and pubs in very short walking distance for the evenings. However we always eat at the restaurant within the hotel as the food is beautiful and good value for money, portions are great and the menu has a range of choice for all. The rooms are a good size and very comfortable with a good range of soap, shower gel etc in the bathroom, as well as tea and coffee making facilities. The breakfasts are also excellent to provide you with a good start to the day. Loved the stay again, came home relaxed and well feed. Perfect!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claireypopz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hawes hotels
0.8 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
439 reviews
1 mi away
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
0 mi away
The Board Inn
The Board Inn
#12 of 23 in Hawes
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bulls Head Hotel
Bulls Head Hotel
#14 of 23 in Hawes
198 reviews
0 mi away
The Fountain Hotel
The Fountain Hotel
#15 of 23 in Hawes
113 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ebor House
Ebor House
#4 of 23 in Hawes
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cockett's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cockett's Hotel

Address: Market Place, Hawes, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3RD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Hawes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Hawes
Price Range: £76 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Cockett's Hotel Hawes, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing