We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellant b&b”
Review of Bulls Head Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hawes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bulls Head Hotel
Ranked #15 of 23 Hawes B&B and Inns
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellant b&b”
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Just had a lovely night spent at the bulls head, helen and Nicola extremely welcoming and made us feel right at home. Room extremely comfy and clean. Breakfast absolutely amazing 6 hours later and I still feel full. Only downside was the deaf person in the room next door who needed the tv on very loud. Will definately stay again

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Naldandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    45
    13
    5
    5
See reviews for
25
98
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We had a lovely weekend in Hawes staying at the Bulls Head Hotel. Helen made us feel so welcome on arrival and throughout the weekend and we will definitely be staying here again. The breakfasts were delicious especially the kippers on toast! The room was great and it was nice to enjoy a bottle of wine in front of the fire place on our last evening. We can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulicross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We arrived early one evening to be met by Helen who promptly showed us to our room, the Swaledale, which was clean and tidy and very well decorated.
After a good meal at the Crown Hotel, we sat in front of the open fire with other guests at the Bulls Head.
The following morning we ate a Full Breakfast and went walking all day. When we arrived back at our Room, Helen had tidied the place from top to bottom and this time we dined at the White Heart. The food was out of this world again, we returned to the Bulls Head and sat in front of the fire with other guests.
Overall I would recommend the Bulls Head to all and we will certainly go again, nothing is too much trouble for Helen and her Team.The Bulls Head is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2014

If you're looking for a stop over on the Tour de France stage one route, then look no further! The location is perfect. The rooms are fantastic. Our host, Helen, was an absolute gem and we couldn't have asked for more.

After a long ride from Leeds, the cold beers and log fire whilst relaxing in the leather chairs was my idea of heaven.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilTowersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cumbria
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We arrived to a warm welcome by Helen, and was shown.to one of the basement rooms which was very nicely decorated and comfortable. The breakfast was top drawer and we really enjoyed our stay. The only thing that we didn't like was that we had to.leave early due to our own circumstances. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackieCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanark, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

Myself and my wife visited the Bulls head on from Friday 21st Feb till Sunday 23 rd Feb.
On our arrival Helen met us and showed us to our lovely room which was clean,tidy and very tastefully decorated taking into account the building type and surroundings .
Breakfast was great , with all staff really friendly and helpful, special mention to Bernadette who was very chatty with nothing to much trouble.
We would definitely recommend the Bulls head and will visit again soon.
Big thanks to Helen and her staff .
Scott & Donna Letham

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Scott L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
york
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Me and my husband stayed for one night in feb.
we have visiting Hawes before but never stayed the night. The bulls head is the most impressive looking of b&b's in the area. It has the wow factor with its open fire in the main reception room, i like the original stone flooring with comfy sofas and throws for extra warmth if needed. The decor really suits the hotel as its not too modern, quite traditional with lovely quirky touches.
our room was really warm and clean, the bed very comfy.
The host suggested places to go to eat and visit and was really passionate about the area. She was ever so genuine and helpful.
overall a great stay and the breakfast was delicious and you could tell it was all local produce.
we will definately stay again.
t

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kev12home
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawes
0.8 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
397 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Rose & Crown Hotel
The Rose & Crown Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bainbridge
215 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Board Inn
The Board Inn
#12 of 23 in Hawes
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Southview Bed & Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Ebor House
Ebor House
#4 of 23 in Hawes
320 reviews
0.1 mi away
Laburnum House
Laburnum House
#16 of 23 in Hawes
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bulls Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bulls Head Hotel

Property: Bulls Head Hotel
Address: Market Place, Hawes, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3RD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Hawes
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Hawes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bulls Head Hotel is prominently positioned in the Market Place in the historic Market Town of Hawes in the heart of the beautiful Yorkshire Dales. The hotel offers licensed accommodation in a superb Grade II listed building. We have six en-suite rooms and 1 with private facilities. Each room has a TV, tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer and WIFI. We are pet lovers ourselves and look forward to welcoming your pets along with you for your stay. We have 1 ground floor room available for the less able. There is also a lovely residents lounge featuring a superb cast iron fireplace perfect for those cozy Sunday afternoons. We also offer packed lunches for the ramblers in you or should you prefer a romantic afternoon sat by the river then we can provide a luxury hamper filled with wine, homemade fruit scones and clotted cream and the world famous Wensleydale cheese, the choice is yours! Why not escape the rat race and come and enjoy the beautiful water falls, fells and villages of the Yorskhire Dales from the perfect base of The Bulls Head Hotel? Ellie's Tea Room opened it's doors this Easter and offers wonderful homemade cakes, cream and afternoon tea's, sandwiches and homemade quiches as well as our unique Yorkshire Tapas!!! Come and watch world go by whilst enjoying wonderfull homemade food. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bulls Head Hotel Hawes, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing