We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely stunning house. Luxury with comfort.”
lead photo: house and front lawn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
lead photo: house and front lawn
Stunning views over lawn and golf course Kits room - lovely south facing bedroom, great for a kids get together, double and three singles
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
101 reviews
lead photo: house and front lawn
Stunning views over lawn and golf course
Kits room - lovely south facing bedroom, great for a kids get together, double and three singles
All beds are dressed with Egyptian cotton sheets and guests are provided with towels
Large comfortable TV lounge, Sky HD+, Sky Sports, BT Sports, books, games and toys
Large comfortable TV lounge, Sky HD+, Sky Sports, BT Sports, books, games and toys
The snug - a hideway that's a great place for a sundowner with a balcony looking south and west
Baby grand piano - tuned and ready to go!
Stunning main lounge - light, huge and lovely! Wood burner, 3 large sofas, music centre, piano.
Stunning main lounge - light, huge and lovely! Wood burner, 3 large sofas, music centre, piano.
Stunning main lounge - light, huge and lovely! Wood burner, 3 large sofas, music centre, piano.
Stunning main lounge - light, huge and lovely! Wood burner, 3 large sofas, music centre, piano.
Time for tea..
Eat-in kitchen, range style cooker, side by side fridge freezer, dishwasher, pots & pans galore
Eat-in kitchen, range style cooker, side by side fridge freezer, dishwasher, pots & pans galore
Eat-in kitchen, range style cooker, side by side fridge freezer, dishwasher, pots & pans galore
Eat-in kitchen, range style cooker, side by side fridge freezer, dishwasher, pots & pans galore
Eat-in kitchen, range style cooker, side by side fridge freezer, dishwasher, pots & pans galore
Tea time
The house looking from the South garden
Playing on the lawn
The house looking from the golf course
The house looking from the garden terrace
Oak paneled dining luxury with natural light from the south garden
Oak paneled dining luxury with natural light from the south garden
Oak panelled dining room for dining in style
Christmas Day in South Wing
Oak paneled dining luxury with natural light from the south garden
Oak paneled dining luxury with natural light from the south garden
Twin bedroom, TV, west facing, very comfortable
Twin bedroom, TV, west facing, very comfortable
Twin bedroom, TV, west facing, very comfortable
Ruby room, double bed, en-suite bathroom, TV, views south over gardens and gold course
Ruby room, double bed, en-suite bathroom, TV, views south over gardens and gold course
Ruby room, double bed, en-suite bathroom, TV, views south over gardens and gold course
Ruby room, double bed, en-suite bathroom, TV, views south over gardens and gold course
Master bedroom, super kingsize bed, 3 piece suite, en-suite bathroom, dressing room.
Master bedroom, super kingsize bed, 3 piece suite, en-suite bathroom, dressing room.
Master bedroom, super kingsize bed, 3 piece suite, en-suite bathroom, dressing room.
Master bedroom, super kingsize bed, 3 piece suite, en-suite bathroom, dressing room.
Master bedroom, super kingsize bed, 3 piece suite, en-suite bathroom, dressing room.
Master bedroom, super kingsize bed, 3 piece suite, en-suite bathroom, dressing room.
Louis room, double, single and en-suite shower room, views east to sea and south over gardens
Louis room, double, single and en-suite shower room, views east to sea and south over gardens
Hunmanby beach, seven miles of beautiful beach
Scarborough Spa
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Hunmanby, Filey, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 101 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
RobertR18...
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An experience but some caution needed”
Reviewed 10 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012

We booked based on uniformly euphoric reviews . I believe some balancing criticism is necessary . The geographical location is superb if you love N.Yorkshire as we do . The hall setting within the buildings and campus of the former school with many other occupied properties does detract and may be not to everyone's taste . We found workmen tramping in and out of the shared courtyard entrance.The rear aspect and garden are truly superb . First impressions are dominated by the vast but gloomy entrance hall and the deteriorated state of decor to the extent that two of the younger members of our group turned around and went home . All rooms ( kitchen excepted ) are on a huge scale but generally rather battered and shabby notwithstanding obvious character and history . The general state of cleanliness in many areas does not bear close inspection . The kitchen is distinctly small relative to the large groups the property surely caters for. Crockery appears old and worn but in other respects the kitchen is well equipped . We found a couple of snags - the ground floor wc flush not properly connected , but you will keep fit running to the first floor alternatives , also one ensuite shower flex split and unuseable . Utility room and equipment is good and masses of children's play equipment and games . The gardener appeared unannounced and stayed all day .

To summarise this is definitely an experience but you will need to be prepared for a lack of 21st. century amenity and appearance. Our eleven year old granddaughter loved everything especially the baby grand piano.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and garden
Liked least: state of decor and cleanliness
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jun 2012
Many thanks for the feedback Robert. We will address the reported issue with the shower flex and the downstairs loo and apologies for any inconvenience that caused. To clarify on the shared courtyard, the only room that looks out over that is the kitchen: all other rooms are south facing and overlook the gardens and golf course (the piano room at the end also has east facing windows that look across the countryside to the sea). The gardener is a good chap and pleased to hear that he's out there doing his job! He obviously has to work around the weather. Sorry to hear about your young guests heading home early: I'm not sure what they were expecting from a 17th Century house and most of our guests can't wait to come back particularly given the great value for money that South Wing provides . Having said that I am obviously biased as I love it there and am probably less objective that most! Battered? Shabby Chic is how I describe it! Anyway at least your grand daughter had a good time. Thanks again and best wishes, Andrew
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Reviewed 11 May 2012 for a stay in April 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Netherlands
Reviewed 9 May 2012 for a stay in May 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Oakham
Reviewed 21 March 2012 for a stay in March 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
leedsstel...
leeds
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“FABULOUS”
Reviewed 31 January 2012 for a stay in January 2012

From the moment I contacted Andrew the owner about the house I knew it was the place to celebrate my 40th birthday. Andrew's customer service was second to none, inquires were dealt with promptly and nothing was too much trouble.
Myself and 8 friends visited the South Wing in January of this year, and what a place!!
The setting is beautiful and the house is to die for.The house if very well equipped and every room well furnished . The breakfast pack was a lovely touch and a great way to welcome your guests.The house and grounds are very grand and it did feel like stepping back in time. Everyone should experience the South Wing at least once in their life, can't wait to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing want to live there
Travelling group: Large Group/Tour
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleD...
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Relaxing, luxurious stay”
Reviewed 22 January 2012 for a stay in January 2012

I have just returned from a 2 night stay for a friends 40th birthday. There were 8 ladies who had initially planned to chill out on the Friday evening and then go for a meal on Saturday in Filey.
Upon arrival at the house, we were blown away by the sheer size and atmosphere of the place. Beautifully decorated, with a mix of modern and period features. All of the rooms are very well presented and homely. We relaxed on the Friday evening in the piano room, listening to music and warming ourselves by the wood burning stove. So much so, that we decided to cancel out night out in Filey and enjoy the house fully by having a takeaway!
Despite the size and granduer of the house it was very homely and comfortable. I would not hesitate to go back there again with a large group of friends or family.
Cannot recommend highly enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fantastic welcome food pack.
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joannet3
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Everyone should stay at South Wing once in their life!”
Reviewed 22 January 2012 for a stay in January 2012

I stayed at South Wing this weekend as a group celebrating my friend's 40th birthday. From the moment I walked in, this place took my breath away. The photos do not do the size and magnitude of this place justice. It is absolutely beautiful. All of the rooms are huge and well equipped. One of the first things we noticed as were unpacking our stuff were the little touches. There was bread, bacon, eggs, milk etc so if you had arrived late you could have a bite to eat and a cuppa! Lovely! I ran through the house like an excited small child, every room was just lovely. It was so good that although we were due to go out on Saturday for a meal, we all opted to stay in and order a takeaway because we didn't want to leave! The grounds are also very beautiful. I couldn't fault it in any way!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group/Tour
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing