We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent wet weekend”
Review of Bulls Head Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hawes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bulls Head Hotel
Ranked #14 of 23 Hawes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Elland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent wet weekend”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The rain came down more or less constantly, but our host Helen provided us with an excellent base for our walking weekend. The basement room was very comfortable and the breakfasts were sumptuous. Service was cheery and prompt. We were made to feel very welcome and will certainly return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j0rvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    45
    13
    5
    5
See reviews for
24
98
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Stayed at The Bulls Head as a group for a walking weekend As sometimes happens in the Dales, the rain was pretty constant, but the welcome and service provided by the host Helen was sunshine itself. Really comfortable rooms, blazing fire to greet your return and a truly amazing breakfast all provided at a very reasonable cost. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed overnight here in basement. Very comfortable and well located for Hawes and surrounding area for great scenery and walks. Tasty choices for breakfast too. Good value, and really helpful owners, who gave recommendations for evening meals. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Thanks Helen.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank 2010Lesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Stayed here in April with my husband and black Labrador . The welcome by Nicola and Helen was great. They really cater for couples with dogs. Rooms very comfortable dogs made very welcome. Breakfast was absolutely top- notch. So well cooked and beautifully presented really good. Individual butter and jam in dishes all nice touches. Would definitely stay here again no hesitations.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Returned yesterday after four nights at the Bulls Head in Hawes. This was our first time staying in the Yorkshire Dales and Helen & Nicola at the Bull's Head helped make this a lovely break. We had the Coverdale Room which was great and looked over the market place in Hawes. Hawes was a great central location for exploring the mid to upper area of the Dales. Food in the local pubs and restaurants was good as were the breakfasts at the Bulls Head.

Room Tip: We had a first floor room overlooking the market place. Would certainly recommend Coverdale but I kn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StonesFanLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 April 2014

This was our second stay at the Bulls Head, and we were accepted at very short notice. To our surprise, Helen and the girls remembered us from last year, even the new member of staff (Oscar) made us feel very welcome. As promised, we were given the room we requested in the basement which was very warm, cosy and we were even supplied with a bed for our new family member Star the dog. At breakfast, Star was made very welcome (as were we) with her very own breakfast! Because Star was made so welcome, it made our stay more enjoyable and relaxing. WELL DONE HELEN AND THE GIRLS (AND OSCAR). We will definately be back very soon.
What also made things easier is that the surrounding pubs and shops also welcome dogs.

Room Tip: Dont be put off with the word basement, these rooms are just as comfortable as any rooms you will fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank les p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Cracking log fires in a black lead grate, ultra comfy beds and a huge breakfast, what more could you ask for? Well, you get Helen, and a warm Yorkshire welcome. We use the Bull's Head as a stop-over on our Dales Cycle Tours, haven't heard a bad word yet.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawes
0.8 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
1.0 mi away
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
8.5 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Rose & Crown Hotel
The Rose & Crown Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bainbridge
3.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#7 of 23 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Board Inn
The Board Inn
#12 of 23 in Hawes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bulls Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bulls Head Hotel

Property: Bulls Head Hotel
Address: Market Place, Hawes, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3RD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Hawes
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Hawes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bulls Head Hotel is prominently positioned in the Market Place in the historic Market Town of Hawes in the heart of the beautiful Yorkshire Dales. The hotel offers licensed accommodation in a superb Grade II listed building. We have six en-suite rooms and 1 with private facilities. Each room has a TV, tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer and WIFI. We are pet lovers ourselves and look forward to welcoming your pets along with you for your stay. We have 1 ground floor room available for the less able. There is also a lovely residents lounge featuring a superb cast iron fireplace perfect for those cozy Sunday afternoons. We also offer packed lunches for the ramblers in you or should you prefer a romantic afternoon sat by the river then we can provide a luxury hamper filled with wine, homemade fruit scones and clotted cream and the world famous Wensleydale cheese, the choice is yours! Why not escape the rat race and come and enjoy the beautiful water falls, fells and villages of the Yorskhire Dales from the perfect base of The Bulls Head Hotel? Ellie's Tea Room opened it's doors this Easter and offers wonderful homemade cakes, cream and afternoon tea's, sandwiches and homemade quiches as well as our unique Yorkshire Tapas!!! Come and watch world go by whilst enjoying wonderfull homemade food. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bulls Head Hotel Hawes, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing