We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunchtime stop with kids”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hawes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We stopped here for lunch halfway along the wonderful walk from Hawes to Hardraw and back. Whilst the hotel has an air of formality about it, we were warmly welcomed and the food, for adults and children alike, was excellent. Whilst prices are, as one would expect, not the cheapest, that was offset by the quality of service and breathtaking setting. Will definitely be revisiting.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Jimbod01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (514)
There are newer reviews for Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

331 - 337 of 514 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2013

Me and my husband stayed 2 nights over Easter, everything was just fantastic our room had a great view over the Dales. You are also ok taking dogs in certain rooms which is great. We had dinner in the restaurant on both nights, what can I say the food was exceptional the staff could not do enough for you, they were always smiling.
Will definately be paying another visit to Simonstone Hall

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrendaC858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed at Simonstone Hall with 2 other couples, I have been passing this hotel for the last 40 yrs, have eaten, drunk and been to weddings there but never had the opportunity to stay overnight. So we decided to book with friends and have a nice long weekend and loved every minute.
The hotel is in a stunning location, lots of nice walks in the area and plenty of things to do, the grounds are stunning too and being able to sit out at the back and watch the new born lambs running around in the field next to the hotel was lovely.
We ate both nights in the brasserie, the food was nice although frozen chips in this kind of hotel was a little dissapointing, but you can't have everything I suppose !! Staff were extremely friendly on reception and in the bar / brasserie. We had a Dales Room (no 8) and were very impressed, the bathroom looked slightly dated and could do with modernisation but that is the only critisism. When we awoke on the first morning we made coffee, opened the curtains and laid in bed to soak up the magnificent view from this room.
I am so glad we booked this weekend, our friends loved it too and they all said they would love to return. We are already saving and planning our next trip to Simonstone Hall :)

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtf0508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, will be back. Good ambience, good food, interestingly decorated and clean rooms, friendly staff and excellent service. It really was that good. Unfortunately the weather was not good so couldn't explore outside but there was a good veranda where I could imagine sitting with a beer looking at the view of an evening. One of our party was disabled and the ground floor room was of a good design to help make the stay comfortable and the staff were always on hand to help his movement around the hotel. There we're a couple over very small mods. to the room that would made the room ideal but they really are minor. Thanks for a great stay

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobatfangfoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Just loved this hotel. Lived up to the expectation and hope I have the opportunity to stay again.
Room was lovely, with fabulous view. The staff were friendly, polite and professional.
The bar area was very warm and welcoming and the hotel had a nice atmosphere to it.
The food was delicous, and service excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for one night and were captured by the place from the moment we arrived. We drove up to view the property at 11:30am and noticed a sign offering morning tea. When we mentioned that we were to spend the night the receptionist offered to check if our room was available and straight away checked us in before serving beautiful coffee and scones. We had reserved a superior room but due to an error on the reservation email we were upgraded to a luxury room which was amazing. The room was extremely large with comfortable chairs and a king size bed which was very comfortable. The view from the room over the Yorkshire Dales, much of which was covered with snow was superb. Our package included dinner bed and breakfast and the food and service by the waiter, who was originally from Transylvania, was first class. This is an amazing hotel with so much character and we would highly recommend it to those travellers looking for an unforgettable experience.

Room Tip: Room 14 is worth the extra with lovely afternoon sun
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William4599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

A lovely approach out of Hawes upto the hotel. Nice welcome, very friendly staff. The Peroni on draught went down wonderfully well and the bar is set out well. Some lovely public rooms and our bedroom was very nice, spacious and stylish. The bed was a little past its best, but still got a decent nights sleep. The full english breakfast was lovely and a nice start to the day. Close by are the Aysgarth falls which are well worth a visit. Would definitely visit Simonstone Hall again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawes
0.6 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
410 reviews
21.5 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
8.6 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
604 reviews
16.0 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
549 reviews
24.1 mi away
Burgoyne Hotel
Burgoyne Hotel
#1 of 2 in Reeth
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel

Address: Simonstone Hall Limited | Country House Hotel, Hawes, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3LY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Hawes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hawes
Price Range: £114 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simonstone Hall, once home to Lord and Lady Wharncliff is set at the foot of Stags Fell with breathtaking Views over Upper Wensleydale, the River Ure and the foothills of the Pennine range. This magnificent country house, is privately owned and has been carefully restored, whilst preserving the historic character of the beautiful building. Standing in it's own splendid grounds, the view from the front of the hotel is surely one of the most stunning in the country and can e enjoyed from serveral of the bedrooms also.Simonstone Hall is the ultimate tranquil retreat; it's atmosphere exudes comfort and finery in equal measures. From the moment you arrive you feel welcomed and indulged. A grand staircase leads to the second floor where a selection of elegant hotel bedrooms can be found.Relaxing lounges with log fires provide the perfect haven to relax and unwind. With spectacular views from both the Brasserie and Four Fells restaurant, it's the perfect place to enjoy a relaxed or intimate dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simonstone Hall Country Hotel
Simonstone Hall Country Hawes
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel Hawes, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing