We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accepted for who we are - not for what we were attending”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hawes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Herriot's Guest Accommodation
Ranked #11 of 23 Hawes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Howden, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Accepted for who we are - not for what we were attending”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

After being let down by another b&b in Hawes we arrived at Herriot's for a family wedding. We had been dismayed how many b&b's do not want wedding guests. Some won't accept 1 night bookings, some take you with reluctance, some openly advertise that wedding guests will not be accepted! We arrived feeling like we ought to hang our heads in shame - the embarrassment
of attending a wedding!
We had lunch in Herriot's cafe - the food was homemade and tasty (finished with warm scones & homemade jam which went down a treat) and well presented. We were told that our rooms were already available which was greatly appreciated. The rooms were bright and clean and comfortable.

Fresh milk was outside our door next morning and the breakfast was made of good quality ingredients well cooked and presented. Tempting homemade jam purchased for home use too.

Herriot's couldn't have tried harder to consider all our needs and we would have no hesitation in returning - they do a walking package that looks very interesting.

Thank you for enhancing our wedding weekend

Wendy, Alan, Peter & Lisa

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheffy5, Owner at Herriot's Guest Accommodation, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
thank you, for taking the time to write a review of Herriot's, we haven't had any bad experiences with wedding guests, so why would we discriminate, we try to give everyone the same welcome, from booking stage , right through to departure, most of the time - we do get it right, thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    43
    6
    6
    2
See reviews for
40
84
40
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Lovely clean room, I booked a single but was upgraded for free as I was the only guest - nothing too much trouble, excellent food and brilliant hosts, and in a beautiful and convenient location. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flibbertypippit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheffy5, Owner at Herriot's Guest Accommodation, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
thank you Mrs Fliberty, for taking the time to write a review of Herriot's,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chertsey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Staying in this part of Yorkshire? Then you will not find a more warm,friendly welcome than you will get from Glenn and Liz. The food is five star, rooms are spacious and very clean and Liz and Glenn will do anything to help you enjoy your stay with them. Truly a home from home. Homemade jams are to die for. Looking forward to going back very soon.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAVE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheffy5, Owner at Herriot's Guest Accommodation, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thanks Dave, it was great having you both here to stay, glad you loved it, see you next time around.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We were made very welcome. The rooms were very comfortable . The breakfast superb. The couple who ran it very friendly and welcoming lending maps guides for our walking trips .The location was next to the town centre but very quiet at night

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petergilbert255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheffy5, Owner at Herriot's Guest Accommodation, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thanks for staying with us Peter, glad you enjoyed the local places to walk and we could help with the maps.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winsford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Having decided to have a few days away over this Christmas Break we ended up staying in the lovely village of Hawes, at this Bed and Breakfast guest house. On arrival the owner Glenn introduced himself then kindly helped us with our belongings to the room, where upon we found a beautifully clean, warm and spacious room, there was home made mince pies and fresh fruit awaiting us. The breakfasts were fantastic, a number of choices made to order. Home made Granola fantastic. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveJan-Cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheffy5, Owner at Herriot's Guest Accommodation, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thanks Steve & Jan for taking the time to tell others about your good time at Herriot's, maybe we'll see you next new year?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

The room was very clean and quite spacious. I liked that they didnt waste food at breakfast and asked us ahead of time what we would like. The homemade jams were delicious and worth bringing home! It is a good base to start your walks or drive from Hawes.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Leithpan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheffy5, Owner at Herriot's Guest Accommodation, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Hi there, thank you for writing a review about us, hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Seriously good breakfast (with excellent veggie choices). Attentive and genuinely warm service. Beautiful art on sale (and around the house). Oh, and The Best Chocolate Brownies In The World. A great addition to a lovely part of the world.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthantsNige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hawes hotels
0.8 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
397 reviews
1.1 mi away
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ebor House
Ebor House
#4 of 23 in Hawes
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Board Inn
The Board Inn
#12 of 23 in Hawes
181 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Fountain Hotel
The Fountain Hotel
#14 of 23 in Hawes
99 reviews
0.3 mi away
Southview Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herriot's Guest Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herriot's Guest Accommodation

Property: Herriot's Guest Accommodation
Address: Main Street, Hawes, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3QW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Hawes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Hawes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the beautiful Yorkshire Dales from our 300 year old, 4 star guest house located on the main street. You can dine on great food from Herriots Kitchen. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Herriot's Guest Accommodation Hawes, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing