We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Stone House Hotel(Hawes)
US$225
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$181
US$176
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
New Inn Hotel(Clapham)
US$242
US$194
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$164
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Traddock(Austwick)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (542)
Filter reviews
542 results
Traveller rating
293
141
56
39
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
293
141
56
39
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsluxury roommain restaurantwine cellarviews are stunningsunday lunchfour poster bedantique furnitureevening mealyorkshire dalesrelaxing staylarge roomlovely atmospherebooked a tablelovely weekendstayed for one nightfollowing morningbiscuits
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
298 - 303 of 542 reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We were looking for a short break to shake off the winter blues after Christmas.
We checked out a new of country house hotels in the area and thought Simonstone looked good value for money.

It was.

We stayed in room 7, honeymoon suite, with 4 poster bed. The room was spotless, they even invite you to look under the bed. There is a sign in the room. The views from the room were magnificent down the valley over looking the river and Hawes beyond.

We went on the BB and D package so every thing except drinks were included.

The hotel was vi ritually empty only 3 bedrooms occupied which meant the bar and restaurants were very quite. It was nice having the place to ourselves so as you would image the service was very attentive. Food was diff inversely acceptable. We have had better but definitely had a lot worse. Breakfast was as you would expect we had full English. Very tasty bacon and sausages cooked as we requested.

Location is good near to lots of waterfalls and the Wensleydale Cheese factory.

It was a very nice way to spend a January weekend and best of all the weather was great.

We worth a visit and good value.

Room Tip: Pay extra and go for a room with a view.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HollySK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

Stopped for a drink and a quick lunch the staff were very friendly and the drinks were perfect. The sandwich was fine if a little normal. The hotel seemed very clean and I would like to revisit one evening soon.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Sean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We arrived at the hotel at about 3pm on Christmas Eve for a three night Christmas Break. The outside temprature was 2 degrees c. The public areas seemed quite warm, unfortunately the tea & scones being served were minus the scones. When we were shown to our fairly large room the heating was not on and the room was very cold. We were informed that the heating was due to come on at 4pm. Other people arriving at about the same time were all complaining about the lack of heat in their rooms. The person in charge at that time agreed to put the heating on immediately, During the remaining time the heating was on most of the time ( except for the night), even then the bedroom was not particularly warm. At our request we were provided with a portable heater.
There was no attempt to get guests to mix together a quiz for example. The food was good but not exceptional. The cooked breakfast was very good but, could have been preceded with a greater choice of cereals and fresh fruit. The fresh fruit salad was adequate, but no grapefruit or orange slices as you would get at most budget hotels.

The buffet on Christmas night was ample but lacked imagination and if you didn't like gateau there appeared to be no other choice of dessert.

For the amount of money we paid the whole experience was disappointing.

Room Tip: Do not go in the winter .
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MALCOLM M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I stayed there 2 nights recently for a wedding, and we really enjoyed our stay. The room had a comfortable bed and a very nice shower. All the staff were friendly and accommodating, including the bartenders. The grounds are great! We walked down into town, which is probably just over a mile. It's not a bad walk. It would be nice if they could provide a shuttle service, but I understand that may be beyond their control.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Just back from a 2 day event, which Emma and the team organised around our plans. A great New Years Eve party night with DJ Wilko until the early hours followed by a gentle recovery day which included an excellent evening carvery. This is the second time we have booked the entire venue. Looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank simy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews