We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hawes
Certificate of Excellence
YORK
Level Contributor
78 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Very comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2007

We stayed here for two nights at half term and had a very comfortable stay in one of the deluxe rooms which was very spacious, with antique furniture and a superb view. Although we got the room at a slightly reduced rate as it was quite a late booking, so shouldn’t really find fault, we didn’t expect at that price to find that the wallpaper was a little grubby in places, no box of tissues and the kettle needed to be put on the floor to be plugged in, and it would have been nice to have had some real plants rather than the plastic/silk ones with which the hotel was filled, from ‘rubber plants’ to imitation specimen orchids in pots which required special stands – really naff! Also, having one long bolster is never convenient – who on earth prefers those to a couple of pillows? Fortunately, there were plenty of cushions to supplement the lack of more pillows.

We ate in the Orangery the first night (my meal was good, his was OK) then the second night, in the restaurant where the food was delicious, the service friendly, music good etc (the music in the bar got stuck on the same track for about an hour!) The cooked breakfast was great; there was also cereal and fruit, although as I’m not keen on having the two together, I would have welcomed some yogurt with my fruit.

As my partner had a broken bone and the weather was appalling, we stayed indoors and lazed around and the lounge was a very comfortable place to do this in although it was rather chilly, in fact the whole place could have done with being a bit warmer. We wanted to order some tea mid-afternoon having not needed any lunch after such a substantial breakfast, and asked at reception, only to be sent to the bar where they were busy with a delivery, so they sent us back to reception! Not a big problem, but even at the reduced price we were expecting perfect luxury, so it was a little disappointing.

I would recommend staying here as it is such a great getaway, but I’m not sure the top priced rooms are worth quite as much as they charge for them, given the various factors mentioned above.

  • Liked — Spacious
  • Disliked — Plastic plants
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VisitorsfromYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    125
    47
    34
    12
See reviews for
74
297
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2007

We knew as soon as we walked into Simonstone Hall for the first time that it would be the perfect venue for our forthcoming wedding. The location is stunning and the hotel has a wonderfully relaxed and cosy ambiance - exactly what we were looking for!
From the outset, we were promised that "nothing would be too much trouble" and over the weekend itself, they were certainly true to their word. The management, wedding co-ordinator and staff could not have been more friendly and attentive, making ourselves and our guests feel very welcome.
The rooms are luxurious and each has its own unique character - all spotlessly clean too (although, being hyper-critical, a couple are looking a little jaded). The choice and quality of the food surpassed our expectations and was served to over 40 guests, fresh and piping hot - no mean feat for any kitchen.
We took the opportunity to book the entire hotel for our guests which created a great "house-party" atmosphere but we had been equally impressed on a prior visit when just the two of us stayed.
We had many compliments back from our guests on our choice of venue (some of whom are not easy to please) - well done Simonstone Hall... thank you and see again you soon.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Tips/Secrets — Give yourserlves time to take in the spectacular views en route to the hotel
  • Stayed October 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AuntieGrantie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Bucks
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2007

I have stayed in -- and visited -- many hotels similar to this and have never experienced the problems encountered when my family and I took afternoon tea. Having telephoned to check availability we duly arrived and made ourselves comfortable, only to be told that the room in which we were sitting was "residents only" and that we would have to move. This was despite there being no notice to this effect nor comment from the staff.

The hotel should never have allowed the mistake to arise, but once it had should have bent over backwards to make us feel welcome. In fact we were given a rather lame excuse about staff "having been on holiday" (whatever difference that should have made) and made to feel almost as though the mistake was ours.

This was foolish because one of the very reasons for taking tea was to determine whether we might stay at the hotel. My sister's husband happens to be the local minister, who was among our number (complete with dog-collar).

Whatever one's views about lounges for residents only (I feel this smacks rather of a seedy guest-house but others would no doubt disagree), we will not be returning.

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2006

Enjoyed our stay in Simonstone hall. Again, it was a long journey from Wales, and we had issues on the major motorways with traffic jams, so arriving in time to have dinner was a godsend. The hotel looks very olde worlde, however inside, they have converted one of the rooms to a pub and it is very homely and comfortable. We enjoyed our meal - not gourmet, but still enjoyed it. We had the Dales room, which was ok.

  • Liked — Nice homely feel
  • Disliked — Room was a little nondescript
  • Tips/Secrets — Hawes is a lovely little place - visit Wensleydale Creamery
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovvers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham,England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2006

Myself and my husband have just returned from an overnight stay at Simonstone Hall. All i can say is that we're over the moon, our double deluxe four poster room was absolutely beautiful! The room was very big and most beautifully dressed with antique furniture and an ernormous four poster bed. The bathroom was just as nice with a huge cast iron tub with a piping hot water supply! The lounge and bar area and the hotel in general just have so much character it was just one of the nicest places i have ever stayed. We booked on a dinner bed and breakfast rate and weren't disappointed by the food,the evening meal was top notch and the breakfast was a real treat too. I cannot say enough about this place-i discovered it after hours trawling the internet when out first choice of country house/hotel was full-i'm so glad i did-the old place won't get a look in, we'll back to Simonstone Hall for sure!!

  • Liked — Everything-it was perfect!!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Try the afternoon tea,we didn't get the chance but it looked divine!
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachntex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2006

We stayed for 2 nights recently in this hotel. A beautiful location and a wonderful huge room. Plus the dinner on both nights was very good indeed. The service was unobtrusive and quick and very friendly. This is not a place that pretends to give 5 star luxury - but I would certainly say it was 4 in terms of the rooms, food and location even if the public rooms could do with a bit of a refresh - a lovely unpretentious place to stay and extremely good value - we enjoyed it far better than the Devonshire Arms in Bolton Abbey

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SueCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holmfirth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2004

My husband and I recently spent 2 nights at the Simonstone Hall Hotel. The hotel was beautiful - it managed to retain an air of old fashioned charm whilst at the same time was modern and contemporary. It is also set in a stunning location. The staff were polite and attentive - nothing was too much trouble for them. As for the food - well, lets just say that my mouth is watering at the thought of it!!

Without doubt I would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jollybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawes
0.6 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
21.5 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
8.6 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
24.1 mi away
Burgoyne Hotel
Burgoyne Hotel
#1 of 2 in Reeth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
16.0 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel

Property: Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
Address: Simonstone Hall Limited | Country House Hotel, Hawes, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3LY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Hawes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hawes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simonstone Hall, once home to Lord and Lady Wharncliff is set at the foot of Stags Fell with breathtaking Views over Upper Wensleydale, the River Ure and the foothills of the Pennine range. This magnificent country house, is privately owned and has been carefully restored, whilst preserving the historic character of the beautiful building. Standing in it's own splendid grounds, the view from the front of the hotel is surely one of the most stunning in the country and can e enjoyed from serveral of the bedrooms also.Simonstone Hall is the ultimate tranquil retreat; it's atmosphere exudes comfort and finery in equal measures. From the moment you arrive you feel welcomed and indulged. A grand staircase leads to the second floor where a selection of elegant hotel bedrooms can be found.Relaxing lounges with log fires provide the perfect haven to relax and unwind. With spectacular views from both the Brasserie and Four Fells restaurant, it's the perfect place to enjoy a relaxed or intimate dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simonstone Hall Country Hotel
Simonstone Hall Country Hawes
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel Hawes, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing