We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very restful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stone House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stone House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hawes
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Very restful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

We had a suite and it was excellent. The hotel is set in a very quiet location and the informal nature and friendly staff make you feel welcome. This was my third visit and I will definitely be going back. Maybe I can become the character to replace the great chap who was a most regular visitor and who sadly passed away recently...

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank clon5015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeeves11, Owner at Stone House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Appreciate your review many thanks. We love characters at the Stone House and yes the retired Bomber Command pilot, David Hearsey DFC, was certainly one of the best loved characters - he will be missed. Pleased you liked the Suite, we now have two rooms of this category, and they are certainly popular as they are very spacious with a separate lounge area in which to relax. See you for your 4th visit very soon i hope.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    68
    13
    4
    1
See reviews for
48
239
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Twyford, Berkshire
Level Contributor
111 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

I think the title says it all, plus it is dog and cyclist-friendly. It's away from the town, but with a beautiful garden and good food and a relaxing lounge, there's no need to go anywhere else! The staff were amazingly friendly and it is a great location for exploring the local area, especially on your bike. One of our friends did get woken up very early by noisy people on the floor above, but that was the only grumble I heard. Go on, try it.

Room Tip: Maybe suggest a room on the top floor?
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen_and_Mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeeves11, Owner at Stone House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
We always appreciate feedback and your review was great to read - thank you. We do welcome guests with dogs (not all bedrooms are dog-friendly however) and cyclists - as we have our new Bike Barn available. With it being an old house, there can be a few creaking floor boards! I would like to say it is the resident ghost but its probably just light sleepers! We look forward to seeing you again when your travel plans allow you another visit to the dales.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south of 65N
Level Contributor
109 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

It is difficult to describe the delight of finding this hotel. It now rates at the very top of our "Must Return" list. The setting is beautiful the rooms well appointed, the food is excellent and the staff superb. There are any number of walks which can taken from the hotel and they range in severity from easy to moderate. (probably even more challenging ones but we know our limits.)
From the Hotel "buttertubs pass is but a short drive which gives access to Swaledale at Muker.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gbcpj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeeves11, Owner at Stone House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
I think your review has summed up our 3 main positive attributes - location, service and food! We are pleased you appreciated the well appointed rooms - they have all been recently refurbished using a local designer Bear Cottage Interiors. Yes, the walks in the area are superb and we are more than happy to point guests in the right direction ( we have a folder of walks available in reception). Until the next time.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

My wife and I have recently returned from a short break at this fine hotel, this being our third break here over the last couple of years. As usual we had another very pleasant visit, although the local weather was mixed to say the least, however our room and the food provided, ensured we had everything we needed to enjoy our stay in Wensleydale

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeeves11, Owner at Stone House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review your most recent stay with us - very pleased to hear you enjoyed the experience despite some mixed weather! One of the nice things about Stone House is that if the weather doesn't inspire you to head outdoors - its not a bad place to relax inside with a good book by the fire or a dvd from the film library. Hope to see you for your 4th break very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We took our American friends to this lovely hotel and it surpassed all our expectations. We paid a premium for 'conservatory' rooms - on the ground floor with individual conservatories opening out on to the garden. They were beautifully decorated but rather small. Rabbits, sheep and lambs were our nearest neighbours. The public rooms were comfortable and homely, and the food was excellent, although we would have preferred not to have a prie fixe menu with 5 courses. Staff were friendly, welcoming and helpful. Ideal quiet location just outside Hawes.

Room Tip: Conservatory rooms are quite small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jenseyHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeeves11, Owner at Stone House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with your American friends and your positive comments regarding the decor of the room (all bedrooms have been refurbished) and the food. The 4 course table d'hote dinner menu with coffee is our best value option and it gives the chefs the chance to showcase their range of dishes, however we do now offer a 2 course option if requested. We look forward to seeing you back next season if not before.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selby
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

This hotel was something else. Location perfect. No traffic noise so it was a joy to listen to the countryside noises of birds tweeting, and sheep bleating. lovely friendly reception on arrival where we were then shown to our room. We had a room on the first floor with dual aspect windows (guess who watches housey programs on the tv!) one view looked down to Hawes and the other over the grounds into a field with sheep and lambs. The room was large as was the four poster.

We had dinner, bed and breakfast and the food did not disappoint. Portions were just the right size and although it was a 4 course meal I had to admit defeat after the sweet. All washed down with a coffee. Another thing I liked was the bottle of ice cold water on the table.

As the evening wore on we sat in the room listening to the sounds of the countryside before we settled down. The following morning I realised I forgot to shut the window and was awoken at 6.20am by the sounds of the countryside. Wonderful!

Now most reviews I do, do not have have a negative but in this case I have to say that the downside was having to leave. This is far and away the best hotel I have stayed in and hope it won't be too long before my wife and I come back to room 1

Room Tip: Room 1! Huge mega comfy bed with a south and west facing window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grahame R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeeves11, Owner at Stone House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Great review - thanks for the positive comments. Room 1 was the original Master Bedroom when the hotel was a private house and its not hard to see why the owners chose this room! The quiet location of Stone House and the sounds of nature are a big draw for many guests and a world away from the hustle of city life! Pleased you enjoyed the food also. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

We couldn't give this hotel higher praise - we just stayed over the weekend for our anniversary and the hotel and service was superb surpassing our expectations. The location was ideal, the hotel beautiful and matched by the warm friendly staff for which nothing was too much trouble. Would strongly recommend the hotel and hope to return in the near future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ajr209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeeves11, Owner at Stone House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and we are so pleased that enjoyed your anniversary celebrations here at Stone House. Hope to see you for the next one if not before!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawes
15.7 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
20.9 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
16.0 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Board Inn
The Board Inn
#12 of 23 in Hawes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone House Hotel

Property: Stone House Hotel
Address: Stone House Sedbusk, Hawes, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3PT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Hawes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hawes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Stone House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stone House is a classic Edwardian country house hotel and restaurant overlooking the market town of Hawes deep in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales National Park. With 24 quality en-suite bedrooms, delicious food, oak paneled lounges with log-fires, library with billiard table,and a dream location, Stone House is the perfect location for a relaxing break in the Dales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Stone House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Hotel Hawes
Stone House Hotel Hawes, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing