We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly campsite with a good location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hawes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bainbridge Ings Caravan & Campsite
Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly campsite with a good location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

A nice campsite only 5 mins bike ride from the town centre. Upon leaving a day early due to bad weather we received a full nights refund without asking. Mrs Facer is very friendly and the site is kept in lovely condition.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Becky_Smale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    18
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
33
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

We were three tents and because we only stayed 2 nights we couldn't book ahead. However, we hit lucky and got three spots together. The staff were very welcoming and helpful. Lovely scenery and so handy for a 10 minute stroll into Hawes, which has everything you could possibly need. I liked the way the pitches are organised around the perimeter of the fields, leaving the centre free for the kids to play in. Nice soil too...no nasty stones to bend your tent pegs!
Showers are really hot and powerful. Good facilities for washing up.
Definitely coming back.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ToonDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

Stayed here for one night with our motorbikes and small tents. Very warm and friendly. Facilities not fancy, but very clean and functional. Great location, only a short walk on a paved path through a field to get into the centre. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BevBury_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

Stayed here on our first trip with our tourer. Purpose of trip was for hubby to go gliding and me to recuperate after an op. This was perfection, did the job, yes amenities may look basic but they're clean. Location wonderful views gorgeous. We asked to stay an extra night and it wasn't a problem.
This did me the world of good and hubby got to air out his glider in the stunning surroundings. Well worth a visit!

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank gemandmic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

We received a warm and friendly welcome from the owners. The site is fairly basic but so are the prices. The location is idyllic with stunning views and only a 15 minute walk through a field on a paved path into Hawes. Although the showers and toilets are fairly basic, they are perfectly adequate and clean. Showers and hairdryers cost 20p and there was plenty of hot water. It can be breezy being set on a hillside so take a wind break. The site was very quiet and peaceful with the only noise coming from the lambs and birds. There are plenty of places to eat in Hawes and we can recommend The White Hart. Unfortunately, Herriot's Cafe was closed so we went to the Bay Tree Cafe. It is nothing special inside but the home made cakes and scones were delicious, as was the home made lemon curd. The Wensleydale Creamery is worth a visit and there are plenty of local walks. We walked to Hardraw Force and the scenery was breathtaking. We would definitely go back to Bainbridge Ings.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PetaLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shipley
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

We chose this site as we wanted to meet up with camping friends. Amenities were reminiscent of caravan sites in the fifties. We were told to camp on a pitch which had been extensively used and consequently had large mud patches where grass had been worn away. Motorhomes are given preference over caravans for the gravel hard standing that exists. This is an unsheltered site and so when the rain lashes and the wind blows one really feels it!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kashubiantyke007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

Bainbridge Ings was recommended to us by a local, thus proving that you really cannot beat word of mouth. Although for the five days that we stayed there it rained for four of them, it did not dampen our spirits at all. The welcome from the owners was lovely and right from the off we were made to feel important. We stayed in our own tent, and as the week progressed, the campsite gradually got busier. The wash facilities are pretty good, paid by a meter. There are lots of walks in the vacinity and Hawes proved to be a lovely village in the Yorkshire Dales. There are good pubs to try, various takeaways, a tasty canteen and of course the famous Wensleydale Creamery. For the tourist, there is also the National Park Visitor Centre. For those with a car, there's lots more to do in the surrounding areas as well. Bainbridge Ings was a great choice for keen campers. A decent location and friendly staff. Recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hawes hotels
0.0 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Board Inn
The Board Inn
#12 of 23 in Hawes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ebor House
Ebor House
#3 of 23 in Hawes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
YHA Hawes
YHA Hawes
#3 of 4 in Hawes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.0 mi away
Southview Bed & Breakfast
0.0 mi away
The Fountain Hotel
The Fountain Hotel
#15 of 23 in Hawes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bainbridge Ings Caravan & Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bainbridge Ings Caravan & Campsite

Property: Bainbridge Ings Caravan & Campsite
Address: Hawes, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3NU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Hawes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Hawes
Hotel Class:3 star — Bainbridge Ings Caravan & Campsite 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Also Known As:
Bainbridge Ings Caravan & Campsite Hawes, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing