We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hawes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Herriot's Guest Accommodation
Ranked #10 of 23 Hawes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Had an all too brief stay in the lovely village of Hawes but had the fortune to spend the night in the Herriot's bed and breakfast. The proprietors gave a genuinely warm and friendly welcome to myself and my same sex friend with whom I was sharing a room. The B&B itself was clean and warm, the rooms tidy and well appointed and we had the fortune of an upper floor room which gave a lovely view of the countryside in the near distance and the village streets below. The owners were very knowledgeable on the local area and gave great advice on somewhere to eat that evening; with the rest of the night spent enjoying the atmosphere of a handful of the local pubs. The following morning there was a lovely choice of breakfasts which kept us full until well after lunchtime. Overall a lovely place to stay and would definitely recommend to others, really hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craig K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheffy5, Owner at Herriot's Guest Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2014

thank you Craig, for taking the time to write a glowing review, we're glad you and you friend enjoyed his Birthday here with us, we'll see you next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (235)
There are newer reviews for Herriot's Guest Accommodation
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed here for a couple of nights during the first week of July when we were completing the Pennine Way.

We had a very warm welcome, the room was lovely with a great view of the hills beyond the village.

Breakfasts served in the ground floor cafe were very good indeed, with home made preserves and granola and excellent fry-ups.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have a great view
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AJD186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheffy5, Owner at Herriot's Guest Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2014

thank you, for taking the time to write a lovely review of Herriot's, we're glad you enjoyed your breakfasts whilst here in Hawes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Hawse is a jumble of old buildings clinging to the hillside, so don't expect a modern spacious purpose-built guest house. Herriots is in Main Street, quaint and cobbled and the only thoroughfare for west-bound traffic (so could be noisy at times). The rooms are a bit cramped, probably fine for just a night or two but we had four nights on the way to Scotland - hence, we had a lot of luggage! We thought parking might be a problem (there is no gust house car park) but there is space for dropping off luggage and free parking on most of the streets.

Not selling it so far? Well, there are home-made biscuits in the room, and you will find a flask of fresh milk outside your door every morning. Perhaps I should mention the breakfasts, which are better than you get in much fancier hotels. Fruit juices, delicious fresh fruit salad, yoghurt, and freshly-prepared hot dishes. Some places have a mess of scrambled eggs in a big bowl, congealing and cooling as you look at it, but Liz does everything to order. The portions are not over-large (commendable in this Age of Obesity) but Glenn told us we could ask for more. We didn't need to. We did ask for information, and Glenn was very helpful. Told us where to eat in the evenings (we enjoyed Cocketts) and how to get to the Wensleydale Creamery (a footpath at the back of the church). We also had afternoon tea and cakes on arrival in Herriots Kitchen (home-baking, of course) where the artwork in the gallery featured Le Tour de France, which had passed through Hawes a couple of days earlier. With so many fascinating places to visit in the area we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: We had a room on the first floor. Our friends had one on the second, and the free wi-fi that we enj...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lanoo_Harve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheffy5, Owner at Herriot's Guest Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2014

thank you, for taking the time to write a review of Herriot's, we're glad you enjoyed your breakfasts and the good food on offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We were 6 lady cyclists on our annual 3-day cycle trip. We had a lovely night here at Herriot's Guest House - Glen couldn't have been friendlier. He helped us store our bikes overnight in his art gallery. The bedrooms were clean and comfortable and the home-made cookies in the room delicious. Breakfast was first class - especially the home-made granola. We were also provided with a lovely packed lunch. Hawes is bracing itself for the Tour de France and looks very pretty. Yellow bikes and red and white spotted bunting everywhere. We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheffy5, Owner at Herriot's Guest Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2014

thank you Louise, for taking the time to write a review of Herriot's, we're glad you enjoyed your breakfasts, yes the excitement for the Tour was abundant everywhere around the Dales.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed here for two nights in June. We were warmly greeted and given loads of local info. The room we had was comfortable and the cookies and fresh milk in the morning was a added bonus. Breakfasts were really special. Beautifully cooked and lots of choices. A special place well worth a stay.

Room Tip: If the parking spots are free directly in front of the guest house, use it. Very convenient!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoCo17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheffy5, Owner at Herriot's Guest Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2014

thank you Coco, for taking the time to write a glowing review of Herriot's, we're glad you enjoyed your stay here in Hawes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Arrived at Herriot's as part of an early scouting party for the Tour de France route in Yorkshire which passes through Hawes in July. Hosts Glenn and Liz are really friendly and welcoming, nothing is too much trouble from storing Bicycles, walking Boots or where to eat on an evening!. The accomodation is Excellent with homemade biscuits in your room on arrival and fresh milk delivered in the morning for your first cup of tea/coffee which is a fab touch, The Yorkshire Breakfasts were brilliant, being a yorkshireman i consider myself an expert and these were second to none, The cafe below is worth a mention too! Excellent Coffee/ leaf Tea and homemade Soup and cakes is what we sampled, Liz i will be back for more! cant wait to be back in July we just need Sunshine!!!!!!!.....

Room Tip: All rooms freshly decorated and very nice!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikeyboy247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheffy5, Owner at Herriot's Guest Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2014

thank you Mikey - boy, for taking the time to write a review of Herriot's, we're glad you enjoyed your food with us, and i hope you noticed, we ordered the sunshine for the TDF week end, it didn't let us down, glad you all enjoyed the week end when you returned on the 5th July

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Glenn is a top host from booking through to departure. Good clean bed, good shower, secure bike storage, an early breakfast for an early exit. All good. Nine of us stayed there and we will use again. Thanks

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheffy5, Owner at Herriot's Guest Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2014

thanks James, for taking the time to write a review of Herriot's, we do try to cover all bases where cyclists are concerned.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawes
0.8 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
410 reviews
1.1 mi away
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
8.4 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Rose & Crown Hotel
The Rose & Crown Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bainbridge
222 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ebor House
Ebor House
#4 of 23 in Hawes
325 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Fountain Hotel
The Fountain Hotel
#15 of 23 in Hawes
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herriot's Guest Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herriot's Guest Accommodation

Address: Main Street, Hawes, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3QW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Hawes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Hawes
Price Range: £37 - £39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the beautiful Yorkshire Dales from our 300 year old, 4 star guest house located on the main street. You can dine on great food from Herriots Kitchen. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Herriot's Guest Accommodation Hawes, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing