We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not all rooms have a view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hawes
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
110 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Not all rooms have a view”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2011

We stayed at Simonstone Hall after a charity do and got a special room rate of £70 instead of £165. We would definitely have refused the room if we had paid the full price. There was little space around the bed, the wardrobe was not deep enough to hang a coat hanger in and there was no drawer space (not that we needed it for one night). Worst of all was the lack of any sort of view. If you are paying £165 to stay in a country house hotel in the middle of some the best scenery in Britain you do not expect to look out onto a flat leaded roof. The only glimpse of Wensleydale was from the loo. The bed was very comfortable but as the radiator managed to hiss all night I didn't sleep too well. So please specify that you want a room with a view when booking. The food was OK but not outstanding.

Wensleydale is beautiful and I would recommend the area to anyone. Hawes is a busy country town with plenty for tourists to do, the scenery is great and there are lots of lovely walks.

Room Tip: Insist on a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nomad59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    125
    47
    34
    12
See reviews for
74
297
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
chippysmate
Level Contributor
105 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2011

We stayed for the easter weekend, DBB, very good value, great location, very peaceful, great staff, friendly and helpful
Franko the manager is "Jack of all trades" a great character
2 small problems, a leak in the ceiling, 2 nights with a bucket, and a slightly boring menu in the evening, a bit more adventurous, menu would have been great, it certainly wouldn't put us off staying again and recommending this hotel and area to you,
You will need a car ! It is also paradise for dogs, not sure I agree with dogs in the dining room, but it certainly encourages dogs and dog owners to stay.
Rooms are large and clean, location about 1.5 miles out of Hawes

Room Tip: there are local pubs to eat
See more room tips
Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Brierdene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2011

I needed to find a special hotel for a treat for my wife's 40th and this was a fantastic place- has earned me browny points, she was suitably impressed!

The hotel is the perfect blend classy and cosy- stunning rooms (room 14's bed is the widest we ever seen!) amazing decor and a stunning setting. Service is friendly and professional, we were made to feel special with flowers in the room. The terrace is a fantasic place for a restorative pot of tea in the afternoon, pre dinnner drinks to see the sun go down and after dinner drinks listening to owls. After 2 nights away we feel totally recharged and can't wait for an excuse to go back, whilst not cheap it is value for money as the weekend was so memorable.

Room Tip: ring the hotel for a special offer
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheffieldpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pickering, North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
127 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2011

The hotel is in a good location with excellent views from some of the rooms, it is an old building that has seen many uses and has been extended over time.
The room was clean and spacious with a large four-poster bed. It lacked a comfortable couch but had most other things you would need. The bed was extremely uncomfortable and between 2330 and 0000 there was several loud bangs like someone slamming heavy doors. Not much sleep was had.
The bar was crowded due to there being an Italian night open to non-residents, there was also a small child at the bar - a personal pet hate.
The menu was OK but nothing special, the food cooked adequately. There were no daily specials so if you are staying more than one night you are faced with the same dishes again. The staff were pleasant and helpful though we were initially brought the wrong bottle of wine and had to send it back.
The resident's lounge was in darkness when we went to have coffee there, the staff member couldn't find the light switch, when we eventually sat in there it was cold and unwelcoming.
Overall it was very expensive for what you got and there are much better hotels we have stayed in for a lot less cash.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sealdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2011

My wife and I had a recent stay here, the staff where most helpful and the hotel was over all, good. The views and the grounds were great with ample parking, despite the faulty security light in the car park (dark as hell when it went out)! The room had at some point suffered a leak from the roof space and a very poor repair had been done to the decorations. Not really good enough when it was one of the most costly rooms in the hotel. The breakfast was very good with what seemed fresh local produce.
The location is great with just a mile walk to Hawse where there are lots of shops, places of interest, pubs, and places to eat. Good central locational base for trips futher a field. Over all a good stay, room a bit of a let down at this price.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottneilburton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2011

This was the third time we stayed here (first was 12 years ago). The rooms and location are really excellent - very tastefully done and large (we had a deluxe room) and excellent views. The mixture of formality in the dining area and relaxed areas in the bar are ideal for us.

The only things stopping me giving it 5/5 are:
- the evening food whilst still very good, just didn't have the wow factor
- the lounge area was in a different room to before and its layout didn't look very inviting / cosy

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andyclegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
morecambe
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2010

Booked a 3 night break (we had passed the hotel on previous occasions, and liked the look of it)
Our room was large and well presented lovely comfortable bed, nice decor, just a pleasant room.The staff were very freindly and professional contributing to the warmth and comfort of the hotel.
The food was excellent with a varied and delicious content.The hotels location is fantastic and the views great.
This hotel is one of the best we have stayed in for all the above reasons we shall be returning thanks to all for the service and hospitality.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidpike56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawes
0.6 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
21.5 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
8.6 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
24.1 mi away
Burgoyne Hotel
Burgoyne Hotel
#1 of 2 in Reeth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
16.0 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel

Property: Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
Address: Simonstone Hall Limited | Country House Hotel, Hawes, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3LY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Hawes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hawes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simonstone Hall, once home to Lord and Lady Wharncliff is set at the foot of Stags Fell with breathtaking Views over Upper Wensleydale, the River Ure and the foothills of the Pennine range. This magnificent country house, is privately owned and has been carefully restored, whilst preserving the historic character of the beautiful building. Standing in it's own splendid grounds, the view from the front of the hotel is surely one of the most stunning in the country and can e enjoyed from serveral of the bedrooms also.Simonstone Hall is the ultimate tranquil retreat; it's atmosphere exudes comfort and finery in equal measures. From the moment you arrive you feel welcomed and indulged. A grand staircase leads to the second floor where a selection of elegant hotel bedrooms can be found.Relaxing lounges with log fires provide the perfect haven to relax and unwind. With spectacular views from both the Brasserie and Four Fells restaurant, it's the perfect place to enjoy a relaxed or intimate dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simonstone Hall Country Hotel
Simonstone Hall Country Hawes
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel Hawes, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing