We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hawes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Herriot's Guest Accommodation
Ranked #10 of 23 Hawes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed here for two nights in June. We were warmly greeted and given loads of local info. The room we had was comfortable and the cookies and fresh milk in the morning was a added bonus. Breakfasts were really special. Beautifully cooked and lots of choices. A special place well worth a stay.

Room Tip: If the parking spots are free directly in front of the guest house, use it. Very convenient!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoCo17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheffy5, Owner at Herriot's Guest Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2014

thank you Coco, for taking the time to write a glowing review of Herriot's, we're glad you enjoyed your stay here in Hawes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 241 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

Arrived at Herriot's as part of an early scouting party for the Tour de France route in Yorkshire which passes through Hawes in July. Hosts Glenn and Liz are really friendly and welcoming, nothing is too much trouble from storing Bicycles, walking Boots or where to eat on an evening!. The accomodation is Excellent with homemade biscuits in your room on arrival and fresh milk delivered in the morning for your first cup of tea/coffee which is a fab touch, The Yorkshire Breakfasts were brilliant, being a yorkshireman i consider myself an expert and these were second to none, The cafe below is worth a mention too! Excellent Coffee/ leaf Tea and homemade Soup and cakes is what we sampled, Liz i will be back for more! cant wait to be back in July we just need Sunshine!!!!!!!.....

Room Tip: All rooms freshly decorated and very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikeyboy247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheffy5, Owner at Herriot's Guest Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2014

thank you Mikey - boy, for taking the time to write a review of Herriot's, we're glad you enjoyed your food with us, and i hope you noticed, we ordered the sunshine for the TDF week end, it didn't let us down, glad you all enjoyed the week end when you returned on the 5th July

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Glenn is a top host from booking through to departure. Good clean bed, good shower, secure bike storage, an early breakfast for an early exit. All good. Nine of us stayed there and we will use again. Thanks

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheffy5, Owner at Herriot's Guest Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2014

thanks James, for taking the time to write a review of Herriot's, we do try to cover all bases where cyclists are concerned.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Stayed here whilst doing the Herriots way with our mums ( Morning Glenn it is probably 6.50am when you are reading this). I already knew before we arrived it would be a great stay as Glenn certainly has some great banter on the phone and emails.
Upon arriving we were greeted by Glenn who couldn't have been more helpful assisting us with all our bags and walking gear.
Glenn recommended eating establishments for our 4 nights of Herriots culinary delights and he did not fail us once. We took his advice and I am glad we did . Great Curry house and The Crown wholesome meals.
The breakfasts at Herriots were fabulous - Liz is very bubbly and spoilt us with delicious poached eggs, crispy bacon and the best homemade biscuits every day in our rooms. Milk always outside the door for that very important first cuppa and ............ after a 13 mile walk what a motivator delicious homemade scones and raspberry jam upon arrival back ! Fantastic hot showers and clean room. Nothing was too much trouble for Liz or Glenn - we even popped back in for tasty homemade soup and even more scones for lunch before heading back to East Yorkshire, Staffordshire , yes Staffordshire and London.
Wish you lots of success to a very hospitable couple who have built up a great place. enjoying all the tasty jams of pickles and jams we bought home with us . Thanks Lisa and Thea .

Room Tip: If you are travelling as a family ask for rooms 6 and 7 almost in their own private little wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dobbsy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheffy5, Owner at Herriot's Guest Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thank you for such a lovely review of your holiday here walking the Herriot Way. What a treat to look after 4 so appreciative ladies, helping us to attain such standards as the kind people of Staffordshire expect, i don't think we failed - but Mrs Bridget does make exceedingly good cakes, i hear, glad we came close! ;))
Having exceptional guests to stay, makes our lives all the better, Thank you.......where is Staffs? x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Great hosting from the owner , and made very welcome.
Room was very clean , spotless bathroom , comfy bed and very cosy.
Breakfast was delicious , and set us up for the drive home :-)
Can wholeheartedly recommend this establishment and definitely will return one day , hopefully soon.
B Richardson.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheffy5, Owner at Herriot's Guest Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2014

thanks Barry, for taking the time to write a review of Herriot's, we look forward to you returning to the Dales.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Very pleasant stay comfortable warm room excellent breakfast friendly hosts.
Only marred by an unreasonable guest who tried his best not to pay.
Tea & coffee facilities with fresh milk served to your room in the morning.
Would recommend.
Steve .South Lakes

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 103STEPHEN_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheffy5, Owner at Herriot's Guest Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2014

thanks Steve, for taking the time to write a review of Herriot's, fortunately in the Dales we don't get that many unreasonable guests, thanks for the support.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

There were 6 of us staying for one night after a wedding. Herriots being one that would accept guests for one night. Most seemed to want you to stay for two nights. The rooms were very comfortable with tea and coffe making facilities complete with freh milk! The breakfast was excellent with the best poached eggs I have had for a long time. This despite the fact that a single gentleman staying there at the same time was complaining in a very loud voice about his room being cold. He was very rude and wouldn't listen to anything the owner was saying. He seemed to just want a discount and in the end walked out without paying at all!! May I add that our rooms were very warm and cosy. The owner behaved impeccably throughout the whole thing, I would definately recommend Herriots to anyone staying in Hawes.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CPN-Lancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheffy5, Owner at Herriot's Guest Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2014

thank you, for taking the time to write a review of Herriot's, also for the support with the difficult other guest we had, hope to see you back here soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawes
0.8 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
428 reviews
1.1 mi away
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ebor House
Ebor House
#4 of 23 in Hawes
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Thorney Mire Barn
Thorney Mire Barn
#3 of 23 in Hawes
301 reviews
8.2 mi away
The George and Dragon Inn
0.1 mi away
The Board Inn
The Board Inn
#12 of 23 in Hawes
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herriot's Guest Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herriot's Guest Accommodation

Address: Main Street, Hawes, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3QW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Hawes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Hawes
Price Range: £37 - £39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the beautiful Yorkshire Dales from our 300 year old, 4 star guest house located on the main street. You can dine on great food from Herriots Kitchen. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Herriot's Guest Accommodation Hawes, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing