We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt right at home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hawes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Herriot's Guest Accommodation
Ranked #11 of 23 Hawes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 September 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at Herriot's. Had a warm reception and Glenn and Liz went above and beyond to provide lots of extra special touches. Breakfast was great. My room was comfortable and had a smashing view. The hotel is brilliantly situated in Hawes. It also has a drying room, which, as any hiker will tell you, is a godsend. Many thanks!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2013

Just returned from a great weekend stay at Herriot's and can't recommend this b&b highly enough, we booked back in March as we had family visiting from Australia and wanted to make sure everything was just perfect and thanks to Glenn & Liz it certainly was. Great rooms, great breakfast and the best homemade granola, marmalade and jams. Great place to stay - we'll be back!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Lisa830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheffy5, Owner at Herriot's Guest Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Thanks Lisa. we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the home-made breakfast ingredients.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We can't praise Glenn and Liz enough for their attention and help during our one night stay. Nothing was too much trouble and when an injured knee meant we were looking for non existent public transport to our next stop on the Pennine Way Glenn went out of his way to make arrangements for us. The care taken to look after us and ensure we were okay was way beyond the 'norm' and what's more Liz made the best poached eggs on muffins with bacon on the whole walk!!! Thank you again - you are stars!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LinnieB2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

What a warm welcome from Glen and Liz on our arrival for our 5 night stay at Herriot's B & B and using the offer of the package to walk the James Herriot Way. Food, accommodation, car lifts and hospitality was great. Nothing was too much trouble. Thank you. Chris & Friends

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 741ChrisP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We have just returned from a very pleasant 5night stay at Herriots and can't recommend it highly enough.We took advantage of their package deal for walking The James Herriot Way which included a delicious packed lunch and lifts to and from the start and finish of our walk every day.Wonderful and very much appreciated after a long days walking. Anti clockwise as promoted by Herriots is definitely the way to go as the climb up from Thwaite to Great Shunner Fell was much better and easier going than doing it the other way round(especially as we are ladies of a certain age)!
Lovely location in the town with superb views over the rooftops to the hills beyond and close to all the pubs & shops etc
Many thanks Glenn & Liz for your help, advice and hospitality.......also the delicious breakfasts and home made marmalade!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I didn't actually stay here. My parents had booked a caravan and when they arrived it was totally unsuitable. My Dad has last stage prostate cancer and my parents don't cope well with things like this now.
I found Herriots from my home in Suffolk and explained to Glen the story. He was so kind and understanding (even when I lost it and shed a few tears!)
He stood on the pavement waiting for them, saw them into the room and made sure they were comfortable. Then he rang me to say they were ok.
As well as looking after them,.he gave them advice for nice places to go. Sadly they couldn't stay there for the week but again, Glen found them somewhere close by for them to stay the rest of the week. I am so impressed with the service and the kindness shown by Glen. THANK YOU.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We had a very enjoyable 2 night stay in Herriot's Guest House in July. Glen and Liz made us feel very welcome and served a delicious breakfast. Our room was very nice with good views of the surrounding countryside. Unfortunately we were not able to avail ourselves of the treats in the tea room on this occasion. However last year we made 4 visits to the tea room and enjoyed good service and excellent food, especially the lemon polenta cake. We wish Glen and Liz well.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BDJ936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawes
0.8 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
420 reviews
1.1 mi away
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
8.4 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ebor House
Ebor House
#4 of 23 in Hawes
328 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Fountain Hotel
The Fountain Hotel
#15 of 23 in Hawes
107 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Board Inn
The Board Inn
#12 of 23 in Hawes
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herriot's Guest Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herriot's Guest Accommodation

Address: Main Street, Hawes, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3QW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Hawes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Hawes
Price Range: £37 - £39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the beautiful Yorkshire Dales from our 300 year old, 4 star guest house located on the main street. You can dine on great food from Herriots Kitchen. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Herriot's Guest Accommodation Hawes, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing