We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent and food stood out from the rest”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hawes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Herriot's Guest Accommodation
Ranked #8 of 23 Hawes B&B and Inns
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent and food stood out from the rest”
Reviewed 21 April 2013

3 nights stay over our honeymoon adventure of the UK. Great place to base ourselves for exploring beautiful dales. the rooms are comfortable, clean, spacious and owners hospitable and friendly.
We loved the separate access too the rooms, gives you a sense of privacy, like you have your own little 'apartment'.
The Food really stood out, from the homemade cookies in your room to the breakfast....the granola is wow and a serious delicious fresh all English. My husband loved the black pudding and mushrooms.
A really pleasant stay and will defiantly recommend and return ourselves

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank staceym85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheffy5, Owner at Herriot's Guest Accommodation, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
thank you for sharing some of your honeymoon memories with us, maybe we'll see you next when you're celebrating your anniversary. We're now selling the granola all the time, so everyone can enjoy it at home and remember their time at Herriot's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    43
    6
    6
    1
See reviews for
37
82
38
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Askrigg, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2013

I thoroughly recomment Herriots in Hawes Cafe. I regularly take a trip into Hawes to do my shopping. I always pop in to Herriots to catch up with friends and to have a pot of coffee with one of Liz's delicious homemade cakes. My absolute favourite is her melt- in- the- mouth Chocolate Brownie. Her fruit cake is very moist and full of fruit - delicious with the locally produced Wensleydale Chese. I also enjoy the Date Slice and her chewy Flapjack. Sometimes I treat myself to one of Liz's warming and very tasty homemade soups with locally produced bread or a toasted Ciabatta with Brie and Cranberry sauce -delicious! Liz also makes her own marmalades - Seville Orange, Pink Grapefruit and Sweet Orange which I take home to have with my breakfast- delicious- just fruit and sugar and nowt else!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheffy5, Owner at Herriot's Guest Accommodation, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us, we're glad you love our marmalades.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

Glenn and Liz made us very welcome in their lovely home. Excellent views from top floor room with windows on both sides. Very comfortable facilities and lovely home made cookies! Excellent breakfast with superb poached eggs!! Both Glenn and Liz were full of local information to help us enjoy our stay. Would also like to recommend The Fountain and The Crown pubs for great atmosphere and excellent food. All in all a lovely break so much so we decided to stay an extra night.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pogwyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheffy5, Owner at Herriot's Guest Accommodation, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Thanks for reviewing us, you certainly were very lucky with the wonderful week-ends weather, and we all benefit as yourselves and another couple were able to extend their stay. Were glad you enjoyed our cookies, were warm and comfortable and loved the superb poached eggs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alnwick, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We stayed at the Herriots in Hawes when we decided on a last minute over night stay and we were welcomed from the minute we walked in! Glenn and Liz are so friendly, warm and welcoming and cannot do enough for you & we were sad when we had to leave! The room was lovely, clean and well layed out for our family (2 adults, 2 kids), we had home made cookies in the room along with tea and coffee facilities and breakfast was delightful. Liz is an absolute wonder in the kitchen and her homemade preserves are simply devine! Glenn was a feast of information, nothing was too much trouble and we will definately be paying a visit to the Herriots again! Thank you :-) Mr & Mrs Green & Family x

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheffy5, Owner at Herriot's Guest Accommodation, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review us, we love it when people notice the little extras that we do, to try and enhance their stay, you have a lovely family that will be welcome back anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Our third visit but not our last, to this most excellent guest house, and again we had a wonderful time, Liz and Glen are a friendly, helpful, couple they can't do enough for you, most welcoming. Not just hosts beginning to feel like friends, nothing is too mush trouble for them.

Room Tip: The top rooms are rooms with a stunning view over the rooftops onto the hills above
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathandBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herriotskitchen, Owner at Herriot's Guest Accommodation, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
What a lovely review of us you have written, Thank you; see you later in the year with some more of your wonderful photos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Row, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2013

My wife and I stayed at with Glen and Liz at their B&B and it was quite a treat. Glen welcomed us right away and helped carry in our luggage. It was the best service at any place I have ever been. We had our seven month old son with us and Glen was very accommodating. We enjoyed it so much that we are going back there and stay for a week this summer. Absolutely the best in Hawes!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aaron r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herriotskitchen, Owner at Herriot's Guest Accommodation, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
It was our pleasure having you all to stay with us and making your Anniversary special, we'll see you in the Summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Stayed on 4 night offer break. We were welcomed warmly by Liz on arrival, and shown to our room which had stunning views across the valley. Room warm, homemade cookies and plentiful tea and coffee with fresh milk delivered daily too. Breakfast tasty and Liz makes a variety of jams which are delicious. Glenn always had a cheerful word and we genuinely felt at home. Lovely village with shops, pubs and fantastic walking. Thanks again, we will be back! Steph and Steve

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephandsteveP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herriotskitchen, Owner at Herriot's Guest Accommodation, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Thanks for reviewing Herriot's, i'm glad we delivered on all fronts, see you next time you're in the Dales.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hawes hotels
0.8 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
1.1 mi away
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ebor House
Ebor House
#3 of 23 in Hawes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#7 of 23 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Board Inn
The Board Inn
#12 of 23 in Hawes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Fountain Hotel
The Fountain Hotel
#15 of 23 in Hawes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herriot's Guest Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herriot's Guest Accommodation

Property: Herriot's Guest Accommodation
Address: Main Street, Hawes, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3QW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Hawes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Hawes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the beautiful Yorkshire Dales from our 300 year old, 4 star guest house located on the main street. You can dine on great food from Herriots Kitchen. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Herriot's Guest Accommodation Hawes, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing