We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Hawes, Yorkshire Dales National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

samsaraDu...
United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 27 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Had an excellent week there. Fantastic welcome pack from owners - just a shame we didn't meet them. Garden is perfect for throwing balls for dog to chase! Absolutely stunning views from kitchen window so don't mind washing up! Lovely walks around.

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Garden and views
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Nov 2015
Thank you very much for this lovely review - much appreciated. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your holiday at Cubble Head. Many of our guests have commented on the views from the kitchen window and we sometimes find that guests have in fact hardly used the dishwasher!

We were so sorry not to be able to meet you - we almost always meet our guests in person but a family commitment meant that we were unable to do so on this occasion. Next time, we hope!

Liz and Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zoeysmama
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Spot in Yorkshire”
Reviewed 7 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I can't imagine a more perfect home-base for a vacation in the Yorkshire Dales. The only downside was having to leave! Liz and Richard gave us a warm welcome (and excellent directions), provided an excellent orientation to their wonderful cottage and left us with everything we needed for an amazing week, including a lovely tray of "welcome gifts" that included tea, coffee, wine, cheese, biscuits, crackers, fudge -- we were enjoying these treats all week. The house is comfortable, immaculate and beautifully furnished. Everything we needed was provided, as well as thoughtful extras like fresh flowers. We definitely appreciated having dependable WiFi. Although there was certainly enough room for more people, the two of us were very happy there on our own, with room to spare, and loved going "home" to Cubble Head after long days of walking. Liz and Richard gave us wonderful suggestions for various walks and itineraries and also provided a wealth of maps and guidebooks for our use. We enjoyed the quick walk to Hawes (either the slightly longer route through Gayle or the more direct "paved path") for dinner almost every night and were happy to find a good choice of pubs, shops, grocery stores, etc., there. And walking back to quiet Burtersett in the twilight was a highlight of the day for us. Probably the best part of our stay was the gorgeous setting. As "urban dwellers," we luxuriated in the location of Cubble Head, with its beautiful grounds, exceptional views (I will never forget looking out the kitchen window every morning to see "my" lambs and rabbits) and peaceful quiet. Our experience at Cubble Head exceeded our expectations -- thank you, Liz and Richard!

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jun 2015
Wow! Thank you very much indeed. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time at Cubble Head so much and very pleased indeed that the cottage exceeded your expectations. As you say, the cottage is a haven of tranquility in the countryside and yet just a lovely half hour stroll from Hawes for eating out or shopping.
We would love to welcome you back and do hope that you will return to Cubble Head.
Liz and Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
901mikea
Bebington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great cottage, excellent facilities”
Reviewed 31 May 2015 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here from 28th September until 4th October 2014. We were met on arrival by Liz & Richard, who were very welcoming and there was a lovely welcome pack waiting for us.

The house has lots of open space and tremendous views. It is well equipped with all you need and more. Very clean and spacious.

The house is ideally located with plenty of walks nearby and only a short walk to Hawes itself. Overall a brilliant house, great holiday and can't wait to return.

Date of stay: October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2015
Many thanks for taking the time to review Cubble Head. We are delighted that you enjoyed the space in the cottage and the fantastic views all around. The walk into Hawes is one of our favourites and we do this nearly every week but you can set off from the cottage in any direction for shorter or longer walks.

We are very pleased that you found everything you needed and more - we try and make the cottage a 'home from home'. Our welcome pack seems to be very popular and we love to showcase local goodies to our guests!

It is great to hear that you can't wait to return and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Just get in touch!

Liz and Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominique...
The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely house.”
Reviewed 13 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Cubble Head is a lovely spacious house. It has all the facilities you need. Like home. A convenient kitchen. Cosey sittingroom and beautifull diningroom. Nicely decorated bedrooms. The beds are very comfortable. It has one bathroom and one shower room. The garden is large with wonderfull views. Its perfect for walkers and bikers.
If the weather is nice there's enough possibility to sit outside to have breakfast, lunch or dinner or just to watch the birds.
When we arrived, Richard gave us, after explaining some things, a lovely welcome package. Tnanks again!! We had a wonderfull week in Cubble Head.

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 May 2015
Many thanks for your very kind review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your holiday at Cubble Head and that you found it equipped with everything you needed! As you say, the views from the garden are spectacular and we now have 3 separate places outside, with garden furniture, to sit and eat, drink a glass of wine or just enjoy the birds and the views. You can choose your spot (east, south or west) to make sure you get the sun.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed the contents of the welcome basket - we try to make sure that you have a lovely start to your holiday with goodies from local shops and suppliers.

We would love to welcome you back to Cubble Head at any time - just get in touch!

Liz and Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
revallie
Devizes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing location and beautifully appointed cottage.”
Reviewed 27 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The owners took great care to make the house welcoming and attractive. The garden is lovely and the location perfect. Washing up was a joy and you will see why when you get there! With laminate floors throughout and new bathrooms it was a really easy house to live in with the dogs and baby. I heartily recommend this cottage. Thank you for a wonderful week.

Date of stay: April 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 May 2015
Many thanks for your very kind review of Cubble Head. We are delighted that you had a wonderful holiday. We do our best to make the cottage as welcoming as possible for guests with everything you would expect to find and a few little extras! As you say, the view from the kitchen window is indeed very special and we sometimes find that guests do not appear to have used the dishwasher at all, preferring to take in the view whilst hand washing.
We have renewed the downstairs bathroom and the upstairs shower room in the last couple of years, so both are modern and stylish and we are very pleased that you found the cottage practical for your family with both babies and pets. The floors are easy to keep clean - though in fact the only laminate is in the kitchen and the rest of the downstairs has solid wood (English oak)floors. Upstairs, there is a mixture of original pitch pine boards, some newer timber floors with rugs, and fitted carpets in 2 of the bedrooms.

We would be delighted to welcome you back any time - just get in touch!

Kind regards

Liz and Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellamax2
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent cottage in a perfect location”
Reviewed 29 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Finding a high quality holiday cottage in a peaceful location at a reasonable price can be very tricky in any part of the UK, including the Dales...but you need look no further than this amazing place. Cubble Head is spacious, spotlessly clean, well-equipped, and extremely comfortable. The personal welcome from the owners on arrival was very helpful in pointing out a few features such as the owls which nest in a nearby barn - we spotted their beautiful silhouettes most evenings and with very little light pollution and a clear night sky the stars were ultra bright. Great walks straight from the door are described in the information sheets and maps are also provided. I cannot think of how the place could have been better.

Date of stay: March 2015
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Mar 2015
Thank you very much for taking the time to review Cubble Head and for your most generous comments. We are delighted that you had such a good holiday. It was lovely to meet you at the cottage when you arrived and we are very pleased that the owls put in an appearance! We have Little Owls nesting nearby and Barn Owls that swoop past hunting.

As you say, Cubble Head is very well placed for short or long walks in any direction right from the door and we are glad that the maps and books of walks were useful.

Our dark skies are indeed spectacular and there are literally millions of stars to see so it is easy to identify constellations and the Milky Way. The Northern Lights were also on show recently.

We do hope that you will come back to Cubble Head and look forward to meeting you again!

Liz and Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_and...
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great cottage in great location”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed here with my mum in 2013. Compared to other cottages we've stayed in down south, this was the best - unbeatable location for exploring the Dales and the welcome waiting for you was superb. Apart from the location, the lovely decor and attention to detail, the beautiful exterior, gardens and magnificent views all around - what really stands out is the value. It was expensive for just two people, but if you had a larger party, it would really be a very cheap option. So please don't put up the prices! I suspect it's because Yorkshire (for some crazy reason) isn't an immediate choice for summer holidays - though that may have changed since Le Tour!

Our only criticism, and it's meant only to help, is that after mowing the lawn, it would have been useful if they had raked up the grass, as we were always treading wet grass through the house!

But, to summarise, both the Dales and Cubble Head, are deserving recipients of their 5 stars here. Go!

Date of stay: June 2013
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review Cubble Head. We are delighted that you and your mum enjoyed the location, the welcome, the exterior, interior, gardens and views! Many other guests have commented that location and the views are outstanding and we are very pleased that, even for 2 people, you felt that the cottage was good value. We do have quite a numbe of couples who stay at the cottage, as well as families, and the size allows everyone to have their own space and privacy.

We do take on board your comment about the grass; it is a bit of a challenge with more than half an acre of grass in the paddock and garden to cut each week in the growing season , but we are investigating to see if there is some sort of attachment for our ride-on mower that might collect the cut grass. We'll see!

Liz and Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.