We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent fit for our purpose”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hawes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Herriot's Guest Accommodation
Ranked #9 of 23 Hawes B&B and Inns
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent fit for our purpose”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2011

My partner and I stayed in the second week of June on a five nights Herriot Way package.
We preferred to pay a moderate supplement for separate ensuite rooms in order to spread our gear out and fully relax after each long days walking of approx' 13 miles.
Rooms clean and beds most comfortable. My en-suite had a good size bath with ample hot water to soak tired muscles. My partners room had a shower. Nice extra touches in the rooms including bottle water / soft drinks / 187ml Red & White wines. Plus tray with kettle, tea. coffee & biscuits etc. Location on one way cobbled street did provide our front bedrooms with some local traffic noise but not being light sleepers and double glazing helped this aspect for us.
Breakfast, a good choice of quality locally sourced produce cooked very well to order by recent new owner experienced lady chef Liz. A meal we looked forward to each morning.
We would recommend trying the evening meal on the nights this is available as the standard of homely type cooking is high. We enjoy cooking and also eating out and appreciated this level of skill from the kitchen.
We found the welcome warm and friendly indeed Glenn was genuinely interested in making our stay as pleasant as possible. All in all and judged as a guest house not as a resort hotel Glenn and Liz offered good value and a good place lay our heads each night.

Room Tip: clearly explain your preferences when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank douglasgreen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    43
    6
    6
    1
See reviews for
37
81
38
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2011

This was our second stay at Herriots and we would be very happy to return again asap! A clean and comfortable guest house with kind and helpful hosts.
Although it is on the main street it is quiet and the double aspect view from our room on the 2nd floor was brilliant.
The breakfasts are superb with a great choice, served in the cafe area downstairs where you able to enjoy a selection of paintings and photos by local artists.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelwell123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2011

I just stayed at Herriot's for the third time. Although the Guest house has changed ownership, it still maintains the high standard set by the previos owners. Warm and friendly welcome, clean rooms and good food, what more does a walker want? I shall continue to use the Herriot's when walking in Wensleydale

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank red80uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2011

Booked this B and B late during Easter period as our usual B and B in Hawes was not avaliable. The price seemed reasonable and the pictures on the website (and reviews on here) seemed on the whole quite posistive.

Arrived to find a note letting us into our room (which I understand was perfectly acceptable as we couldn't indicate a time as to when we would be arriving - in the early evening I think was my words) This only became a slight problem when we came to our room. Overall the room was clean but the furnature was a little knocked about (I am a fan of shabby chic interior but this was far more shabby than chic) In the bathroom we found small bugs all over the floor (my partner is in the pest buisness and assured me they weren't anything nasty) none the less- not the kind of thing you want to be finding in your room. The room and cupboard like ensuite was relatively modern in its decor and had recieved recent updates to a flat screen TV and a new mirror in the bathroom- I know this as the red wall plugs were still unmissable on the wall.

To be honest if I had felt welcomed by the owners of this B and B the above niggles about the room would have been over looked. However I do not believe the owners possessed the right personal qualities to be running such an establishment. I have been to many bed and breakfasts and always enjoy the exchange of pleasantries and the top tips on where to visit or insight to local weather changes. However this couple didn't so much as exchange basic manners when checking out. On our second night- when leaving to go into Hawes I, being my cheery self waved at the owner who was stood in reception staring out of the window, directly in my direction. He didn't smile or wave back and put his head downquickly to continue with whatever menial task he was completeing.

The breakfast was great... and there was a massive selection.

All in all the stay for the weekend was saved by the locality to some of the UKs highlights: Asygarth Falls and force, Hardrow Force, Ribbles head viaduct, Castle Bolton, Hawes itself and even the journey home over the 'top' to Kettlewell. We will definately be returning to this place of beauty this year, or the next however we will be booking a little earlier to avoid the disapointment of staying at 'Herriot's Guest Accommodation'.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bella2061987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herriotskitchen, Owner at Herriot's Guest Accommodation, responded to this review, 4 May 2011
Having taken over Herriot's since this review, we were very sorry to see such a poor evaluation of their recent stay regarding our new venture.
We are working hard to ensure that these issues are not repeated; we have had a very warm response from our first guests over the last two weeks.
We hope that you will one day, come back and give us a chance to prove this personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2011

just stopped for a meal last Sunday- the welcome was great and the food was obviously made on the premises and of the highest quality. What particularly impressed was the cleanliness not just of the t room but alos the toilet. Despite my wife and I being in our muddy walking gear we were made most welcome and certainly will return again. The soups are tasty, hot and plentiful- the cauliflower and crispy bacon was a delight- the t shop is tucked out of the way so is a hidden gem but if you want to get away form the main drag a 1 minute walk will bring you to this oasis.

Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cyclist100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Driffield
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2010

We originally booked this b&b over the phone in advance.

When we arrived, we were shown to the room which had the oddest lock we've come across! The shower had clearly not been cleaned thoroughly enough as there were countless hairs still in. The shower lacked any power and was very weak. There were a couple of stains on the pillow which we discarded off the bed and the bed was HORRIBLY creaky - we perhaps should have asked for another room, but it seemed there was an event or something to which others were occupying those rooms. The idea of wine, water or beer for an additional price at reception within the room to compliment the teas/coffees was a good idea.

It was good that the hotel had wi-fi, but to have to pay £8.50 for the day or £3.50 an hour for it where the signal was particularly poor!

The breakfast was the only real plus to it with a decent. A real disappointment to which we longed to go to our next b&b in Harrogate which was cheaper and far more superior in quality.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TiccoTorres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2010

Herriots Hotel in Hawes is a lovely little B&B, with a small cafe & art gallery downstairs. Our room was on the top floor & it was great to be able to lie in our very comfy bed in the morning admiring the fabulous views of the North Yorkshire countryside. The proprietors (Andrea & Richard) were really nice and couldn't do enough for us. And the breakfast - freshly cooked to order - was fantastic. I am sure we will visit again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmg999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hawes hotels
0.8 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
1.1 mi away
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ebor House
Ebor House
#4 of 23 in Hawes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#6 of 23 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Board Inn
The Board Inn
#12 of 23 in Hawes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Fountain Hotel
The Fountain Hotel
#15 of 23 in Hawes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herriot's Guest Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herriot's Guest Accommodation

Property: Herriot's Guest Accommodation
Address: Main Street, Hawes, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3QW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Hawes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Hawes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the beautiful Yorkshire Dales from our 300 year old, 4 star guest house located on the main street. You can dine on great food from Herriots Kitchen. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Herriot's Guest Accommodation Hawes, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing