We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Holiday”
Review of Ebor House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ebor House
Ranked #3 of 23 Hawes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Holiday”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Spent three lovely days with Jonie and Stuart last week end in Eborhouse House.
Lovely people, room excellent and clean, breakfast excellent, would definitely book again.
A real warm and friendly welcome awaited us. Fred and Maureen Brailey, Odiham Hants.

Room Tip: Just ask Janie or Stuart.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    19
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
27
220
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We are regulars at Ebor House because you always know you're going to get a great stay. Once again we weren't disappointed. Lovely stay. Lovely breakfast. Rooms spotlessly clean. And Janie and Stuart were the perfect hosts as ever. Thank you and hope to see you again soon :)

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Snelsonhgct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We received a warm welcome from Stuart upon arrival, he showed us to our room which had lovely furnishings, it was immaculately clean as was the bathroom which also had complimentary toiletries a great bonus. Being a chocoholic I also appreciated the thorntons chocs. Breakfast was fantastic, loved the fruit salad, full english and toast. Stuart and Janie were great hosts, very friendly and hospitable, helping us choose our walk and even lending us a book to take with us. Overall we had a brilliant time and would definitely recommend it to friends and we will be back again soon.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed as a group of three who were doing the Three Peaks Challenge which started at Horton-in-Ribblesdale 30 minutes away. Hawes is a great location and a quaint little village, tastefully adorned with Tour de France/Yorkshire paraphernalia in the Summer.

We had told the owners that we would be arriving later (between 8 and 9) on the Friday night. We arrived at 915pm due to motorway traffic and were a little taken aback by their abruptness when they let us in. We tried putting this down to that famed Yorkshire bluntness but on further reflection to say to us "it holds us up you see" is not the sort of welcome I would expect when paying £65-85 per night. It really felt like we had put them out when as paying customers, they should be a bit more welcoming. Worth noting they do not let under-18s or wedding guests stay here.

Despite our first impressions being rather negative, I have to say they did redeem themselves when we had breakfast on the Sunday. They were chatty, friendly and hospitable. The cooked breakfast was fulsome and the portions generous.

One gripe was that my towels were not changed - I left my used one on the floor but this was just hung up on a hook without being replaced. Similarly a bottle of water that I was grateful to see in my room was not replaced but I was less irritated by that.

I paid a lower rate for an external private bathroom the other end of the corridor. I couldn't complain about this - it had a great shower - except that one of the shampoo dispensers did not work. My room was a touch warm, even after I had opened the window but you can stay here and be perfectly comfortable. It was a hot weekend after all.

Would I stay here if I came back to North Yorkshire? Hmm, Id have to say I'd probably try somewhere else first but given how much I enjoyed breakfast, I've generously given them four stars.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidayjunkie37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Passing through Hawes, looking for somewhere to stay the night, we stumbled upon Ebor House, how lucky we were!

Stuart and Janie, who own and run the guest house, could not have been more friendly and helpful. The place and rooms are very well furnished and immaculately clean. Breakfast was delicious and they took pride in the fact that they source all the ingredients locally. There is private off-street parking behind the building but also on-street parking in front, on the other side of the road. We had a good natter in the morning after breakfast and they are very knowledgeable about the area and willing to take the time to share with their guests.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jemb99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Spent 3 nights at the Ebor House. Janie & Stuart were great hosts, really making you welcome, nothing was too much for them to do. A nice touch was that they remembered everyone's name. Food was great, setting you up for the day. Rooms very clean, and the decor tastefully done, must be Janie's influence.....

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Steveandtheboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffs
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Just returned from a break in the Yorkshire Dales and last port of call was at this little gem. Janie and Stuart were perfect hosts and very passionate about their business with lovey touches such as the little bag of chocs in which the wife and I fought over . Spotlessly clean , good brekky and great location for walk into town and walks locally . No hesitation in returning as we have un-finished walks to do .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawes
0.8 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
1.2 mi away
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
8.1 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#7 of 23 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Board Inn
The Board Inn
#12 of 23 in Hawes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.5 mi away
Southview Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ebor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ebor House

Property: Ebor House
Address: Ebor House Burtersett Road, Hawes, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3NT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Hawes
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Hawes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ebor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ebor House Hawes, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing