We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (318)
Filter reviews
318 results
Traveller rating
315
2
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
315
2
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews red squirrels garden room underfloor heating on arrival brown toiletries homemade bread home made attention to detail perfect hosts nothing is too much trouble bircher muesli yorkshire dales little touches mini fridge three course meal beautiful spot evening meal
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 318 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was our 2nd stay at this beautifully run B&B,as soon as you are greeted at the door by the wonderful owners Nick and Zena you feel at home from the warm and cosy feel.After a long journey it was much appreciated to have a pot of tea and flapjacks taken to our room to sit and enjoy.We choose to have a meal that evening,again beautifully presented and delicious,also great that you don't have to go out looking for somewhere to eat soon on your arrival.Wherever or whatever you choose to do on your stay ,Nick and Zena are always there with enthusiasm to help you decide.We have returned home once again feeling refreshed and relaxed and are already looking forward to our next visit.
Thankyou Nick and Zena, R&A.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have beautiful views.
Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick U, Owner at Thorney Mire Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely review, we are so happy you enjoyed your stay again. Come visit us again soon, Best wishes, Zena &Nick x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2018

Two night stay was all too short. Zena and Nick were so welcoming and helpful throughout. On arrival the tea and flapjacks delivered by Nick was a great pick-me-up following our busy day travelling. The room had everything we wanted. It was so comfortable we were sorely tempted not to venture out using Nick's route maps to Hawes. The location is great for walks taking in the wonderful Dales scenery. The breakfast choice was delicious and all-embracing providing an ideal preparation for our walks. It was disappointing that the weather did not allow us to enjoy the lovely garden. Maybe another time? We will certainly recommend Thorney Mire Barn to friends, family and those reading this review.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018 via mobile

We had a fabulous time staying here. We were greeted with tea and cakes as well as some fruit and chocolates in our room. The breakfasts were deliciously fresh with plenty of choice including home made jam and eggs from hens on site.

There are lots of walks and places to see nearby. We walked into Hawes along a right of way over some fields for dinner one night.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jessicamb218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick U, Owner at Thorney Mire Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2018

Hi,
Thank you for your lovely review. We are so happy you had a fabulous stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you again,
Best wishes, Zena & Nick x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2018 via mobile

What a beautiful place, Nick and Zena are excellent hosts who really care for the gorgeous Thorney Mire Barn, fab location, our room ‘Whatmore’ was spacious, super comfortable, scrupulously clean and contained everything we needed. A welcome cup of tea and delicious flapjacks on arrival was lovely. The breakfasts were lovely, set us up just right for the walking we planned. We had taken Prosecco to put in the fridge in the room and anniversary cards to open on the second day of the stay - when we got back from our day out, Zena had provided flutes for the Prosecco and left a lovely card for us. It’s these little touches that lift this B & B above the rest, thank you Nick and Zena, we hope to come back soon.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Family-Ryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights for my birthday. From start to finish we were blown away. A massive welcome, we ordered dinner in our room for our first night- absolutely delicious and so nice to have a comforting meal to enjoy once you arrive and not have to go out immediately.

Room was extremely comfortable with lots of extras such as cordial,.chocolates, molton brown toiletries etc (and a decent amount of fresh milk!). Good powerful shower, comfortable bed, lovely view of the garden and countryside....so peaceful!

Nrealfast

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank SteffiD235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick U, Owner at Thorney Mire Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2018

Thank you for your lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and had an enjoyable and peaceful time. We look forward to elcoming you back soon, best wishes, Zena & Nick x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews