We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$217
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$204
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$198
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
New Inn Hotel(Clapham)
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$148
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tennant Arms Hotel(Kilnsey)(Great Value!)
US$108
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Traddock(Austwick)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (545)
Filter reviews
545 results
Traveller rating
295
142
56
39
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
295
142
56
39
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsluxury roommain restaurantwine cellarviews are stunningsunday lunchfour poster bedantique furnitureevening mealyorkshire dalesrelaxing staylarge roomlovely atmospherebooked a tablelovely weekendstayed for one nightfollowing morningbiscuits
Filter
Updating list...
388 - 393 of 545 reviews
Reviewed 19 December 2012

stayed for a weekend in november , as other reviews have mentioned hotel fantastic location ; the staff were excellent , very helpful and friendly and the bar and restaurant had very relaxed atmosphere and very good food . Only reason for the very good rating rather then excellent was 1 considered the cost of the rooms expensive on an off peak period

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MIKEHLEEDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

Visited the Hall with friends, and stayed over in room 9. Our friends stayed in room 14, both rooms excellent.
As ever, we had a wonderful stay over with Franko and the Simonstone team. Lovely food for dinner and excellent breakfast. As per my previous comments, its the people who make a difference to our experience, always helpful, always pleasant always prepared to go that extra mile! Thanks Franko for making it special, Michelle enjoyed her birthday treat and theres no doubting we will be back for more.
Michelle and Barry

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BazmanYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

We visited today for a light lunch and decided on soup & a sandwich from the lunch menu. Lovely hot homemade soup but the bread the sandwich was made from was stale! Shame really as fresh bread would have given us a pleasant experience, so simple! Black sheep ale pleasant but not at its best. Friendly staff who welcomed us despite wet boots & clothes.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Verysmallholdin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

We had a wonderful stay for two nights made even better by the fact we were using a groupon voucher. I must complement the hotel as we were unable to find appropriate dates in the summer and the hotel offered us the opportunity to stay in November instead and it coincided with our 48th wedding anniversary. The entire staff, especially Emma in reception, Dan and Anna in the restaurant and the manger Franco were brilliant. It is such a pleasure to find such a lovely friendly welcome and efficient service. The cleanliness was amongst the best I have come across and the eclectic furniture was lovely. Our room, no 11 was enormous with a wonderful walk in shower. There was never any shortage of hot water. The only slight criticism I have is concerning the television in the room. It was rather on the small side for the size of the room especially when your eyesight is not asa good as it was and initially I could not get it to work but a very determined Emma soon got things right. The breakfasts were excellent and cooked to order. There was ample choice from the buffet table but I opted for some lovely porridge to start with. On the first evening we ate from the bar menu and thoroughly enjoyed it. The second evenine we were fortunate to be there when there was wine tasting event which also consisted of a 2 course meal. It was nice to see 20+ people attending this event and it was well organised and presented in a very informal but formative manner. The views from the hotel were spectacular and we had lovely cold frosty but sunny days whist we were there. This place deserves to be succesful and I would have no heistation in recommending it to anyone. We will return at some time but I do not think we will ever get such good value for money.

Room Tip: our superior room 11 was splendid.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fletch91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

My wife and I stayed here with a group of friends for a weekend.
First the good things.The hotel is a lovely building in a beautiful situation. The staff are friendly and helpful. The bedroom was large and characterful with a lovely four poster bed. The bar is attractive and uncrowded.
Unfortunately, there are some things that are not right. The dinner menu is unexciting and the food very average. I was served an inedible dried up steak (later replaced by a better cooked but tiny one). Starters and puddings (and some special main course choices) more suited to a bar menu than fine dining in a plush dining room. We were served a sweet fruit sorbet between courses. Haven't had one of those since the 80's. In fact the dining experience was very 1980's with loads of steamed vegetables on small trays.
Breakfast was better with freshly cooked bacon, etc
The other major disappointment was the absence of hot water between 6 and 7 pm. After a freezing walk , we really wanted a hot soak, but it was not to be. This is really unacceptable in a hotel of this standard (or indeed any standard).Tried to watch the TV (tiny and cheap) but due to byzantine complexity of the 2 remote control handpieces took ages to the channels, and then, no BBC1.
Bathroom clean, but again, circa 1980 fitments. Disappointed to find several cracked tiles and wonky loo seat,
All in all, a mixed experience and we would be unlikely to return especially at over £200 per night

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the dales
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrahamK215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews