We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Curates Egg”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hawes
Certificate of Excellence
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
303 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Curates Egg”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

We were staying on the hotels dinner bed and breakfast deal. Breakfast was very good, service first class and well presented tasty food. Dinner was OK my pigeon starter and sea bream main course was fine but my wife was having a problem finding anything on the limited menu and soup and lamb were the only options she had both were prepared from good materials but were almost tasteless. Up to this point as our initial contact with reception and the lounge areas were good I would probably rate the stay as good BUT the room.
The size of both bedroom and bathroom were fine. The bedroom had a window with a first class view of a roof and there was a very bad area of damp under the window. The bedroom desperately needed general redecoration. The bathroom was worse the stone surround to the window had been painted and the paint was falling off and the glass was cracked. The room had been re-tiled which was good but where there were no tiles there were numerous damp areas. The door did not shut well. Added to all this despite all radiators being off the room was unbearably hot. It was not a good nights sleep. Reported all this to reception and filled the hotels comment form in. The response when I said that we had stayed before and it had been better then was that we were staying in a cheap room. Otherwise total disinterest it seems it was our fault.
The bill was a disaster zone of error after error which was resolved. I had to volunteer what we had had to drink as it was omitted from the bill. All that said it was not bad value but a decent nights sleep in a reasonably maintained room would have helped.

Room Tip: Avoid room 3 until it is renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank td2traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simonstonehall, General Manager at Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear td2traveller,
It was good to read that you thought that your stay was good value. We have taken note of the remarks, which you have made on the room and we hope to address this soon, once we have dealt with the cause. The room quality is not related to its price and there is no fault on your part. We would be more than pleased to welcome you back to our hotel and we would like to discuss then the room type, to ensure you a pleasant stay. It is sincerely appreciated that you have taken the time to write. Once you are thinking of a repeat stay, please do not hesitate to contact us. Looking forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    125
    47
    34
    12
See reviews for
74
297
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Frodsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Just spent 2 very enjoyable days at Simonstone. Our room was very spacious and clean and were able to take the dog! The food was excellent, we actually ate in the bar. The bar itself had a good selection of beers (and whiskies) not too expensive for a hotel. The grounds and patio are very pleasant. There are plenty of good walks around the hotel or further afield, Hawes is a good place to sit and enjoy a coffee or beer.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simonstonehall, General Manager at Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear David W,

Thank you for taking the time to write on Tripadvisor, a concise listing of what you and the dog enjoyed. When you are passing again, please do not hesitate to contact us. Depending on our vacancies, I am sure we will be able to accommodate you (and the dog).
Kind regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel in beautiful surroundings. Staff were very helpful though not particularly knowledgable. Don't bother with the food though, over priced and poorly cooked. Had much better food in Hawes and in the nearby Green Dragon pub. Shame really because the whole package could be exceptional. I would stay here again but I wouldn't eat.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank HMC1926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simonstonehall, General Manager at Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear HMC 1926,

It is a shame that the stay was partially successful. At the same time it is good to read that you would like to come again. However, I would like to invite you to try us again on the food side. The pricing in our Brasserie is a competitive one in the area, in relation to its offering and the attractive environment we serve it in. If the restaurant menu is too formal, perhaps try the Brasserie. Give it another go and test us again. Please do hesitate to contact us when you are planning another stay in our Dales.

Kind regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

We had a lovely two nights at Simonstone. The Dale room we had looked out onto fields and the bed was very comfortable. We had a couple of minor issues which were quickly addressed by the very pleasant and helpful staff. Although the bathroom was in need of a little tlc it was clean and there was plenty of hot water and the shower was powerful. We had two fantastic breakfasts and evening meals and again the staff were pleasant and attentive.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BuzzyBea_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simonstonehall, General Manager at Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear BuzzyBea_12,

When you stay in a hotel and minor issues happen, it is good to read that we responded in a correct and appropriate way to your remarks. Within our team we like to accommodate our guests where possible. Thank you for making the effort to write on Tripadvisor, we appreciate this. When you are thinking of returning to the Dales, please do not hesitate to give us a call.

Kind regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Only stayed one night but wish it had been more ... Lovely spacious room with great views. Staff were great especially the lady on reception. Ate at the brasserie and the food was top notch, and breakfast was great too... Can't recommend enough for a couples getaway

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simonstonehall, General Manager at Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Dawn M,

We can make the wish come true in the future! You contact us, let us know your date(s), we check and it could be sorted as quickly as that. The wish accomplished! If there are any obstacles at your end in achieving that, please do not hesitate to contact us, we might be able to help, just to achieve that goal. Thank you for writing on Tripadvisor.

Kind regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymm
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

We have just had a wonderful 2 night break at Simonstone Hall. This was our first stay here and we will certainly return. We found all the staff welcoming and friendly and service all round was excellent. Our room was splendid,, spacious and warm with the most comfortable bed and excellent views across the Dales. Breakfast was of a very high standard with a good choice. We had dinner both nights and our choices of food was really excellent apart from the waffles and caramelised banana - no sign of caramel and the waffle was like a piece of cardboard !) but we would highly recommend Simonstone if you need a break to recharge the batteries in a wonderful country house set amongst beautiful countryside.

Room Tip: Room 6 - spacious with excellent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieLymm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simonstonehall, General Manager at Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear AnnieLymm,

Returning customers are very important to us and it is good to read that you intend to do so. The remarks on the food we have taken on board and we have made the necessary menu changes, as we have every intention to do the right thing, at any time. So, when the batteries get low (or just before!), please give us a call and we hope that we can welcome you back to the Hall.

Kind regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

We spent three nights here and had booked three of the standard rooms. We enjoyed our stay very much. Service was very attentive and the food was super. Breakfast was especially good although a little slow in service one morning. Dinner in the restaurant on two nights was very good and the service was outstanding. Of the three rooms, two were very acceptable but the third rather cramped and cold with a handheld shower and no shower screen. We were provided with a portable heater but it was still not as warm as we would have liked or the rest of the hotel. We were a little belatedly offered a room change but by then we felt we could put up with it. Lovely stay overall but would suggest that the bathroom to Room 18 be upgraded and the heating checked. Wifi very weak in much of the hotel. Good value package.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahajtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simonstonehall, General Manager at Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Ahajtrip,

Thank you for writing about your stay at Simonstone Hall. We have taken note of your constructive remarks. We do however have 4 categories of rooms. Perhaps next time, if possible, we could try to accommodate with more comparable rooms, within the category. The rooms however are all so different, which is a great feature and can make matching up challenging. Please do not hesitate to contact us again when you are in the area.

Kind regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawes
0.6 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
21.5 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
8.6 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
24.1 mi away
Burgoyne Hotel
Burgoyne Hotel
#1 of 2 in Reeth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
16.0 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel

Property: Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
Address: Simonstone Hall Limited | Country House Hotel, Hawes, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3LY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Hawes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hawes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simonstone Hall, once home to Lord and Lady Wharncliff is set at the foot of Stags Fell with breathtaking Views over Upper Wensleydale, the River Ure and the foothills of the Pennine range. This magnificent country house, is privately owned and has been carefully restored, whilst preserving the historic character of the beautiful building. Standing in it's own splendid grounds, the view from the front of the hotel is surely one of the most stunning in the country and can e enjoyed from serveral of the bedrooms also.Simonstone Hall is the ultimate tranquil retreat; it's atmosphere exudes comfort and finery in equal measures. From the moment you arrive you feel welcomed and indulged. A grand staircase leads to the second floor where a selection of elegant hotel bedrooms can be found.Relaxing lounges with log fires provide the perfect haven to relax and unwind. With spectacular views from both the Brasserie and Four Fells restaurant, it's the perfect place to enjoy a relaxed or intimate dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simonstone Hall Country Hotel
Simonstone Hall Country Hawes
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel Hawes, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing