We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good information”

Dales Countryside Museum
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
US$54.50*
and up
Yorkshire Dales Day Trip from York
Ranked #4 of 14 things to do in Hawes
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dales Countryside Museum shares the stories of the people and places of the Yorkshire Dales. Fun and fascinating things for visitors of all ages to enjoy. Housed in the former railway station, the Museum has been extended to create an exciting space for exhibitions and events. Step back in time and experience the wonder of beautifully crafted objects like our Bronze Age spearhead. Get crafty on the Creation Station, enjoy the outdoor trail and temporary exhibitions. There's lots of fun for families with our Crafts for Kids events on Wednesdays and Fun Fridays through the school holidays. See traditional skills brought to life at our demo days or learn a new skill yourself at one of our events. We have 4 temporary exhibitions a year, so you can make the most of them with an Annual Pass.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Stairs / lift, Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Lockers / storage, Food available for purchase
Earth, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good information”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Good information. Helped me know more about the Dales. It was not my favorite museum, but it was useful.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    80
    19
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Provided an interesting history of the Dales + is located just off the High Street next to the rope makers.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Really good”
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

Really good place to go very interesting both of my children ages 3 & 6 enjoyed it , lots to learn about and some days they have things to try and have a go at well worth going .

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joanne251006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houghton-le-Spring, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good for kids and well presented.”
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

Wifi didnt work on the QR trail. Even with map we missed a section of the trail around the place. Lots of hands on for kiss and excellent models. Bit boring for 20 to 45 age range if no kids in tow

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank NickyJo1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Family History room has local registers”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

In the same building as the museum is the family history room staffed by members of the local family history group on two days a week. Having family in the Dales in the 19th century it was good to be able to access some documentation which is not available on the usual family history websites. A good facility which is tucked away and free. Further comments relate to this facility and not the museum itself.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Famseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dales Countryside Museum also viewed

Hawes, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Hawes, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 
Hawes, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Aysgarth, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 

Been to Dales Countryside Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing