We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hawes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2008

We stayed here for our anniversary as it is close to where we live and we fancied treating ourselves without having to travel too far. The location is fabulous and the hotel has fantastic views. We had one of the 4 poster rooms which was spacious and attractively furnished. The bathroom could probably have done with updating but the shower was excellent so I was happy. We ate dinner in the hotel and the food was in the main, excellent, although my steak was rather fatty. The chef came out to speak to all the diners to ask if we had enjoyed our meals, and I did the typical English thing and said "yes thank you it was lovely" - I didn't mention the fatty steak!! Breakfast the next morning was more disappointing. It came on a plate swimming with cooking oil and the waitress forgot our coffee and it took ages for us to catch her to remind her. Overall, I loved the location and the room but was less impressed with the food (although my husband thought his dinner was fantastic).

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YorkshireWildgoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (526)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

505 - 511 of 526 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2008

Great hotel in amazing location, staff very friendly especially Nick in the bar. Room exceptionally clean and had everything you need for a lovely stay. Food well above average and the chef even comes out to say hello and to make sure all okay, which was rather nice. The only downside was being charged a service charge for breakfast, it does say a service charge for dining @10% which is fine, but you would think that breakfast would be free of the charge as booked B & B rate of £140 prpn.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Underhills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2008

Just returned from the hotel and had a very disappointing stay. The problem is the hotel website is brilliant and oversells the place.

Positives - great location, impressive property from the outside, mostly helpful staff, great website.

Negatives - dated decor, freezing bedroom (although a heater was quickly provided when we complained), average food, staff not always available, way overpriced compared with similar hotels we have stayed in, no atmosphere (hotel virtually empty), gratuity automatically added to the bill.

Our advice would be not to stay here - shop around, there are loads of hotels in this vicinity.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jacquelineroby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2008

My husband and I chose Simonstone Hall as a break away for my birthday and were a little concerned after reading some of the reviews, however our stay could not have been better! When we arrived we were greeted warmly by staff and shown the hotel before being taken to our room. Our room was traditional for this type of hotel, cosy and warm and very clean. The ensuite was comfortable the towels lovely and plenty of them and scalding hot water for bathing. We dined in the hotel both nights once in the resturant and once in the Orangery. On both occasions the meal was beautiful, the service very quick and very professional. The bar area had a very relaxed atmosphere (open fire) and although semi formal you could easily still feel at home in casual clothing. The bar was well stocked and not too highly priced for a hotel. The bar worker was extremely pleasant and she chatted to us making us feel very much relaxed and comfortable. The setting of the hotel is wonderful with magnificant views and well set gardens to sit in (weather permitting). In summery we had a lovely stay at this hotel and will certainly be visiting again.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amakr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2008

We stayed here at the recommendation of friends who have been on numerous occasions and as it was celebrating their birthday we wanted to "push the boat out". As we were a large party we negotiated a discounted price and that is the hotels saving grace. Our room was a Superior room with a small lounge with fireplace (didnt work) tv and coffee making facilities, and a sofa and chair that had room for half a buttocks each and very draughty!! The bathroom was tiny with the loo squashed in. The towels were balanced on the side of the bath and we had to put them on the floor before we got in. The bedroom area was lovely with a comfy bed with nice drapes and mullioned windows. BUT IT WAS FREEZING!! Luckily we had refused our friends offer of a pre weekend walk around the hills because when I filled my bath for a lovely soak it was only tepid. In january we expected something better especially for the price, even though it was discounted. Our room was also above the bar area and I retired at 12.15am whilst my fellow party goers continued downstairs. I couldnt hear every word but my sleep was disturbed. The food was nice although the choice limited. Service was good, and ambience was also nice. But I wasnt sleeping ion the public rooms and for these prices I expected warmth. Sorry to say a bit of a thumbs down and I have been to much better for a fraction of the price! Village hotel chain next time.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank janeyct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2007

I've never really bothered with these things before - but like the last reviewer felt we must also defend this wonderful place! We also stayed on a quiet night midweek in December - and couldn't have wished for a better place to stay. The welcome was more than warm and friendly (the manager checked us in too) and nothing was too much trouble. The food in the restaurant was excellent - good choices well presented. The rooms are fantastic with views to die for! The staff very obviously work together as a team - and the standard of service all round is excellent. We can't wait to go back again!

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blackmore7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2007

Our experience of Simonstone Hall couldn't have been more different to the previous reviewers'.

We decided to book our wedding at Simonstone Hall on a dark, wet Saturday in January this year. We found the hotel on the internet and, having not found another venue which met our requirements (and high standards) in a 70 mile radius of our home, arranged to call in. The welcome we received from the hotel's staff was warm and hospitable and Caroline, the hotel's manageress referred to in the previous review, could not have been more accomodating or helpful. The hotel's atmosphere was cosy and welcoming - exactly what we were looking for for our special day. We have since, with the tireless help and support of Caroline, arranged what we hope to be a very special wedding day.

We stayed at Simonstone in September in order to sample our wedding breakfast menu. The food was wonderful, the service excellent, the hotel was comfortable and clean (which is a make-or-break point for us), and the view from our window when we woke in the morning was breathtaking.

We are assured by Caroline that the departing chef has been replaced by one of a similarly high standard and we can't wait to return to Simonstone Hall, both for our wedding in January and other special occassions for many years to come.

Watch this space for a further review following our wedding.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thesmithsYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawes
0.6 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
429 reviews
15.8 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
618 reviews
21.5 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
566 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
18 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel

Address: Simonstone Hall Limited | Country House Hotel, Hawes, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3LY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Hawes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hawes
Price Range: £117 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simonstone Hall, once home to Lord and Lady Wharncliff is set at the foot of Stags Fell with breathtaking Views over Upper Wensleydale, the River Ure and the foothills of the Pennine range. This magnificent country house, is privately owned and has been carefully restored, whilst preserving the historic character of the beautiful building. Standing in it's own splendid grounds, the view from the front of the hotel is surely one of the most stunning in the country and can e enjoyed from serveral of the bedrooms also.Simonstone Hall is the ultimate tranquil retreat; it's atmosphere exudes comfort and finery in equal measures. From the moment you arrive you feel welcomed and indulged. A grand staircase leads to the second floor where a selection of elegant hotel bedrooms can be found.Relaxing lounges with log fires provide the perfect haven to relax and unwind. With spectacular views from both the Brasserie and Four Fells restaurant, it's the perfect place to enjoy a relaxed or intimate dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simonstone Hall Country Hotel
Simonstone Hall Country Hawes
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel Hawes, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing