We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stop off on Herriotts Way Walk”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hawes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Herriot's Guest Accommodation
Ranked #8 of 23 Hawes B&B and Inns
Surrey,England
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great stop off on Herriotts Way Walk”
Reviewed 5 July 2010

We found this B&B to be very welcoming and practical. Our room was spacious - even though the bathroom was tiny and the walls were covered in a strange plastic onyx material - and we had a really great night's sleep here, followed by a lovely breakfast. Great for walkers.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank genista082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    43
    6
    6
    1
See reviews for
37
82
38
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
LOS ANGELES
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2010

An absolute diamond! The owners, Richard and his partner Andrea, are delightful hosts/owners. They were very helpful when making my booking, no fuss, no drama and NOT from the Basil Fawlty school of public relations and customer service, no, no, no! I was booked into one of their double rooms, this one situated on the first floor (no lift) on the corner, mega tall windows on 2 walls overlooking the street, ideal for watching the town during the day and at night, the double glazed windows muffled the sound of traffic at night/morning. (If you’re a frequent visitor or resident of Hawes, you’ll know that the “sound of traffic” is more of a joke- the morning traffic is that of tractors, land rovers, milk trucks, and sheep trailers). The room was clean and spacious, the en-suite had the toilet and a roomy bath tub with electric shower, lovely bath amenities, and the sink is inside the bedroom. The bed was super comfy with 4 big down pillows and a queen size down duvet, all white, clean and soft (NO smell of bleach detected, thank you!) Nice little flat screen wall-mounted TV and coffee/tea tray. The made-to-order breakfast was hot, fresh and filling, served in the cozy dining area, again, very clean. As the hotel is all pluses, there are a few caveats to be aware of. There is no lift and the staircase is “vintage.” There is no hotel parking although there are 2 spaces in the front on the narrow street, or you have to park on the main square just up the road. Enjoy Your Stay!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank REAL_CONTESSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2009

We stayed at Herriots in September to do the Herriots Way walking package they offer. How they do the package for that price is beyond me, it is brilliant,. 5 nights B&B, packed lunch and flask filling for the 4 walking days, transport back and forwards each day, and a fantastic 3 course meal on the Monday night. Richard, Andrea and family cannot do enough for you, breakfast is all local produce cooked to order, and the same with the packed lunch. The accomodation is spotless and comfortable.
The walking package is well worth a try especially if you haven't done multi day walking before, having a base and the knowledge you will get picked up each day takes a lot of the pressure off you.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tucks60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2009

Had a really nice stay at Herriots for a weekend of walking with my husband.
Room was nice and clean and looked like it had recently been refurbished, as had the hallway and dining room area. New flatscreen tv and good hospitality tray in the room too!
Good selection of breakfast choices, including a decent veggie choice.
A really nice b&b in a smashing location.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roaming-weasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2008

Room three was a very comfortable, modern room. The bathroom is a bit small but functional.
Was a bit disappointed they don't do evening meals but there was no problem finding food locally.
The owners are very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this little place to anybody and if you enjoy fantastic landscapes this is the place to go.

  • Liked — Comfortable room
  • Disliked — No internet
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Lorcán O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2008

Had the pleasure of staying at this lovely B&B in Hawes before my sisters wedding and it was fantastic. We arrived early and were not sure if we would be allowed to check in but after enquiring with the owner we were shown to our room. We were part of a party of 8 and all the rooms were in close proximity to one and other. Our room had a brand new LCD TV on the wall (you don't see that every day in a B&B) and it was apparent that the Herriot had recently been re furbished.
We all went down for Breakfast and the selection again was excellent, from Full English to Smoked salmon and poached eggs. The B&B is up a few steps so access for a person with a mobility problem may be difficult but to be honest if your up in the Yorkshire dales then it's alot of walking and steep climbs any way. I would definately recommend this B&B to any one going up to Hawes or near by.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Only stayed 1 night!!
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hawes hotels
0.8 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
1.1 mi away
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ebor House
Ebor House
#3 of 23 in Hawes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#7 of 23 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Board Inn
The Board Inn
#12 of 23 in Hawes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Fountain Hotel
The Fountain Hotel
#15 of 23 in Hawes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herriot's Guest Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herriot's Guest Accommodation

Property: Herriot's Guest Accommodation
Address: Main Street, Hawes, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3QW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Hawes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Hawes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the beautiful Yorkshire Dales from our 300 year old, 4 star guest house located on the main street. You can dine on great food from Herriots Kitchen. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Herriot's Guest Accommodation Hawes, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing