We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel”
Review of Stone House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stone House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hawes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Wonderful hotel in a lovely setting. Food is good and definitely Yorkshire portions! Dogs are genuinely welcomed and the rooms with conservatories are perfect. Staff are very friendly. A short walk into Hawes and to the waterfall at Hadraw.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Holderness-girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (439)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

267 - 273 of 439 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2014

Wensleydale is a beautiful part of the world, and Hawes is in an ideal location for a stop - just two hours from Leeds, but one hour from Cumbria or the North Pennines. The staff were friendly and helpful - even arranging flowers and a cake (upon request) for my mum's birthday. The hotel is a mile from Hawes village proper, meaning that the only patrons at the bar were the hotel guests themselves. Creaking floorboards, warm hearth, dark wooden beams - all adding to the charm. Very peaceful.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeremy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We try to stay at least three times a year and this was the first of 2014
Currently being redecorated to the highest of standards this Hotel provides food of the highest standards coupled with the most amazingly friendly and welcoming staff which makes it a joy to be there
We had a brilliant weekend and also met and enjoyed the company of some very nice people can't wait to go back

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 540PeterS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

After a long walk up a blustery Ingleborough what a warm welcome, roaring fires, cosy alcoves , beautiful bedrooms (just refurbished) and outstanding food. The dog was happy too. The new renewable energy centre using biomass heat was very interesting. We will be back very soon

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Just spent two nights at The Stone House it was everything we hoped for and more ! We have never stayed anywhere quite like it the staff were all so friendly and helpfull ,the quality of our meals were amazing and we took our 6 month cocker spanial called Edie and she was also made so welcoming . Looking forward to returning soon .

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Four of us spend New Year 2013/14 at the Stone House. We arrived New Years eve to a great reception, coffee bics etc. We changed for a fancy dress evening - fantastic organization marvelous buffet then a casino - all given £5,000 (virtual money) which we changed for chips and the winner was the one with most left. Murder mystery quiz at nearby village on New Years Day followed by a black tie meal with small jazz band followed by fireworks.It was relaxed very friendly and the best New Year event we have done.

Room Tip: We left as all the rooms were just starting to be fully refurbished every room I saw was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rowenigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

If you want to feel relaxed and comfortable without stuffiness then the Stone House is made to measure. It's well staffed and everyone is friendly including the guests. The rooms are spacious (ours was 22) and the lounges are very comfortable - open fire, comfy chairs and the opportunity to read or chat. The food for breakfast and the evening was very good and always served with good cheer. As the hotel is in the heart of Wensleydale there is plenty of opportunity for walks out of the door and it's well-equipped for cyclists.

Whether you want to come back to a classic English country hotel at the end of a day's walk or you just want to relax in complete comfort the Stone House is perfect.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WanderingBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawes
0.6 mi away
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
15.7 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
632 reviews
8 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
17.8 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
384 reviews
11.1 mi away
Burgoyne Hotel
Burgoyne Hotel
#1 of 2 in Reeth
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone House Hotel

Address: Stone House Sedbusk, Hawes, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3PT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Hawes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hawes
Price Range: £124 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Stone House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stone House is a classic Edwardian country house hotel and restaurant overlooking the market town of Hawes deep in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales National Park. With 24 quality en-suite bedrooms, delicious food, oak paneled lounges with log-fires, library with billiard table,and a dream location, Stone House is the perfect location for a relaxing break in the Dales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Stone House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Hotel Hawes
Stone House Hotel Hawes, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing