We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Stone House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stone House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hawes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We booked one night in a Standard Double Room at The Stone House Hotel based on reviews and photographs. We arrived to see the beautiful exterior and received a warm welcome. Unfortunately, we were then extremely disappointed to be allocated a very small room (which, in comparison to the others on the website, we would describe as a box room) with a 4'6" bed (No. 16). A 5' bed would not have fitted as the two bedside tables alongside the bed completely filled the width between the room walls. Although the bathroom fitments appeared new, the decoration of the room was quite inferior, with wallpaper coming adrift.
In addition, the room appeared to be above the hotel kitchen from which there was noise and voices until 11.00pm and then again from 7.00am.
On the plus side, breakfast in the dining room was served with smiles and was of very good quality.
Unfortunately, we did not have the opportunity to voice our disappointment as we were anticipating the usual 'We hope you enjoyed your stay? / Was everything ok for you?' on our departure.
The £135 charge for room and breakfast was, we feel, very high for the standard of this room. As we said, very disappointing.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Raycasse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeeves11, Owner at Stone House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

It is always disappointing when a guest leaves unhappy, especially when you try very hard to do the best you can. In difficult economic times, when money is particularly tight for everybody, poor reviews by "Expert Travel Reviewers" can do a great deal of harm, particularly when there are so many incorrect points. I personally asked you if you had a good time, and if everything was ok, You made no comment. Yes some of our rooms are smaller than others, this is made very clear on our web site, and on- going improvements are a continuous process. If some things were not quite right I apologise, but we would have been much happier to hear of any issues directly from you while you were here. Then they could have been sorted on the spot, We pride ourselves on our personal, friendly service, and always, as mentioned try our very hardest. Reviews like this are hurtful, untrue, and do not reflect who, or what we are.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (412)
There are newer reviews for Stone House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

278 - 284 of 412 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2013

We loved this place, it was in a picturesque area of the Yorkshire Dales. The village of Hawes which was about 5 minutes drive was a lovely place to explore. The hotel provided a cosy and homely base to explore the Dales. The rooms were large and comfortable. The breakfast was excellent. The whole hotel was overwhelmingly charming and well run. The rooms had a kettle and access to a communal fridge that contained fresh milk and bottled water. There is plenty of on sight parking. Dogs are permitted at this hotel and sometimes there was a lingering smell of wet dog.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BTS_29er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We stayed here as a family of 4 with 2 rooms and chose the hotel because of excellent reviews and the fact that we could bring our Labrador. We stayed in mid-April when there was still plenty of snow around and whilst it was cold outside, the welcome could not have been warmer. We had a standard room for the children which was fairly plain but had everything you could need and the adults went for the four-poster room which is absolutely beautiful with great views.

They made the dog extremely welcome and it was allowed in most parts of the hotel except where food is served. They even have a walled dog exercise area next to the car park.

The hotel is very well positioned being a very pretty 30 minute walk into the market town of Hawes or a 5-10 minute drive.

Breakfast was high quality Yorkshire food with great sausages and bacon.We had a large family dinner in the evening and they looked after us very well. I would classify the food as 'posh Yorkshire' i.e. good portions, locally sourced, well cooked but not too fancy.

All in all a wonderful hotel, only a shame we didn't stay for longer. We will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tree888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We stayed only one night at this hotel en route to the Lake District, but wish we could have stayed longer. The public rooms are charming and welcoming. Although we stayed in one of the smaller guest rooms, it was attractive and well furnished. The bathroom was smallish but had all the necessary ingredients. The location, only a lovely one-mile walk from Hawes, would have been ideal for hiking in the area. Our dinner was very good and breakfast the next morning--included in the room price--offered an amazing number of choices. Best of all was the outstanding service-with-a-smile from everyone we encountered. Special commendations to Josh who went out of his way to be friendly and accommodating. The only flaw, and it was a small one, was a temperamental shower, which may well be fixed by the time this review appears.

Room Tip: If you book one of the less expensive rooms, make sure that you get one of the refurbished ones.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Having stayed at this hotel many many times over the last few years and being a member of the ever growing Stone house family of ever returning clientele I am starting to run out of superlatives to describe the place
The welcome as always is genuinely warm the food is a culinary experience the breakfast is beautiful and I although We do our best never manage to quite finish the excellent dinners
A special thank you to the wonderful staff who really do go the extra mile and can't do enough for you particularly this weekend when we spent the weekend celebrating our Wedding Anniversary they were wonderful
Hotel is located over looking the village of Hawes and is an ideal base for touring if you are a walker it's Heaven already booked up for September which can't come quick enough

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank 540PeterS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

The booking engine messed up our booking, and apparently the room we requested wasn't available. Fortunately the hotel was checking and rang me to advise: they were so helpful and friendly we went with the smaller room anyway.
As it happened, it was fine, but smaller than other rooms. However the large bathroom, warm welcome, excellent food and comfortable public rooms more than made up for it. It was like staying in your own house, with someone else looking after you (how I wish...). The other guests were friendly too, exchanging tips on walks in the area. We chose the hotel because it accepts dogs, and it couldn't have been more helpful....although our dog must have recognised she was staying in a 5-star establishment, as she too rose to the occasion.
We have booked to return next year as I couldn't think another hotel could be so perfect for bank holiday weekend, even with the rain, and am not about to look for one.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Really attractive and motorcycle friendlyish hotel - we say ish as though has superb secure bike barn, it's up an evil steep gravel drive (enough said). Also not made to feel that welcome initially in leathers, however, once changed so to did the tude! Amazing.

Rooms were very well provided for and extremely clean. Breakfast had a great selection with friendly staff serving. Can't comment on dinner as didn't eat here, strolled down into Hawes itself which took about 15 minutes.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeeves11, Manager at Stone House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

Thank you for your review. I am very glad you enjoyed the majority of your stay, but would just like to clear up a couple of points regarding motorbikes. I apologise if you felt that anyone treated you differently when wearing leathers, but I can assure you with complete confidence that we are 100% biker friendly. The managers are extremely keen bikers and are currently attempting to attract other bike riders to use our new facilities. Not one single member of staff who works for us is anti-bike, in fact many enjoy having a look at all the different machines which turn up. Secondly, I do feel that your comment regarding the "steep gravel drive" is not accurate at all and could be misleading. The "steep part" of the driveway is all concreted, and only becomes gravel once the flat part of the car park is reached. We also make sure that it is regularly swept to avoid any gravel from becoming a problem. Like I said, we regularly ride our motorcycles to work, so would not stand for any dangerous obstacles such as that. Again, I am glad that you enjoyed the majority of your stay, and we would very much like to welcome you back at Stone House to show you that we are a genuinely biker-friendly establishment. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawes
0.6 mi away
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
20.9 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
8.0 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
604 reviews
15.9 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
549 reviews
17.8 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone House Hotel

Address: Stone House Sedbusk, Hawes, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3PT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Hawes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hawes
Price Range: £147 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Stone House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stone House is a classic Edwardian country house hotel and restaurant overlooking the market town of Hawes deep in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales National Park. With 24 quality en-suite bedrooms, delicious food, oak paneled lounges with log-fires, library with billiard table,and a dream location, Stone House is the perfect location for a relaxing break in the Dales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your Stone House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Hotel Hawes
Stone House Hotel Hawes, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing