We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cracking cheese Grommit”
Review of 1897 Coffee Shop

1897 Coffee Shop
Ranked #1 of 2 Coffee & Tea in Hawes
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible
Malton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cracking cheese Grommit”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

We stopped here after a walk. In need of sustenance. I had the cheese on toast Karen the quiche. Both very good. Coffee was excellent to. Stopped by in the shop after and bought cheese.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    28
    4
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Horncastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Yummy cheese on toast”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Great café at Wensleydale Creamery in Hawes, friendly staff, reasonably priced snacks, well worth a visit.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JanF50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A very good place to shop”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

This coffee shop has a lovely selection of cakes and snacks. I love the fruit cake and Wensledale cheese and cup of Yorkshire tea. What could be better on a cold October day, all served by very friendly staff.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
117 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Best coffee shop in Wensleydale”
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

Perhaps not surprisingly Wensleydale isn't really a hot spot for coffee shops. It's more of a tea shop area. However this place is great and I can hardly ever resist stopping here when I'm in Hawes. Normally I'd think the creamery (where it is located) is a bit too touristy and 'cheesy'. But this is a nice modern and stylish place with views over the dale and good coffee. Not surprisingly (as the home of Wensleydale cheese) the cheesecake is also some of the best there is. I just wish they'd have a bit more variety in the flavours. They only do ginger. But it is very nice. Definately the place to go in Wensleydale if you're craving a coffee.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jangala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good coffee shop”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Good selection of different quality tea/coffee with decent selection of cakes. the staff were friendly.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Southcroft66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 1897 Coffee Shop also viewed

Hawes, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Hawes, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 
Hawes, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Hawes, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 

Been to 1897 Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing