We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful return”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Stone House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stone House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hawes
Certificate of Excellence
Horsham, United Kingdom
1 review
“A wonderful return”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

We had stayed at the Stone House Hotel many times in the past but had been unable to visit for about 10 years due to family circumstances despite this the owners, Chris and Peter, recognised us immediately. We were shown to our extremely spacious and comfortable room with lots of extra facilities. Outwardly the Stone House had changed little from our previous visits however it was obvious that there had been a number of new features which had resulted in a subtle modernisation and upgrading of rooms and facilities. The food was excellent with a varied choice for dinner and an unbeatable wine list. The Yorkshire breakfast sets you up for the day and normally means I don't need to have lunch! This friendly family run hotel is one of the best I have stayed in and Chris, Peters and their families are to be congratulated.

Room Tip: All the rooms I have stayed in have been excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeeves11, Owner at Stone House Hotel, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
We really appreciate your positive feedback. It was a pleasure to welcome you back and I can't believe it has been 10 years. Pleased to hear you liked Room 26, the food and changes that we have made over the years - nothing drastic just gradually improving each season - and we haven't finished yet! Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    70
    13
    4
    1
See reviews for
49
248
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

A lovely hotel in a very quiet location. The only sounds we could hear were the sheep in the fields around the hotel. There was an invigorating (hilly) 20 minute walk from the hotel across the fields into the pretty town of Hawes. Although the hotel was full with guests it was always easy to park our car in the large car park adjoining the hotel. There were always seats available in the beautifully furnished public rooms.. All the public areas were full of interesting objects that must have been collected over many years.

We had one of the newly refurbished superior rooms which was actually 2 rooms made into one large room. There was a massive bed about 7 feet wide which was 2 single beds joined together. We did have an initial problem in that the room seemed to slope down hill slightly which meant that the bed also sloped. The first night it was necessary for 1 of us to hold onto the headboard to stop being tipped onto the floor. We resolved this problem however by inserting 5 cushions under the lowest edge which levelled the mattress. A rather heavy duvet was supplied which due to its nature did not hold one in the bed securely in the way that sheets would have done.

We had a lovely table in the dining room next to a window and with a wide window ledge alongside. We considered ourselves very fortunate as we kept this table for all meals for all 7 days. Restaurant service did vary from day to day depending on who was on duty. Sometimes quite fast and other times rather slow. On one occasion where dinner took 3.5 hours we were given the menu and then forgotten. The waitress did however apologise to us. Over our 7 days I don't think we were served by the same person more than once. Each day someone new appeared so that by the end of the week we were still being asked the same questions about our preferences. However the food itself was excellent with the breakfasts some of the best I have ever enjoyed.

In summary we agreed that it is a lovely hotel that when it started with just 4 bedrooms would have been very personal and friendly. As it has grown in size with more and more bedrooms the personal service has been lost somewhat. Although we were there for a week we never got to meet the owners or if we did they never introduced themselves. The staff did the best they could but probably needed more training and supervision. Many of the guests we spoke to had previously stayed at the hotel in years past when it was somewhat smaller.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very different. Upgraded superior rooms are obviously best. The free Wifi worked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeeves11, Owner at Stone House Hotel, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
We appreciate your review and are pleased that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay including the location, quality of the rooms and the food. You are quite right about Room 15 being one of our newly converted rooms and there is a slight difference in floor level but surely not so great that you have to hang on to the headboard (that usually only happens after a second bottle of our deliciously full bodied Rioja!!). Sheets and blankets are always offered as an alternative to duvets if requested on booking. We do pride ourselves on the quality and efficiency of our service so we were a little to surprised to hear that you encountered one or two issues regarding the service. There are usually only 3 front of house staff who take orders for dinner, but occasionally other members of our dedicated staff deputize in their absence. With regard to your comment about not meeting us - that could be down to the fact that we were enjoying a family holiday together for the first time in 20 years, happy in the knowledge that Stone House was in the capable and very well trained hands of Sandra. Usually you are never more than 5 yards away from a member of the family! Our passion for running Stone House and keeping up the standards - is as high now as it has ever been. Yes Stone House started off as a much smaller hotel with only a few bedrooms, but the majority of our guests agree that the atmosphere of a family house is still here but the quality has increased over the years. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back and meeting you personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Same room as last visit, same welcome and excellent service. Already booked to stay again and can see this being a very favorite place. Food excellent however, if the management are considering a more flexible evening dining arrangement, that wouldn't be a bad thing as not everyone can eat 4 courses even though we want to! Can't find fault though and love staying here.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark4aj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeeves11, Owner at Stone House Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Thanks for taking the time to post your review on your most recent stay with us and we appreciate your excellent comments about the welcome, room and service. Whilst our 4 course dinner menu is still the best value option we do offer a two course plus coffee menu on request. Look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Wensleydale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

My husband and I return to this hotel frequently and we adore it. We are always welcomed warmly and it is simply a delightful place to stay. Every time we return the hotel has made improvements to its facilities, and many of the rooms have recently been refurbished. One of the nicest things about this hotel, however, is that your room is actually of little importance; there are so many nice places to sit that you actually want to spend time in the body of the hotel itself, rather than feel trapped in your room. If the weather is nice (and we have been remarkably lucky on some visits) there are lovely spaces to sit outside and enjoy the views and listen to the sheep. If the weather is dodgy and like us you're not particularly hardcore about walking in the pouring rain, you can stay in the hotel and enjoy reading in the library, reception or lounge area or play a game - there's a pool table and various board games on offer. It's great not to feel trapped in your room. In the evening you can enjoy a drink (or several!) in the lounge before dinner, which if you choose is an opportunity to chat to others about the walking you've done or the places you've visited. This all makes the hotel is an ideal place for groups of friends and although we normally visit the hotel as a couple we have brought friends too, who loved it.

A few particular comments: the food in our opinion is absolutely wonderful and of a very high standard, but this is traditional Yorkshire fare: so don't expect a hugely wide choice if you're vegetarian/vegan or only like exotic, spicy "world food"! The breakfast is traditional, superb and enormous, so you can last on that until dinner, for which you will find some beautiful traditional choices: lamb, venison, local Yorkshire ham etc. The staff are very attentive and remember you. There is a very respectable wine list.

The hotel is very dog-friendly and dogs are welcome everywhere expect the restaurant. We don't have our own dog but we love them, and the opportunity to make doggy friends is one of things we love about this hotel. If you bring your own dog the conservatory rooms are highly recommended - then you can bring your muddy dog straight into the room and clean up without any worries. t also gives you a little more space for your and your doggy friend(s).

If you're a cyclist .... this is the ideal place for you; the hotel is located on the route of the recent Tour de France (good luck with Buttertubs Pass!) and the hotel owner has had some fantastic and secure bike sheds built.

One final thought - on our most recent visit I needed to see a doctor; The staff were very helpful and I had no trouble being seen as a visitor at the surgery in Hawes.

Room Tip: Room sizes and shapes do vary. This is an old building, converted to a hotel, which is one of the th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmaWilliams999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeeves11, Owner at Stone House Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
We appreciate your detailed and very positive review. Very happy that you found all aspects of your stay to be an enjoyable experience and we can certainly see why you are frequent visitors! We do try to continually improve the facilities and service that we offer our guests and with only one room to complete we will have refurbished all the bedrooms. The Oak Room, Library and Bar will be next on the list for refurbishing this winter! The Bike Barn is also proving very popular - especially now post- Grand Depart! Your recommendation about the Conservatory Rooms being the ideal choice for guests with dogs is 100% correct as they provide extra space and direct access to the gardens. We very much look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the dales.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

We booked enspeck looking for a couple of quiet days. Chose the 4 poster bedroom and were not disappointed. The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful. The food and the service were excellent. We dined on the 5 course table d'hote menu which although seems expensive was extremely good value. We would happily go there again. Only problem - the downstairs public toilet door did not lock!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeeves11, Owner at Stone House Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Thanks for your positive review - really excellent feedback. The 5 course menu is priced at £36 does seem expensive but as you say - you do get what you pay for and we agree that is good value, especially when you get to try all the local Wensleydale cheeses and enjoy unlimited coffee! The door lock has now been fixed! Hope to see you again soon - perhaps for one of our special Bargain Breaks which commence on the 1st October.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

My husband and I chose to celebrate our 30th Wedding anniversary recently by visiting the Yorkshire Dales. A three night stay at the Stone House Hotel proved to be one of the best decisions we have ever made - we loved the peaceful location and the views were stunning. The whole experience was completely relaxing and our only disappointment was that we were not staying longer. Without exception, all the staff were very welcoming, friendly and seemed genuinely interested in ensuring that guests enjoyed their stay as much as possible. On arriving back very late one evening, the staff were just about to go off duty but happily made us a pot of coffee so we could relax in the lounge - nothing seemed too much trouble and every request was met with a smile. Our 4 poster room was beautifully appointed, very comfortable and well equipped. We really appreciated the supply of fresh refrigerated milk for drinks made in your own room - so much better than the plastic pots provided by most hotels (which never contain enough milk for one drink!). The food was thoroughly enjoyable, with fine quality ingredients and a varied menu, complemented by excellent service. Small touches, like the video/books lending library and wide range of magazines on where to go and what to do in Yorkshire, enhanced the whole experience. We had a truly memorable holiday in the Dales and can't wait to go back to the Stone House again. It really is a gem of a hotel.

Room Tip: The 4 poster rooms are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeeves11, Owner at Stone House Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Great review - really appreciated by us all - thank you! Yes, the milk fridges are a great solution to the dreaded UHT milk problem and a cup of real Yorkshire Tea tastes so much better with fresh milk! Happy to hear that it was a positive experience for your 30th wedding anniversary and we look forward to welcoming you back for the next one if not before!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

We had a wonderful two day break at the Stone House. The location is stunning, a really beautiful part of the country to visit. We loved the hotel. We would recommend staying in a room with a conservatory, we were lucky to have warm, sunny weather and the conservatory was perfect to sit in after a day rambling in the Dales. All of the staff we met were extremely welcoming, friendly and efficient. We ate in the restaurant and thoroughly enjoyed the food, service was excellent. We really can't fault anything - we had a great time and would definitely recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephanieedwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeeves11, Owner at Stone House Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Your comments regarding the location, room, service and food were all really appreciated thank you. We agree - the conservatory rooms are very pleasant especially when the weather is good as they have the added sitting area overlooking the gardens.We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawes
0.6 mi away
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
15.7 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
23.7 mi away
Burgoyne Hotel
Burgoyne Hotel
#1 of 2 in Reeth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
16.0 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone House Hotel

Property: Stone House Hotel
Address: Stone House Sedbusk, Hawes, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3PT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Hawes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hawes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Stone House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stone House is a classic Edwardian country house hotel and restaurant overlooking the market town of Hawes deep in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales National Park. With 24 quality en-suite bedrooms, delicious food, oak paneled lounges with log-fires, library with billiard table,and a dream location, Stone House is the perfect location for a relaxing break in the Dales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Stone House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Hotel Hawes
Stone House Hotel Hawes, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing