We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A delightful place to stay in a hidden corner of the Dales”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hawes
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A delightful place to stay in a hidden corner of the Dales”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

My wife and I really enjoyed our recent midweek break at Simonstone Hall and will definitely be returning sometime soon. Although it looks fairly ordinary from the road as you pass through the tiny hamlet of High Shaw, it is anything but that!

Once inside guests can see that the Hotel has a magnificent setting overlooking the Hawes valley and boasts a large garden with super views of Wensleydale and the distant hills. This large Country House is very interesting and feels almost like a stately home with lots of attractive furniture, paintings and ornaments adding to the atmosphere of being somewhere special.

We asked to see a number of bedrooms and they are all nicely furnished with very comfortable beds and all spotlessly clean. Although some of the bathrooms are showing their age, they are all very much in keeping with the rest of the hotel, ie warm, cosy and welcoming. Some bedrooms have magnificent views, but others do not and , as you might expect, the price difference tends to reflect the quality and size of the accommodation. Whichever room you choose the cost represents good value for money.

The restaurant is excellent with a good choice of dishes on the menu which are of a high quality and served professionally by very friendly and courteous staff. Breakfasts are traditional and wholesome and served in the Brasserie while the Table d'Hote menu offers residents a sumptuous 5 course candlelit dinner with coffee to follow,and is something to really look forward to after a day of walking or sightseeing. The wine list is amazing with many of the better known wines available at reasonable prices, but with a quite remarkable selection of top quality wines for the more adventurous. It is even possible to have a look at the Hotel's wine cellar during your stay and buy a bottle or two of your favourite wine at cost price to take home with you!

The Brasserie which is adjacent to the Hotel Bar is open for most of the day and serves more informal lunches and dinners.

So...all in all a delightful place to stay for a very friendly welcome and a most comfortable holiday in the Dales.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    125
    47
    34
    12
See reviews for
74
297
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hawes, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

We eat at Simonstone hall on a regular basis, and feel the previous review is totally out if character for the staff and the food. I've never had frozen chips at the hotel..ever, and cannot fault the chef on both his quality of ingredients and flavour of food. The staff are polite and attentive.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobby504001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

We didn’t stay at the stay at the hotel but thought it would be a lovely setting for a meal. We enquired if they had a table for 4 adults and 3 children the waitress told us they only had space at 7.15 sitting as the chef likes time to cook the food being served.

When the food came we were very disappointed my husbands and other member of the party chips (which were frozen chips) were not cooked through properly. The waitress came and asked us if everything was ok and we told her the chips were not cooked, she said she would go and get someone, another waitress came and said they would cook us some more but didn’t see the point as the rest of our meal would be cold and no other alternative was offered.

The service was poor and if you are expecting excellent food in a lovely setting don’t eat here, as you will be very disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Yorkietours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simonstonehall, Owner at Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2011
We readily admit that on the evening in question the chefs did undercook the chips on this occasion however we did immediately replace these,
My staff are always friendly courteous and polite and after speaking to the staff on duty they informed me that there was no problem with anything other than the chips.
I do apologise for this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

Didn't stay at the hotel. We enjoyed the lovely 30 min walk over from Hawes for their Sunday lunch. It was fabulous. Fresh, very tasty, served hot and only £10 per head with some of the best views in Wensleydale from the terrace.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank K42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

We first stayed three years ago when it coincided with a wedding. The Manageress suggested that because it could be a lively affair we may wish to reconsider the date. But we stuck with it. Simonstone Hall went out of its way to ensure that we, the only non wedding guests, had as much attention as did the other guests. We even had our own private dining area with our own personal waiter on the Saturday evening. The party went on 'till late and we were made to be part of it. Great stay.
Since then we've stayed a few times and on each occasion the experience has been just as good. Good rooms with great views. Good locally sourced food and great service.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samcottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed here for one night. We brought our pet dog (a westie) along too. Everything about our stay was fabulous! The standard room exceeded our expectations, the service was excellent and the views couldn't be better. The view from the terrace is breath taking. The staff went out of their way to make our stay a great one. Very good value for money...we will go back.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mpc1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
323 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

Visiting Hawes and staying at the superb Loxley House B&B we were looking for somewhere to eat as in Hawes itself you are not exactly spoiled for choice.
The brasserie at Simonstone was brilliant, excellent food and drink plus friendly attentive service. I wish this place was close to where I live, especially with a view like that.... and Black Sheep ale!!

Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank XRXM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawes
0.6 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
21.5 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
8.6 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
24.1 mi away
Burgoyne Hotel
Burgoyne Hotel
#1 of 2 in Reeth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
16.0 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel

Property: Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
Address: Simonstone Hall Limited | Country House Hotel, Hawes, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3LY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Hawes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hawes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simonstone Hall, once home to Lord and Lady Wharncliff is set at the foot of Stags Fell with breathtaking Views over Upper Wensleydale, the River Ure and the foothills of the Pennine range. This magnificent country house, is privately owned and has been carefully restored, whilst preserving the historic character of the beautiful building. Standing in it's own splendid grounds, the view from the front of the hotel is surely one of the most stunning in the country and can e enjoyed from serveral of the bedrooms also.Simonstone Hall is the ultimate tranquil retreat; it's atmosphere exudes comfort and finery in equal measures. From the moment you arrive you feel welcomed and indulged. A grand staircase leads to the second floor where a selection of elegant hotel bedrooms can be found.Relaxing lounges with log fires provide the perfect haven to relax and unwind. With spectacular views from both the Brasserie and Four Fells restaurant, it's the perfect place to enjoy a relaxed or intimate dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simonstone Hall Country Hotel
Simonstone Hall Country Hawes
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel Hawes, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing