We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hawes
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds England
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2007

My wife and I stayed at the hotel on Saturday 29th September to celebrate our 1st wedding anniversary.
The location is ideal and the view from our room was stunning.
We booked on a bed, breakfast and dinner basis and upgraded to a deluxe room ( number 9).
The stay cost us £240 which is not cheap but overall we felt it worthwhile for a special occasion. The room was comfortable and in fitting with the historic building which is a welcome change from some of the modern shoeboxes. On the downside the shower was very weak and there was some rust on the bath.
There was no iron in the room but one was provided by houskeeeping.
The staff were friendly and efficient. The bar area is comfortable and the wood fire welcoming.
The food in the restaurant was good, if a little rich, but the menu was limited. Breakfast was excellent.
The main drawback was the location of our room which was over the bar area and was a bit noisy. Having said that we did go to bed early as my wife is pregnant and we we not drinking.
The worst element of the weekend was a wedding party which was dining in the room next to the restaurant and allowed their children to run screaming in and our of the connecting door throughout the meal.
Check if a wedding party is booked before you stay, we will in the future.

  • Liked — Location, views, character of room / hotel
  • Disliked — Wedding guests with no manners
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mince963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    122
    44
    33
    12
See reviews for
72
291
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lymington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2007

This review is a year old, but I am reminded to post it because I have just booked accomodation in the area again - definatly not at this hotel - for much the same period as we stayed in the Yorkshire Dales last year, and Simonstone Hall popped up in our search.
Some of the staff we encountered were helpful and friendly, others less so. The Hotel made a mistake with our booking, and had us down for three nights when we had asked for four. We were blamed for this, and told we were "lucky" to be able to stay the "extra" night, as our room had not been booked by others. We found the food to be average, and the restaurant service appalling. Having refused a starter as it was not what I had ordered, the head waiter arrived at our table some ten minutes later demanding to know why I had sent it back. He turned on his heel without apology or comment after explaining again that I had ordered something else, and I was left waiting another ten minutes before the correct starter arrived. In the meantime, my wife got on with hers to avoid having to either send it back or eat it cold. We ate elswhere for the rest of our stay.
Our room could have been cleaner, the bathroom was tiny and inadequately ventilated.
Clearly the other reviewers who recomend this Hotel were luckier than we were - but at the prices sought by this Hotel, it should not be left to luck. We will not stay again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank JDS_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
118 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2007

We were guests at a wedding and stayed overnight. Hope to return as it was excellent. Our room ( 11 ) was large and very comfortable with a good bed. Breakfast was very good, especially the black pudding. Bar and lounge areas are very welcoming and comfortable. No sign of a need for refurbishment as mentioned in another review. The garden is a little neglected as they cannot get a gardener. The views are of course amazing. We walked up the hill behind to the level of the old lead mines and I ventured a few yards into the hillside.

  • Liked — Atmosphere
  • Disliked — Garden maintenance
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlesLesleySmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
51 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2007

Stayed one night as part of a whirlwind weekend in the Lake District + Yorkshire for the purpose of attending a Christening just outside Newcastle.
It's a beautiful location and a very nice slightly oldyworldy building. Our room (deluxe) was very nice except for a couple of things. Firstly under the sheet was a mattress protector which was a bit prickly (you could feel the prickles through the sheet) and secondly the shower was barely more than luke warm.
We had a drink in the bar which was very nice and a very good dinner. Despite the mattress protector we ended up having a good night's sleep (it's very quiet) although I did sleep on a towel! My partner lay directly on the sheet but despite the reservation about the prickles didn't have any problem sleeping.
Breakfast was also very good.
Lots of footpaths around for walking and the drive there from North and away from there to the South was beautiful.
I would still recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Location, food
  • Disliked — Bathroom
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PamperedAndProud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YORK
Level Contributor
78 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2007

We stayed here for two nights at half term and had a very comfortable stay in one of the deluxe rooms which was very spacious, with antique furniture and a superb view. Although we got the room at a slightly reduced rate as it was quite a late booking, so shouldn’t really find fault, we didn’t expect at that price to find that the wallpaper was a little grubby in places, no box of tissues and the kettle needed to be put on the floor to be plugged in, and it would have been nice to have had some real plants rather than the plastic/silk ones with which the hotel was filled, from ‘rubber plants’ to imitation specimen orchids in pots which required special stands – really naff! Also, having one long bolster is never convenient – who on earth prefers those to a couple of pillows? Fortunately, there were plenty of cushions to supplement the lack of more pillows.

We ate in the Orangery the first night (my meal was good, his was OK) then the second night, in the restaurant where the food was delicious, the service friendly, music good etc (the music in the bar got stuck on the same track for about an hour!) The cooked breakfast was great; there was also cereal and fruit, although as I’m not keen on having the two together, I would have welcomed some yogurt with my fruit.

As my partner had a broken bone and the weather was appalling, we stayed indoors and lazed around and the lounge was a very comfortable place to do this in although it was rather chilly, in fact the whole place could have done with being a bit warmer. We wanted to order some tea mid-afternoon having not needed any lunch after such a substantial breakfast, and asked at reception, only to be sent to the bar where they were busy with a delivery, so they sent us back to reception! Not a big problem, but even at the reduced price we were expecting perfect luxury, so it was a little disappointing.

I would recommend staying here as it is such a great getaway, but I’m not sure the top priced rooms are worth quite as much as they charge for them, given the various factors mentioned above.

  • Liked — Spacious
  • Disliked — Plastic plants
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VisitorsfromYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2007

We knew as soon as we walked into Simonstone Hall for the first time that it would be the perfect venue for our forthcoming wedding. The location is stunning and the hotel has a wonderfully relaxed and cosy ambiance - exactly what we were looking for!
From the outset, we were promised that "nothing would be too much trouble" and over the weekend itself, they were certainly true to their word. The management, wedding co-ordinator and staff could not have been more friendly and attentive, making ourselves and our guests feel very welcome.
The rooms are luxurious and each has its own unique character - all spotlessly clean too (although, being hyper-critical, a couple are looking a little jaded). The choice and quality of the food surpassed our expectations and was served to over 40 guests, fresh and piping hot - no mean feat for any kitchen.
We took the opportunity to book the entire hotel for our guests which created a great "house-party" atmosphere but we had been equally impressed on a prior visit when just the two of us stayed.
We had many compliments back from our guests on our choice of venue (some of whom are not easy to please) - well done Simonstone Hall... thank you and see again you soon.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Tips/Secrets — Give yourserlves time to take in the spectacular views en route to the hotel
  • Stayed October 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AuntieGrantie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Bucks
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2007

I have stayed in -- and visited -- many hotels similar to this and have never experienced the problems encountered when my family and I took afternoon tea. Having telephoned to check availability we duly arrived and made ourselves comfortable, only to be told that the room in which we were sitting was "residents only" and that we would have to move. This was despite there being no notice to this effect nor comment from the staff.

The hotel should never have allowed the mistake to arise, but once it had should have bent over backwards to make us feel welcome. In fact we were given a rather lame excuse about staff "having been on holiday" (whatever difference that should have made) and made to feel almost as though the mistake was ours.

This was foolish because one of the very reasons for taking tea was to determine whether we might stay at the hotel. My sister's husband happens to be the local minister, who was among our number (complete with dog-collar).

Whatever one's views about lounges for residents only (I feel this smacks rather of a seedy guest-house but others would no doubt disagree), we will not be returning.

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawes
0.6 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
21.5 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
11.4 mi away
Burgoyne Hotel
Burgoyne Hotel
#1 of 2 in Reeth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
17.8 mi away
Beck Hall Malham
Beck Hall Malham
#1 of 1 in Malham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel

Property: Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
Address: Simonstone Hall Limited | Country House Hotel, Hawes, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3LY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Hawes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hawes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simonstone Hall, once home to Lord and Lady Wharncliff is set at the foot of Stags Fell with breathtaking Views over Upper Wensleydale, the River Ure and the foothills of the Pennine range. This magnificent country house, is privately owned and has been carefully restored, whilst preserving the historic character of the beautiful building. Standing in it's own splendid grounds, the view from the front of the hotel is surely one of the most stunning in the country and can e enjoyed from serveral of the bedrooms also.Simonstone Hall is the ultimate tranquil retreat; it's atmosphere exudes comfort and finery in equal measures. From the moment you arrive you feel welcomed and indulged. A grand staircase leads to the second floor where a selection of elegant hotel bedrooms can be found.Relaxing lounges with log fires provide the perfect haven to relax and unwind. With spectacular views from both the Brasserie and Four Fells restaurant, it's the perfect place to enjoy a relaxed or intimate dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simonstone Hall Country Hotel
Simonstone Hall Country Hawes
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel Hawes, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing