We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hawes
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Totally Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2010

My beautiful niece and her wonderful husband got married here this weekend and i can honestly say it was one of the best weekends in my life. Firstly the rooms are amazing especially room 4 what we had which has amazing views of the dales so much so i got up early just to sit and admire the view. 13 of us dined on Friday night and all had a lovely meal especially my Pork. The lounges and bar are very comfortable. On the day of the wedding everything we asked from the staff was no problem and they all work so hard to make this hotel fantastic. The wedding meal was delicious and everyone enjoyed it. Top class hotel in beautiful location. Big thank you to Emma the wedding planner. She is so friendly and made us so welcome. Excellent.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharonbooth1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    125
    47
    34
    12
See reviews for
74
297
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
north yorkshire england
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2010

We chose this hotel to host my father's 80th birthday party.
4 of us arrived on the Friday, we were met by lovely staff at the reception and were shown to very clean and large rooms. We had booked into the resturant for dinner and were blown away by the lovely atmosphere, food and standard of service that we recieved.
On the Saturday we had booked the Hunt Room to host the party for 20 people and we were again amazed by the service that we recieved. The staff working behind the scenes must have worked extremely hard for us to have such a remarkable evening
To the all the staff I must say a BIG THANK YOU from me and all my family who had traveled from all over the UK and we will be coming back soon

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whitbyuk57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buxton
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2010

A last minute booking made through Johansens for a short break with my husband and son. A very comfortable and welcoming hotel with lovely and spotlessly clean rooms and en-suites. Very nice bar area and a smart dining room. We ate in the bar one night and really enjoyed the food - locally sourced and beautifully presented. For our last night we ate in the restaurant and enjoyed a 5 course dinner which was delicious, very good wine list and not too expensive. Would definately recommend this hotel, we enjoyed our stay very much, especially as the hotel is in such a lovely location, 5 minutes from Hawes and with easy access to many beautiful locations within the Yorkshire Dales National Park.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2010

We had a one night stay in July attending the Hardraw Gathering at the Green Man pub some distance down the hill. The hotel has a beautiful location and our bedroom, whilst quite "compact" had the benefit of a beautiful view across to Hawes and the dales beyond.
Simonstone Hall is, for the most part, a lovely hotel. The staff are great and do their utmost to please. Check in was professional and caring and our dinner in the evening consisted of first class food and great service. Our overnight stay was peaceful and the bed was very very comfortable.
Two drawbacks however. Breakfast was shambolic. We, like everyone else, waited around 45 minutes to have our food delivered. It's not the end of the world and when it arrived it was piping hot and good but.....45 minutes is a little too long. Secondly the beautiful patio at the back of the hotel really needs a good gardener to get the planting sorted out. At some point someone has spent some time and attention on this however - it's over-run with weeds now and just detracts from what, on the whole, is a lovely vista.
Would I recommend this hotel? Absolutely. It must be a nightmare catering to everyone's needs and for 99% of the time the Simonstone Hall get it right. It has a fantastic location and offers, on balance, great value for money. Just a centimeter or two more and this place has the true WOW factor.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Huntershipley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2010

Made booking clearly stating I was attending a wedding nearby and booking was readily taken. Checked in and when I left they took my room key and asked me to call with an expected arrival time that night which seemed a reasonable request. When I called I was told that my planned tome of return (1am) was inconvenient although someone would be there to see me in. When I arrived at 12.45 there were no members of staff and although I have a room booked I am writing this review having had to move some furniture in the lounge area around as I cannot get access to my room. No phones in the hotel (apart from in the rooms!!!) and no mobile reception mean I am here for the night and have a 4 hour drove ahead of me tomorrow - not pleased.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lors51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2010

We thought this hotel was lovely - we wish we'd booked a room overlooking the Dales, although the view we had from the front of the hotel was good. The breakfasts were fine and we thought the dinners were fab! Good choice, well presented and very tasty. Staff were extremely helpful, friendly and efficient. Shame about the failure of the water supply... maybe a back-up plan would be a good idea for the future?

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clydemum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2010

Simonstone Hall came to us well recommended by friends and family, and there is no doubt it has all the potential to be a wonderful place to stay. True, the reception rooms are a little "lived in", and the bedrooms might not be to everyone's taste (and it would be nice to have something other than the lino-like covering on the bathroom floor, given that the floorboards are a bit noisy), but the views are fantastic and you could forgive it all as part of the authentic atmosphere of a Victorian shooting lodge. All the staff we came across was helpful and individually seemed to be trying to do their best. But, and it's a big BUT, as an ensemble the delivery didn't impress.

How do you run out of "Black Sheep" half way through Easter (the only proper beer in the bar)? If you order "filter coffee" and it turns up in a cafetiere, you might at least expect coffee grounds in the bottom of the pot (they'd poured it out of the urn!). Oh dear!

The issue was at its most well defined in the restaurant. Breakfast was not impressive: no fruit, just cereals, out on the serve-yourself table, and juice that tasted as if it were made from concentrate; we asked for fruit - when it reluctantly came, it has obviously come from the fridge; croissants were either cooked to a frazzle or still half-cooked and doughy inside. But it was the dinners that were least satisfactory. Stuff that should have been easy to get right might or might not be cooked properly (e.g. steaks might arrive leathery). And much of the fancier stuff was curiously contrived - in fact if it were not for the assurance on the menu that all ingredients were locally sourced etc., etc., you might have been excused for thinking that these meals had arrived at the hotel in boxes in a lorry.

We had an Easter dinner - bed - and breakfast deal, which had been sufficiently attractive in the first place for us not to feel cheated - but our advice would be to skip the evening meals and eat elsewhere in Hawes.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike_in_orchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SH4, Manager at Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2010
We are very disappointed at your recent review of Simonstone Hall. However we take on board all points raised by our valued patrons so we may continue to provide the highest standards for our guests. The fruit for breakfast is freshly delivered daily in a refrigerated vehicle which would explain why you suspected it had come straight from the fridge, and we are most disappointed with the suggestion that all meals might arrive in boxes. All our food is cooked to order using only the finest locally sourced produce. Had these points been raised at the time of your stay we would have only been too happy to rectify your concerns, The black sheep had sold out and we did have another barrel delivered but , as I'm sure you're aware, real ales need time to settle before serving, So we would like to apologise for no Black sheep ready. As a valued customer of Simonstone Hall, your opinion is of the utmost importance to us and I thankyou for raising your concerns. I sincerely hope that you will once again visit Simonstone Hall Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawes
0.6 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
21.5 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
8.6 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
24.1 mi away
Burgoyne Hotel
Burgoyne Hotel
#1 of 2 in Reeth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
16.0 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel

Property: Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
Address: Simonstone Hall Limited | Country House Hotel, Hawes, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3LY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Hawes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hawes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simonstone Hall, once home to Lord and Lady Wharncliff is set at the foot of Stags Fell with breathtaking Views over Upper Wensleydale, the River Ure and the foothills of the Pennine range. This magnificent country house, is privately owned and has been carefully restored, whilst preserving the historic character of the beautiful building. Standing in it's own splendid grounds, the view from the front of the hotel is surely one of the most stunning in the country and can e enjoyed from serveral of the bedrooms also.Simonstone Hall is the ultimate tranquil retreat; it's atmosphere exudes comfort and finery in equal measures. From the moment you arrive you feel welcomed and indulged. A grand staircase leads to the second floor where a selection of elegant hotel bedrooms can be found.Relaxing lounges with log fires provide the perfect haven to relax and unwind. With spectacular views from both the Brasserie and Four Fells restaurant, it's the perfect place to enjoy a relaxed or intimate dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simonstone Hall Country Hotel
Simonstone Hall Country Hawes
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel Hawes, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing