We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hawes
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience”
Reviewed 29 March 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for one night and were captured by the place from the moment we arrived. We drove up to view the property at 11:30am and noticed a sign offering morning tea. When we mentioned that we were to spend the night the receptionist offered to check if our room was available and straight away checked us in before serving beautiful coffee and scones. We had reserved a superior room but due to an error on the reservation email we were upgraded to a luxury room which was amazing. The room was extremely large with comfortable chairs and a king size bed which was very comfortable. The view from the room over the Yorkshire Dales, much of which was covered with snow was superb. Our package included dinner bed and breakfast and the food and service by the waiter, who was originally from Transylvania, was first class. This is an amazing hotel with so much character and we would highly recommend it to those travellers looking for an unforgettable experience.

Room Tip: Room 14 is worth the extra with lovely afternoon sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William4599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    127
    47
    35
    12
See reviews for
76
299
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
251 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

A lovely approach out of Hawes upto the hotel. Nice welcome, very friendly staff. The Peroni on draught went down wonderfully well and the bar is set out well. Some lovely public rooms and our bedroom was very nice, spacious and stylish. The bed was a little past its best, but still got a decent nights sleep. The full english breakfast was lovely and a nice start to the day. Close by are the Aysgarth falls which are well worth a visit. Would definitely visit Simonstone Hall again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We stayed for just the Saturday night, based on having visited 9 months before for the wedding of a friend. As before the service was excellent and very friendly. We had a meal in the restaurant, which was very good, if a little expensive at £35 a head. We had a superior bedroom which included a four poster bed. The decor was fresh and relaxing with lots of space. The bed huge and comfortable. The en-suite modern and spotlessly clean. We would happy recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Lovely warm inviting hotel. Open fire in the cosy bar. Everywhere looked to be newly decorated and thoughtfully furnished. Food was excellent with a good choice and service first class. Our only negative comment would be that in our room 18 it had a lovely large bathroom but curiously no shower. Also rather hard lumpy mattress and also no dressing table mirror to sit at to dry hair. We would certainly have no qualms in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yetifan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Having booked and paid for a superior double room at a cost of £170 per night,in this hotel in the Yorkshire dales rural location for our wedding anniversary we were very disappointed to be given a room with a view of the hotels out buildings roofs and untidy farm yard which obliterated any scenic views,
We complained and was told they had no more rooms available.we were told by other guests that
Had we booked via groupon we could have received a 70% reduction,
We later checked groupon s web site and found the offer current until April 2013, the hotel stated this was a mistake and had been cancelled .

The evening meal was not very good,

all in all we give this hotel A BIG THUM'S DOWN

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before you part with you money. Do not pay in advance like I did for a superior...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Itsedwardw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gepspa, Public Relations Manager at Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are very disappointed that your experience at Simonstone Hall was not what we aim to deliver.
As I'm sure you can appriecate not all of our rooms have the fanastic view across the valley but we are in a lovely setting in the dales that offers scenic views the the rooms around the hotel.
We did a Groupon deal last year that expired on the 1st June 2012, this is the only deal the hotel have done through Groupon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north yorkshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We recently married at Simonstone Hall and it was everything we wanted for our day and night, the staff were fabulous, nothing was too much trouble. The choice of food we had was exceptional and the food itself on the day was top notch. The rooms are amazing and cleaned to the highest degree.
The location is great if you are lucky enough to get good weather and like a scenic backdrop for photo's. We fortunately were. All in all can definately recommend this venue to all, even if its just for sunday lunch.
Thank you to all the staff for making our day run so smoothly and making it a day to remember for all the right reasons.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kmac457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

No point repeating what others have said. Outstanding place. Brilliant food and good choice of drinks afternoon tea looks fab just my appetite is not big enough. Just had an amazing head and body massage at the Ginger Tree spa room attached for one and a half hours. Would highly recommend a visit

Room Tip: Go for the 2 day special offer and get a luxury room included
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Local_resident190818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawes
0.6 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
393 reviews
21.5 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
8.6 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
577 reviews
16.0 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
517 reviews
24.1 mi away
Burgoyne Hotel
Burgoyne Hotel
#1 of 2 in Reeth
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel

Property: Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
Address: Simonstone Hall Limited | Country House Hotel, Hawes, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3LY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Hawes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hawes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simonstone Hall, once home to Lord and Lady Wharncliff is set at the foot of Stags Fell with breathtaking Views over Upper Wensleydale, the River Ure and the foothills of the Pennine range. This magnificent country house, is privately owned and has been carefully restored, whilst preserving the historic character of the beautiful building. Standing in it's own splendid grounds, the view from the front of the hotel is surely one of the most stunning in the country and can e enjoyed from serveral of the bedrooms also.Simonstone Hall is the ultimate tranquil retreat; it's atmosphere exudes comfort and finery in equal measures. From the moment you arrive you feel welcomed and indulged. A grand staircase leads to the second floor where a selection of elegant hotel bedrooms can be found.Relaxing lounges with log fires provide the perfect haven to relax and unwind. With spectacular views from both the Brasserie and Four Fells restaurant, it's the perfect place to enjoy a relaxed or intimate dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simonstone Hall Country Hotel
Simonstone Hall Country Hawes
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel Hawes, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing