We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent 2 night stay”
Review of Bulls Head Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hawes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bulls Head Hotel
Ranked #14 of 23 Hawes B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I spent 2 very comfortable nights at this well priced B&B while on a photography trip to Hawes. Room was ver comfortable, shower worked well and the breakfast was excellent - large and of high quality. I will return again here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnKirton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (195)
There are newer reviews for Bulls Head Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

Myself and 5 friends were doing the route of 1st stage of the 2014 Tour de France. Unlike the professionals who will do it in 5 odd hours we took the weekend and stayed in the Bulls Head in Hawes at just over half way. From our first contact when we booked to when we were waved off on the Sunday we found the Bulls Head and Helen fantastic. Having used 5 rooms one as a twin we'd recommend it especially for cyclists. After 115km the log fire and pots of tea were just what we needed.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Buckled_Wheel_Tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We spent a Saturday night hear and stayed in the basement room Downdale.

Our room was a decent size, with a large en-suit and very clean and tidy. It has own entrance where we managed to get the car parked right outside.

A highly recommended hotel, with very polite and helpful staff and right in the very centre of Hawes, with shops and pubs on the doorstep.

Ideal location for exploring and walking in beautiful Wendsleydale. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanDawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We returned to the Bulls Head with 4 foreign friends on part of our tour of UK. Last time we were there we found it by chance. This time by design. Unfortunately the owners who used to run the place have retired and put it in charge of a capable manager. However, we missed people who only for an evening became our friends. Last time we were placed in a bedroom upstairs with a four poster bed and little room for anything else and bathroom across the landing. This time as there were six of us, my wife and I opted for the dungeon - the basement with stone ceiling and floor and en-suite, nevertheless comfortable for an overnight stay and with a separate entrance to the street. Perhaps winter would have been a better time for this room as I would like to have seen the open fire working, but this was during the heat wave.
Unfortunately, the great little restaurant nearby was closed for refurbishment and so we went to a local pub which the hotel manager booked for us. It was cheery with adequate food and a good selection of beer. Breakfast as always at the Bulls Head was good and plentiful.
The Bulls head did not live up to our previous trip, but that was not the fault of the hotel or its manager, just memories!

Room Tip: Upstairs for a normal room, the dungeon for a little bit of spice.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

My husband and I spent 3 nights in this delightful little hotel (a more accurate description would be B & B). Our room was the smallest hotel room I've ever seen, unnecessarily dominated by a large, modern 4 poster bed. There was just about space to walk round it, and virtually nowhere to store or hang clothes. However, it was all spotlessly clean, tea and coffee facilities were available and Wi-fi throughout. We had a wall-mounted flat screen TV but it was difficult to see it from under the 4 poster! Our very nice bathroom was across the landing, but it was our own and bath robes were provided! Helen and her staff were friendly, and Helen in particular was happy to chat and advise about local attractions and places to eat. Breakfast was good, although the dining area was a bit cramped. Ideal location for touring the area.

Room Tip: Avoid the Nidderdale Room! It's the small one.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jenseyHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the bulls head whilst attending our friends wedding. We were so impressed with Helen and her team, we had experienced some difficulties en route and when calling the venue we found Helen to be so helpful and accommodating we actually managed to arrive at the wedding on time.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisapjheidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

Located on market street with easy access to the buses, taxis, dales walks and attractions of Hawes ( Wallace and Gromit Creamery, Dales museum, rope maker etc) this b&b offers everything you need for a cosy, friendly stay in beautiful Wensleydale. Recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahloul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawes
0.8 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
410 reviews
1.0 mi away
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
8.5 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Board Inn
The Board Inn
#12 of 23 in Hawes
192 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Fountain Hotel
The Fountain Hotel
#15 of 23 in Hawes
102 reviews
0.2 mi away
Southview Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bulls Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bulls Head Hotel

Address: Market Place, Hawes, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3RD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Hawes
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Hawes
Price Range: £52 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bulls Head Hotel is prominently positioned in the Market Place in the historic Market Town of Hawes in the heart of the beautiful Yorkshire Dales. The hotel offers licensed accommodation in a superb Grade II listed building. We have six en-suite rooms and 1 with private facilities. Each room has a TV, tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer and WIFI. We are pet lovers ourselves and look forward to welcoming your pets along with you for your stay. We have 1 ground floor room available for the less able. There is also a lovely residents lounge featuring a superb cast iron fireplace perfect for those cozy Sunday afternoons. We also offer packed lunches for the ramblers in you or should you prefer a romantic afternoon sat by the river then we can provide a luxury hamper filled with wine, homemade fruit scones and clotted cream and the world famous Wensleydale cheese, the choice is yours! Why not escape the rat race and come and enjoy the beautiful water falls, fells and villages of the Yorskhire Dales from the perfect base of The Bulls Head Hotel? Ellie's Tea Room opened it's doors this Easter and offers wonderful homemade cakes, cream and afternoon tea's, sandwiches and homemade quiches as well as our unique Yorkshire Tapas!!! Come and watch world go by whilst enjoying wonderfull homemade food. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bulls Head Hotel Hawes, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing