We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“country retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hawes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Our daughter was married here 7 years ago and it was a wonderful venue. We have not been back since but decided on a couple of days away & picked Simonstone. We were not disappointed, it was just as wonderful. It's a quiet, relaxing "get away from it all" sort of place.
It is a wonderful old building full of character and in an idyllic setting.
The staff could not be more pleasant and helpful.
The rooms are comfy, clean and luxorious.
The food is great.
All in all a super place

Room Tip: Choose a 4 poster looking over the valley
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (514)
There are newer reviews for Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

373 - 379 of 514 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2012

Given the majority of other reviews for Simonstone Hall, I was somewhat surprised and a bit disappointed with a few aspects of my weekend stay. However, firstly the good points. The hotel's in a beautiful location and is a lovel old building with a very nice atmosphere. The staff are superb - friendly, welcoming and very hard working. The bar and brasserie are particularly cosy and comfortable areas in which to enjoy a drink and a meal. There were, however, some downsides. We booked a standard room (No. 18) which, contrary to the blurb on the hotel's website -'As befits a hotel of this quality, the bedrooms are generous in size....' would only have been offered as a single in most other quality hotels these days. It was only wide enough to accommodate a standard double bed rather than the customary queen/king size commonly found in most hotel rooms. Also the bathroom, while generously proportioned, had no shower - again a very exceptional omission these days. On enquiry, I was informed that the other standard rooms were similarly sized. Having eaten dinner in the restaurant on two evenings, I found the food very average - fairly unimaginative starters, dry overcooked meat accompanied by heavy jus and plain steamed vegetables, followed by some rather dense desserts. I can't see myself returning to Simonstone Hall but for anyone planning a stay, I would recommend not booking a standard room and trying the food in the brasserie rather than the restaurant.

Room Tip: Do not book a Standard Room
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Markinch-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simonstonehall, Manager at Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2012

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at Simonstone Hall.
Unfortunatly our standard rooms are the smallest at the hotel and whilst they are not large rooms these are certainly not tiny. As you can appreciate a country house that has been converted to a hotel will certainly have rooms of various sizes this is reflected by the rates we charge for the different room types.
We are most disappointed that you did not enjoy your food in the restaurant as we are very proud of our kitchen and received mainly positive feedback regarding our menu and quality of the food in both the restaurant and the brasserie.
Please accept my apology and I do hope you visit us again in order that we can make amends for your unfortunate experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We were married at Simonstone Hall on September 28th 2011. It was a very special day, we all had a fantastic time. All the staff were so helpful , the Hall is so homely and welcoming. We love the area and the view is breathtaking. Highly recommend a stay there, and if you are planning a to get married, I can't think of anywhere more perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bensoncassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

It's like staying in a friend's lovely house in a magnificent setting: the atmosphere is relaxing, the staff helpful and friendly and the bedrooms have those extras such as spring water which make such a difference. Add to this, the food of high quality and you couldn't ask for more. We had to stay an extra night because of the floods but what better place to be marooned in? We shall be back next year.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
Thank Mavis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

What an amazing time! staff all fantastic. Room was so clean and comfortable. Tim was fantastic behind the bar, nothing 2 much for him.
The restaurant amazing, food fantatic. will go back. Franco the manager lovely, hard working very organised. The kitchen staff overlooked but amazing need more acknolegment. Aura! Waitress brill funny, happy and so warm can't stop smiling!!

Room Tip: do not get one over the bar!!
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angelica1976_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We stayed 2 nights and found the hotel to be extremely clean and comfortable; the staff are very friendly and courteous. The food was of a high quality and well presented. We took our Cavalier King Charles spaniel who was made very welcome. We would recommend this hotel and will certainly return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richard w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We were married here last year and even though we live fairly local, decided to return for a short stay to celebrate our anniversary. The location is stunning, weather was perfect so we had a few pre-dinner drinks out on the terrace overlooking Wensleydale.
Food was excellent, staff wonderfully friendly and attentive, fantastic selection of wine and single malts! Room very comfortable and breakfast was great quality too.
We'll definitely be back next year.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawes
0.6 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
410 reviews
21.5 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
8.6 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
604 reviews
16.0 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
549 reviews
24.1 mi away
Burgoyne Hotel
Burgoyne Hotel
#1 of 2 in Reeth
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel

Address: Simonstone Hall Limited | Country House Hotel, Hawes, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3LY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Hawes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hawes
Price Range: £114 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simonstone Hall, once home to Lord and Lady Wharncliff is set at the foot of Stags Fell with breathtaking Views over Upper Wensleydale, the River Ure and the foothills of the Pennine range. This magnificent country house, is privately owned and has been carefully restored, whilst preserving the historic character of the beautiful building. Standing in it's own splendid grounds, the view from the front of the hotel is surely one of the most stunning in the country and can e enjoyed from serveral of the bedrooms also.Simonstone Hall is the ultimate tranquil retreat; it's atmosphere exudes comfort and finery in equal measures. From the moment you arrive you feel welcomed and indulged. A grand staircase leads to the second floor where a selection of elegant hotel bedrooms can be found.Relaxing lounges with log fires provide the perfect haven to relax and unwind. With spectacular views from both the Brasserie and Four Fells restaurant, it's the perfect place to enjoy a relaxed or intimate dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simonstone Hall Country Hotel
Simonstone Hall Country Hawes
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel Hawes, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing