We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our second visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stone House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stone House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hawes
Certificate of Excellence
stoke on trent
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Our second visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

We stayed for 4 nights at Easter, again. I reviewed the hotel this time last year and little has changed apart from the weather being slightly warmer this year! Superb staff, good food, comfortable rooms, relaxed atmosphere, other guests friendly, lovely setting, Still my favourite hotel in this country.

Room Tip: Book well in advance at Easter and other peak times if you want a choice of rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StokeOnTrentGemini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    68
    13
    4
    1
See reviews for
48
239
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saint-Josse-ten-Noode, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

Lovely hotel with good dining and relaxing areas. Not cheap but worth the money - except for the bedrooms. We booked two "with good views" which fortunately for us were provided not by the landscape but the temporary presence of many lambs frolicking in the field just outside the windows. As city folk that charmed us. The newish bedrooms did not. The standard of building and materials used were cheap and poor. We heard all our neighbours coming and going all night. The bathrooms have very cheap kit and made us decide to skip using them. The real pain is that on leaving the next day we popped into the old front bedrooms and they were delightful with poster beds and furniture inline with the décor and construct of the rest of this lovely hotel. Dear Owners it really is worth investing in improving the "new" bedrooms as the rest of the experience could make this a destination in its own right.

Room Tip: Avoid all but the old front rooms with four poster beds. Worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fredo f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeeves11, Manager at Stone House Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Thank you for your review, and I am glad you enjoyed your stay. However please accept my apologies if certain aspects of the room were not to your satisfaction. We are currently in the process of redecorating all our rooms, including new furniture in many and I am sorry if you feel that your room could have done with it sooner. The only part of the review that we do take a slight exception to is the part where you mentioned "cheap and poor materials" and "cheap bathroom kit". I can guarantee you that this is not the case. We have replaced many of our bathrooms recently (and plan to do more this year), and they have been done at great expense. We never cut corners to try and save money on such things and always make sure that any works are built to last. We would very much like you to come back to Stone House (perhaps staying in one of our Four Poster rooms or our Suite if you require a better view) so that we can demonstrate how we take pride in the appearance and feel of all our rooms. Thank you again for you review, and we hope to see you back at Stone House at some point in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

I stayed art the Stone House, during a recent Hiking vacation, the location is perfect for a casual country stroll to the local Green Dragon Inn and the Hardaw Force Waterfall ( think Kevin Costner Robin Hood Price of Thieves). For the more committed Hikers there are numerous day hike choices, from strenuous hills to the less so valley trails. Bolton Castle is close by, famous for a former "resident" Mary Queen of Scots, it is somewhat damaged but open to the public, and from the high castle walls are superb views of the Wensleydale, which explains why such a commanding location was chosen. During my stay the weather was shall we say a little cold, however after a day hiking, the several log fires back at the hotel were something to look forward to, just relax in one of the leather chairs, to read or snooze as the mood takes you. The staff are terrific,helpful and friendly in the most traditional Yorkshire way. Not a budget hotel, but excellent value for money, food in the restaurant is of a very high standard, it is changed daily and offers wide choice of very well prepared dishes. This is truly a get away from it all relaxing hotel, where the staff operate on the premise that nothing is too much trouble to ensure you the perfect stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidK41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

Just spent a wonderful weekend up in the Dales topped off by a stay in a lovely hotel. The Stone House Hotel is just outside Hawes with wonderful views over the valley. The staff at the hotel are refreshingly friendly and have time for all the customers to make sure their stay is the best it can be. Excellent food finished with the best cheese board, portions that would please all and a relaxing atmosphere completes the package. Made our anniversary special and will be back.

Room Tip: We had the 4 poster and was lovely spacious room with very comfy bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thinker7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

This is a bespoke hotel 1.2 miles from the center of the village of Hawes. The views of the Dales are exceptional, as is the service and food. The hotel itself is traditional for the area and we would certainly stay here again. Another plus point is that it is pretty cental for sightseeing attractions including the 'must visit' Wensleydale Cheese Factoy.

Room Tip: We've had a room in the main hotel & the annex. Both are comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

This is our second visit to Stone House, having first discovered this place 3 years ago.
We stayed in a suite with a separate entrance from the main hotel and the room is beautifully appointed with plenty of space to relax. The hotel is in the process of altering this room with the addition of a new bathroom, and when we arrived we were told that they would reduce the room rate to compensate for this work even though there was no inconvenience caused.
I love this Hotel, there is a great relaxed atmosphere and nothing is too much trouble for the staff.
Décor in the reception rooms is a throw back to a 1930's Miss Marple story, with comfy chairs and sofas, open fires and scores of pictures, books and ornaments. In particular look out for the caricature sketches, in the bar area, of past guests of the Hotel.
Hopefully the character of this Hotel will NOT change. They have got everything right.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wiggy100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

We have just returned from a few nights break at the Stonehouse; this must be our sixth or seventh time there so I think you can tell that we like it. Many of the other guests have been there before too; on this visit we met a gentleman who has been going there for twenty years. A lot of the staff at the Stonehouse have been there for years as well. This is a good sign, as establishments that have a high turnover of staff tend not to be happy places. The Stonehouse is well situated on the side of the dale, overlooking the market town of Hawes and with lovely views up and down Wensleydale. Even the air seems better there!
The food is excellent, the breakfast being particularly good. The rooms have been recently refurbished and are clean and comfortable. All in all it is a warm, welcoming hotel in a beautiful part of the world that offers excellent value for money and before too long, I have no doubt that we will be returning again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawes
15.7 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
20.9 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
16.0 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Board Inn
The Board Inn
#12 of 23 in Hawes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone House Hotel

Property: Stone House Hotel
Address: Stone House Sedbusk, Hawes, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3PT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Hawes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hawes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Stone House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stone House is a classic Edwardian country house hotel and restaurant overlooking the market town of Hawes deep in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales National Park. With 24 quality en-suite bedrooms, delicious food, oak paneled lounges with log-fires, library with billiard table,and a dream location, Stone House is the perfect location for a relaxing break in the Dales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Stone House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Hotel Hawes
Stone House Hotel Hawes, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing