We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doggy Friendly Hotel”
Review of Stone House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stone House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hawes
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Doggy Friendly Hotel”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

A super doggy friendly hotel which is a great base to see Wensleydale and other areas of the dales. We had a 4 month old puppy who had not been away from home before so they recommended that we book one of their conservatory rooms so we could let the dog straight out into a garden area and if there was any barking the other guests were saved from the noise.

The room was lovely, beautifully clean and a super modern bathroom. We were allowed to take puppy into the lounge and library which was great as he loved everyone making a fuss over him, there were a few dog owners when we stayed so there were other guests who you could strike up a conversation with.

Our only reservation was that if you wanted to stay for dinner you had no lounge or bar snacks or a la carte to choose one or two courses from. You had to have the set 5 course menu which maybe suits some diners but we struggle to eat more than a main course usually. The staff however were very friendly and attentive and later in the evening we asked for a cheeseboard to share which although not advertised they were happy to provide.

Breakfast was super with excellent service.

If you have a dog and you love the Dales then you are genuinely made to feel welcome.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suggie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeeves11, Owner at Stone House Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thanks for taking the time to post your review. We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with your puppy. Our Conservatory bedrooms are certainly the best option if you are bringing a dog because of the easy access to the grounds and we are delighted that you found this room suitable for your requirements. Although our 4 course dinner sounds too filling - the portions are beautifully balanced so that you can enjoy the many local dishes that our chefs are keen to showcase (including the selection of local Wensleydale cheeses!!). However we do want to try and please all our guests - so we have introduced a two course dinner option with coffee. This is not generally advertised but is available on request. We do hope to welcome you both and your dog very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    74
    13
    4
    1
See reviews for
51
258
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Fantastic location for a perfect start to married life. We stayed in one of the conservatory rooms with our chocolate Lab, which was spotless, well equipped and just right for the dog. Food was delicious and the main evening menu changed every day. The hotel is truly dog friendly and we were made to feel very welcome. The most impressive thing about our stay were the staff ,who could not have been more helpful, friendly and attentive. Nothing was too much trouble. Already booked to return. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Conservatory if you have a dog.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark4aj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeeves11, Owner at Stone House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Hi - Many thanks for your great review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay and we definately agree that the garden rooms are the best choice if you are bringing your dogs. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your honeymoon and perhaps see you on your anniversary if not before for another relaxing break!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We very recently visited Stone House for a walking weekend we had planned. The greeting we got was like long lost friends arriving, nothing was too much trouble for the staff who were all very very friendly. The room No 7 was excellent, spotless and cosy, not a massive but adequate as we were only sleeping in it.
The evening meal was also excellent and very good value for money, nothing too much trouble. Following the meal we had coffee in the lounge where the waitress came and sat down for five minutes and a chat to get to know us, not what you get at larger establishments. In fact the meal was so good we ate in the hotel on the second night as weel.
I am reluctant to post this review as it may encourage more people to try this hotel which l would have liked to keep as my little oasis in the Dales. I will definately be going back time and time again. I can not praise this place enough.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moorey25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeeves11, Owner at Stone House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thanks so much for your positive comments regarding your stay with us. The Stone House team genuinley like meeting and looking after guests, we like to think its what we do best!! We are almost finished with our major refurbishment and soon all 24 bedrooms will be complete. Hope to see you back in Wensleydale soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barton-under-Needwood, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

The Stone House Hotel is a very special place which exceeded all our expectations and definitely one of the best small hotels we have ever visited . It's location is stunning with views over open countryside and we were delighted with our lovely room where we could enjoy these fantastic views.
We cannot praise the staff highly enough who go out of their way to make your stay as perfect as possible. Our three day break ended all too soon but we will be back soon . The room, the food and the ambiance .... Just perfect. Highly Recommended .

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeeves11, Owner at Stone House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Superb feedback - thanks very much, its very rewarding to know that our efforts have not gone unnoticed and i have passed your comments onto the team. The refurbishment is still ongoing! Our new walnut reception desk is arriving this week! Hopefully see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedbergh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

One of the best small hotels we have ever visited. We have just stayed for 3 nights with our young Border Collie. The hotel is genuinely dog friendly and everyone we met were repeat visitors. The staff were all local, extremely welcoming and nothing seemed too much trouble. Our room was perfect, spacious and homely but stylish, and we were surprised to learn it was being refurbished the following week! The bathroom had obviously already been updated, although a split shower hose was dealt with immediately. The food was superb, the menu change daily with plenty of choice. The sponge puds were delicious! Can't wait to return which we most certainly will do.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Joanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeeves11, Owner at Stone House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thanks for the morale boost - much appreciated by all the staff after a very busy winter refurbishing and getting ready for the new season. Yes, i agree the sponge pudds are delicious - one reason why i am now cycling to work in a morning! See you next time i hope.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I wanted a room for one night (Saturday) but the website stated a 2-night minumum so I rang up and did it over the phone, no problemo.

Arrived at the hotel quite late after a day walking the fells. We must have been the last guests to arrive because the receptionist knew the name on the booking straight away and gave us a little tour and took us to the room making sure of the details for breakfast etc the following morning. My partner and I had a superior room, it was gorgeous. The bathroom was a highlight, the lighting and fittings were extra special.

I suppose you could say we were on a romantic break and just wanted to be with each other. We went down to the bar area which inhabits several rooms including a snooker room. Jutting off from the large room where you would go to socialise, there are some smaller more secluded areas which are perfect for couples to be alone. The staff were really attentive throughout.

Breakfast the following morning was really nice, table service for the coffee/juice and a good selection on the buffet. Again the staff were excellent.

The hotel has a great country house vibe. Being a couple of gays we were a bit nervous of being judged or having issues staying at a small hotel in the country, but there was none of that (in fact we weren't the only gays in the village).

This was the most expensive place I've ever stayed and certainly the most middle-class. Having said that it's definitely worth it, we will be coming back for sure.

Room Tip: Supposedly the rooms vary quite a bit - our superior double was on the 1st floor, spacious and with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mgmgmg0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeeves11, Owner at Stone House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Apologies for my delayed response to your excellent review, we are busy completing our major refurb of all the bedrooms. Your positive feedback really does make a difference to the people involved in making Stone House work. Thanks again for your generous comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

With sweeping views across wensleydale. Rooms are clean and comfortable but can be noisy at certain times of the morning and late evening when guests are moving around and settling for the night. Staff cannot do enough for their guests and go out of their way to make sure everything is right. Food at the hotel is a bit hit and miss with some good quality food some meals and yet another meal can be disappointing. I do think the evening meals are over priced and would suggest trying local pubs as a cheaper and equal alternative. The hotel welcomes walkers, cyclists and dogs and has good facilities for each. However some guests will turn up in the lounge and sitting areas with more than one dog and some owners believe everyone there is going to like their dog. Do not stay at this hotel if you do not like being surrounded by lots of dogs! Having said that i would not hesitate returning to this hotel anytime of the year

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank kadanenel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeeves11, Owner at Stone House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thanks very much for your mainly positive response to your recent stay with us. We do try to get everything right all of the time but perhaps on this occassion your dinner didnt quite tick all of the boxes - we do always try to sort any issues at the time - if we are notified. We do feel the price of the dinner menu is about right. Go to any decent pub these days and order a starter, main course, side dishes, pudding, cheese board, coffee and home made petit fours and see how much change you get from £35! We also include a quality country house setting and well trained local staff. Whilst we do welcome guests with dogs we do have a strict policy to reduce the impact and this seems to keep the peace most of the time. We are in fact reducing the number of rooms in which dogs are allowed (dog owners - please opt for the garden rooms if possible). Hope to see you again soon in Wensleydale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawes
0.6 mi away
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
20.9 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
8.0 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
583 reviews
16.0 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
525 reviews
17.8 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone House Hotel

Property: Stone House Hotel
Address: Stone House Sedbusk, Hawes, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3PT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Hawes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hawes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Stone House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stone House is a classic Edwardian country house hotel and restaurant overlooking the market town of Hawes deep in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales National Park. With 24 quality en-suite bedrooms, delicious food, oak paneled lounges with log-fires, library with billiard table,and a dream location, Stone House is the perfect location for a relaxing break in the Dales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Stone House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Hotel Hawes
Stone House Hotel Hawes, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing