We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Delight In The Dales”
Review of Thorney Mire Barn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Thorney Mire Barn
Ranked #4 of 23 Hawes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
STOCKPORT ENGLAND
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Delight In The Dales”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

This is our fourth excellent visit in three years.
First class accommodation in beautiful countryside.
The cleanliness and comfort of the rooms are second to none.
Jane's superb breakfasts accompanied by Simon's interesting and local knowledge are the perfect start to the day.
Very highly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JP17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
230
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sanibel Island, Florida
Level Contributor
93 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

An absolute must for any visit we make to the UK is our stay with Jane & Simon at Thorney Mire Barn. The descriptor B&B doesn't even come close to doing justice to the unique quality of accommodation and warm, friendly service that they provide. Their commitment to excellence and customer satisfaction shines through in every aspect of a stay at Thorney Mire, and the peaceful location, set in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales, makes visiting local attractions or hiking easy and convenient. We're already looking forward to our visit next year!

Room Tip: My wife and I prefer the Whatcroft or Garden rooms, but any one of their three rooms won't disap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FFlyer42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Our stay, once again, was as relaxing and entertaining as ever. Impeccably clean and in an incredible location, just far enough away from the town centre to enjoy the peace, but close enough to walk. This year with added entertainment of red squirrels, it was great to see the indigenous species right in front of the window at breakfast.

Simon and Jane have just the right balance. First class rooms, superb cooking and entertainment galore. Staying a Thorney Mire is an an experience not easily forgotten.

Room Tip: all the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkySparky16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Had a fabulous few days here again. Jane and Simon maintain a really high standard of accommodation & food and a warm and friendly welcome. This is the B&B by which we judge all others and none so far quite match up. The added bonus this time were the resident red squirrels, got some amazing photos just through the windows!
We'll be back.

Room Tip: Any room is excellent. We've been in all three.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kedesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

From the moment of our arrival, we were made to feel like special guests. The welcome was very friendly, coffee and home made cakes were produced within about 10 minutes of us arriving.

The ground floor bedroom was spotless, home made cordial, fresh milk and cold water (from their own bore hole) was in the fridge, chocolates on the side, fresh fruit, excellent selection on tea/coffee tray. Big, white fluffy towels, dressing gowns, Molton and Brown toiletries in the bathroom - I could go on!! This room has an outside private patio area - where we ate a delicious three course home cooked meal (served to us by Simon and Jane) while taking pictures of red squirrels and pheasants that were in the garden. And even a rainbow in the sky!!! The midges could be troublesome - but even this is covered in the room with midge repellant cream and a bite pen in case you are unlucky. Oh, and binoculars as well to watch the wildlife and a load of local information and walks.

Beds very comfortable - slept like a log!! Breakfast - wowsers!!! Everything you could possibly want - and home made bread to boot. This kept us going all day, even with all the walking we did, to the point where our Saturday evening meal, which we had planned to have in Hawes, became sandwiches back at Thorney Mire!!!

This is a delightful place to stay - very peaceful. We would absolutely recommend Thorney Mire (and Simon and Jane of course!!) to anyone who loves peace and tranquility and likes to feel they are being spoilt on a weekend away / holiday.

The Hawes Bear in the room is also a nice touch :)

Room Tip: We had the Garden Room - which was great as we had our own private patio. There is however outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redrosebud59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We love to visit Thorney Mire and see Jane and Simon again. They are perfect hosts and do everything/anything to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable.
Jane cooked wonderful meal for us on the first night, which we ate in our room.
Breakfast is to die for with everything you could desire to set you up for the day: home made bread, jams, museli, and fresh fruit. the eggs are laid by their own hens too!
We like to stay in the Garden Room which is suitable for anyone with a disability or just to acknowledge our age and not climb the stairs.
The area on the patio lends itself to quiet reading or just lazing with a glass of wine before Jane brings dinner. This time we were visited by red squirrels, Yes, RED, squirrels, such delightful native creatures. Such serenity is hard to find. well worth the 5* rating and paying the price for such service and comfort. Thanks Jane and Simon, we will certainly visit again.

Room Tip: Go for the garden room made up as king size bed or 2 singles, just request at time of booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne1934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Simon and Jane looked after us really well during or stay. We ate in our room on the first day, and were given a lovely meal cooked by Jane. The breakfast was also excellent, setting us up for a day of walking with fruit compote, yoghurt, home made muesli, and of course locally sourced fried breakfast, with their own tasty eggs! The rooms and facilities were very good, cosy, en suite, with tea and coffee facilities, a fridge with water from their well.
The B&B is in a converted barn on a narrow road with only Thorney House next door for company, and opposite a wood that Simon and Jane own, leading down to a small river. It is 5 to ten minutes drive to Hawes, which has lots of facilities, pubs, the Wensleydale Creamery and so on. Simon also gave us a map for a circular walk from the Barn to Hardraw Force.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawes
1.8 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
393 reviews
1.6 mi away
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
9.7 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ebor House
Ebor House
#3 of 23 in Hawes
320 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Board Inn
The Board Inn
#13 of 23 in Hawes
176 reviews
3.1 mi away
Riverside Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thorney Mire Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thorney Mire Barn

Property: Thorney Mire Barn
Address: Appersett | North Yorkshire National Park, Hawes, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3LU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Hawes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Hawes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Thorney Mire Barn 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zena & Nick look forward to welcoming you to Thorney Mire Barn. We have three luxuriously appointed en-suite guest rooms, furnished to a high standard. Features of each room include a pocket sprung divan bed, a fully tiled bathroom with underfloor heating and a fridge stocked with fresh milk & cordials. Our guests enjoy the privacy of a separate entrance and bedrooms separated from the main house. We are in a secluded location in Widdale, just one mile from the historic market town of Hawes and surrounded by the beautiful Wensleydale countryside within the Yorkshire Dales National Park. Outside there is ample off-road parking, south facing patio areas in our garden and about 4 acres of private woodland to explore where you may see red squirrels, roe deer and many different species of birds. There are footpaths that take you on wonderful country walks in all directions from our front door. Or you can explore further afield by cycling quiet country lanes. The woods are also home to our free-range chickens, and the garden has vegetable, fruit and herb beds, so you can enjoy our own fresh eggs, vegetables and fruits. Thorney Mire Barn is exclusively for adults. Unfortunately, we cannot accept dogs, with the exception of assistance dogs ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Thorney Mire Barn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thorney Mire Barn Hawes, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing